Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
room service was awesome...food outstanding. Front desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Went to Japengo for dinner...sat us in the lounge area...even though the lanai was ready for seating and to catch the sunset...were told it wasn't open yet although hours of operation stated 5:30...sat with our backs to the water and couldn't see the sunset through the bar...after 10 minutes about 20 Japanese tourists were seated in the restaurant. felt shunned. The floor/carpet was dirty in our room (201). Nasty stains (by the nightstands and throughout the floor) we wore slippahs in the room! Coming from Honolulu, expected more. We were on the second floor and couldn't sit on our lanai since the people next door were out there smoking cigarettes and it smelled disgusting. For $400/night felt ripped off! Also feel parking should be a couple dollars a day...not $16! Then an additional $30 hotel fee???? Hyatt residence club employees were shoving the "timeshare" experience down our throats! Didn't spend that kind of money to try to be persuaded to purchase anything.
Top shelf overall. The beach. Too much coral and rock.
The design of the resort: the pools, the waterfalls, the wildlife lawns, etc. The staff are consistently nice and patient, the shuttle service within Ka'anapoli area, the size of the rooms. Compares to other resorts in the area such as Marriott and Westin, Hyatt's rate is very reasonable about average of $350/night. Son'z restaurant food was terrible for 5-star, fine-dinning categorization. The popcorn ceilings in the rooms can be upgraded. It has no beach - we'd have to walk further the Marriott resort for the beach. Hyatt should do a better job enforcing the no-smoking policy on floors designated as non-smoking floors, it's never pleasant to be out on lanai and having to deal with someone next to your unit smoking up a storm.
Wish I was still there. I left my camera charger in the room. They shipped it back to me. Loved it and would stay again if I can.
The view was stunning, and the amenities top notch. That I was unable to stay longer.
Staff unpleasant, not welcoming
Lots of hidden fees. Overpriced food and drinks. They would not give me a complete bill when I checked out. Cost to park my vehicle!
I almost love everything - the breakfast, the pool, the beach, the classy atmosphere, the birds, etc. I want to mention, in particular, the staff at the breakfast. They treated us so well, especially Ludi.
* People/service was great! * View of ocean from room was wonderful * always restocked amenities everyday * very clean bathrooms, room, lobby, etc. * Food was very good Everything was overpriced, but we were in Maui, and Hawaii is expensive ... getting there is only the beginning when it comes to spending $$$$
It was a nice $200 a night hotel. Unfortunately I paid $600 a night The valet took 15 minutes to get our car and I had to ask twice to get the car. Two of the three elevators were broken so we eventually carried out bags down 5 flights of stairs after waiting 10 minutes. The bartender used his hands to put ice in people's glasss.
Nice room, cleanly, beach front, nice pool area and not too bad a price for the area...being close to Lahaina was great! The hotel room we stayed in was a bit of a ways from the lobby and we had to walk through a row of shops to get to the front, but towards the end it wasnt that bad being away from commotion. The breakfast was expensive for what was being offered. It wasnt bad, just not worth $30/person. Parking was $18/day which hurt after we were there for so many days.
The hotel staff was very friendly, accommodating, and generous. We loved the warm, family friendly atmosphere of the hotel. The Easter activities were particularly fun for our children. No custom omelette or fresh waffle station at breakfast.
Suite was beautiful and comfortable. Full kitchen with dishes and appliances was great to have! Service was poor. Pulled up to the hotel and spent over 30 min in the car without ever even being greeted while my husband checked us in. When we commented on our poor service experiences the management responded by saying that "Honua Kai is not a hotel." They also made sure to mention their duty to secure certain room rates for their property owners.
The rooms had a great layout. The beach location was fantastic. The majority of the staff were very friendly. Surprise ~$30 daily charge on bill upon checkout (for wireless, parking, and misc room supplies). We were told we would get an upper level mountain view and ended up with a 2nd floor view of the construction site next door. Lack of pool seats because one pool was being renovated. Late guaranteed check-in time.
It was a very comfortable brand-new condominium with well-appointed equipments, full kitchen, Washer& Dryer, full-open glass door to the balcony. The Deli has not enough selection of goods and foods. It was unsatisfactory room cleaning for a couple of day.
Everything was new and pretty. I liked that kitchen was well furnishined and the room design was nice. We got complimentary sparkling wine since we were honeymooner. The worst thing about the hotel was that it was very short of people. Our first room did not have enough hot water for one person to finish the shower. But it took about 3 hours for them to get us into another room. We tried to get help from bell boy to move our luggages but they told us that we need to wait for 5 minutes. We moved by ourselves. Any time I tried to get help from front desk and it took them while to respond. Also I won't blame it to the hotel but it was so windy all the time. It was like we were in middle of storm all evening through out the time of our stay. Our martini glass had a chewing gum stuck to it.
Cleanliness, modern kitchen, ocean view, beautiful pools. Low thread-count sheets on bed were scratchy.
Gorgeous property. Rooms are brand-new, very large, well-equipped, extremely well-built and in-room amenities are top notch. Restaurant food was excellent as was seaside dining. Pool area was extremely large and beautifully landscaped. The hotel sits on the windiest part of the island. Most of the week it felt like a gale force wind tunnel thru the middle of the lobby thru to the pool area. We know it was isolated to this location because we visited several wind-free spots on the island throughout the week. There seemed to be a lack of staff (only had poolside attendant one time during the duration of the week). Otherwise, saw no pool waitstaff. The only small thing we didn't like about the room itself was that there was only one mirror in the whole condo (in the bathroom). It would be great if there was a mirror in the bedroom so you can get dressed with out having to go back to the bathroom especially when sharing the suite with more than one other person.
The hotel is stunning with amazing ocean views.
Great location. Excellent conceierge Smell of sewage at HH entry
Great hotel, great location
My wife and I had a great time relaxing by the pool drinking wonderful lava flows! Price was a little expensive.
Very relaxing atmosphere.
YOU NEED TO HAVE MICROWAVES IN THE ROOM
Very nice hotel with nice rooms and facilities. Good location near beach and Lahaina town, shopping etc.
Everything was perfect.... The staff were amazing, and were just so helpful. The rooms were always so clean, the cocktails at The Ocean Terrace were sensational, the food was scrumptious, and that sunset, wow!! was just simply breathtaking. Getting around is quite easy if you don't have a car, providing you want to stay in the immediate area. There is a trolley which is free around the Kaanapali area and if you want to go into the local town of Lahaina you can catch a bus for $1 from Whalers Village. We loved it & will definitely go back. The only thing i didn't like was having to leave this beautiful place. The food however is a little expensive but you would expect that in any resort anyway.
The staff made us feel very comfortable, were very responsive and accommodating to requests. The man at the gate made a point of welcoming us home every time we drove back in, which was very nice. Pools and lounge areas are nice, although the pool and jacuzzi closes a bit earlier than we thought it would. If you play tennis, they have many new courts and a pro shop. Although older, a close walk to other resorts and Whaler's Village. Definitely a good place for the price. The housekeeping staff seemed to always come really early as we were getting ready for the day. Call me crazy but when I am on vacation I sometimes like to sleep in,
Beach was phenomonal. Restaurant food was spectacular. Beds were REALLY REALLY uncomfortable. Hot tub was across parking lot and COLD 2 of the 5 nights.
It was an excellent place to stay. Great views particularly during the sunset. Quiet, calm, relaxing. Plenty of aquatic activities for those who enjoy them. Very close to the beach. Staff was awesome. Incredibly friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed it. I definitely recommend it. Food variety at the restaurant. It was basically fast food selection at fancy restaurant pricing. Most everything in the menu has some sort of sweet seasoning or sauce in it without the possibility of asking for the plate without it and/or lack of variety. Far from other food selection. If you are without a car you are subject to eat at the restaurant only.
The walls were a little thin. Could here our neighbors banging around.
the situation, the room was nice , clean and with a nice view The woman who seats the guests for breakfast is incredibly slow, so that one has to queue for 15 minutes to be seated,and in the restaurant, the waiters are not very nice..The woman at the activities desk looks more interested in her Iphone than in the guests wishes!!
very poor management
Staff was great!!! Great beaches...
The view, the aloha, the comfort, the beach, the food. Tremendous save to a bad airbnb experience.
I saw reviews about the spa in travel & leisure magazine. And it and the staff met expectations. They were amazing. Also, the hotel itself is beautiful!! The restaurant staff and the guys selling the Maui Jim sunglasses need some training on customer service. They were pretty rude. I was able to avoid the wait staff by eating else were but the towel sunglasses guys I had no choice.
We were able to come to Maui on short notice. The westin exceeded all our expectations
Everything. Great for families, honeymooners, young couples, old couples, beach bums, active people, lazy people, food lovers, drinkers...etc It was perfect
Beautiful grounds and facilities. Great service and within walking distance to many restaurants. Crowded most of the time. charged for many things that were included with resort fees elsewhere such as paddle boards.
The Bed! The Adult-only pool area (though the kiddos still managed to sneak in due to irresponsible parents) Proximity to beach Nice shower, but small bathroom area overall Lack of good food options Loud children in the hallways (maybe consider making some areas of this hotel for singles/couples only?) No fan in the bathroom
Love the location and the surrounding facilities, mall, restaurants, etc. Staff assigned me and my wife a room with 2 double beds for a week long stay in the most romantic place on earth. It was just too bad we could never sleep together the whole week. Ruined the whole trip for me.
Had a wonderful time at the Westin and would go back. The staff was awesome. They had a mini fridge in the room which worked out great for us. You can go snorkeling right off the beach at the Westin. Whalers village is right next door as well. The only thing we didn't like was that there wasn't a table in the room. There was a desk but not a small table to sit at and eat a little something the two of us.
The flamingos and swans were absolutely beautiful. The pool was a little cold.
Everything! Walking distance to Kaanapali Beach,, Whalers Village, beautiful ocean view room, beautiful shower, strong A/C, comfy bed, clean gym and friendly staff! N/A
The resort is beautiful, I had a mountain view (the cheaper rooms) and the view is still amazing. There is a new shopping plaza immediately next door with restaurants and ice cream shops. Great outdoor pools. This resort is not cheap, which is okay. What is not okay is you have to pay to rent a crappy plastic chair to use when sitting at the beach. And then you have to pay additional money to rent an umbrella. And if you want to sit in a shaded seat by the pool you have to pay for that too. Totally bogus.
They lost our reservation! We ended booking at another hotel.
Location Staff Pools Beach Much of hotel was closed under renovation We were not told it was under renovation Renovation noise Poor signage while under renovation
My wife and I loved the resort. It was a beautiful location very well maintained. The staff made our stay extra special. I had ordered flowers for our room. When we arrived, we also had a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. I wanted the stay to be special for my wife, they definitely made it so. The resort was being remodeled, that did take away at all, Now we have a the goal of returning afterwards to see how much nicer they make it.
The scene was picture perfect and the staff was amazing.
The pool, beach, and our lower level rooms were not affected by construction. It was not very intrusive and I hardly noticed. The updated room was very nice. Service was very friendly and I didn't get any uncaring vibes from any of the staff I encountered. Unfortunately the kids pool area was under construction, but we made due with the main family pool. We stayed away from the adult only pool so I can't comment on that. For young kids, any pool is great. But this one was too deep in most parts for really young kids like ours. But they still had fun of course.
Location is great. Resort was quiet and comfortable. Very nice pool with good service. Staff was not very attentive - poor directions to the room. Restaurants were disappointing. Parking fees are high ($25 per day adds up...)
Had a conference next door at Grand Wailea and did not have young kids or family with me so did not want the extra expense of staying there. This was so convenient with walking path to the Grand Wailea along the ocean and more affordable. Liked that the shops of Wailea were right next door also. Walking path to near by beaches was great. Attended the luau at the Marriott which was very fun I would stay here again There was no beach in front of the hotel but not much of an issue. Look forward to the renovations being done.
Location on the beach. Pools, view, and staff were great! The pullout bed for our kids was a bummer. Room was a bit dated.
Friendly staff have us a nice room After we complained After the First night. Adults only Pool was great with good service but pricy (200 USD for a cabana for a day). Nice snorkeling at the closeby beach. Restaurant too expensive, 30 USD resort fee per day just to get Internet and 2 Mai Tai Self Parking 25 $ per day.
The infinity pool and waterfront location are nice, although the beach is not right in front of the property. The construction and service were horrible!!!we could not even open our curtains because the construction guys were right there! You also get Nickle and dined for everything, including renting cabanas and snorkel gear.
nice location, right in wailea and near the (overpriced) shops at wailea. if you are going to spend multiple days shopping there this is a good hotel as you can just walk there. as with all resorts in wailea (except the makena prince) they charge resort and parking fees. service and staff were nice and professional. you can get a no view "resort room" for a decent price, but price starts escalating quickly as you get water views; standard. the adults only / infinity pool was nice, but crowded due to the main pool being closed for renovation. the only hot tub was also being renovated so that didn't exist. very large and spread out and depending on where located could be a walk to get anywhere.
Rooms were clean, big. Great location, near the Wailea mall/shops/restaurants and a short drive to Kihei. Good walking/running path connecting the hotel to other properties and beaches. Infinity Pool was nice when it wasn't over-crowded. Too many people at the pool, reserving space and not using chairs. Staff was worthless at times. Had a terrible room location at the beginning of our stay, but moved after one night. Will be a lot better when the second pool is finished. Resort fee doesn't include parking, so you're paying an extra $50ish/night in fees and parking.
Great amenities. Black rock cliff jumping and snorkeling right off the hotel beach. Easy access to Lahaina. Big family hotel
Staff was exceptionally helpful, even trying to assist with a rental car issue. We had a "garden view" which still had some partial views from the balcony, but only had one chair and not a lot of room for more. Location was great as there were several off premises dining options. The hotel no longer has a beach, so getting a chair on the beach was not an option. Snorkeling at black rock was fair, as the fish life was not abundant and it was crowded. Drinks were inconsistent, with great descriptions but no balance.
Overall, I thought the hotel was nice. The location was right in the middle of the area we wanted to be and on the water, and the drinks and food the couple times we ate at the hotel seemed to be right where we expected. Obviously, price could always be better on drinks, but when you are on vacation... it is what you assume.
Proximity to beach 1st floor family suite - room was not aired well. Had the smell of a closed up space that hadn't gotten opened for a while. Beds not comfortable. Other amenities were good - e.g. bathroom supplied
Amazing location.. Staff were not really friendly. Had to really struggle to find the laundry area in Sheraton. I asked one of the staff he just shrugged and walked away.. I would say half the people were happy & welcoming with "Aloha" other half didnt bother and they just wanted to work to get paid.
Room was functional and large enough great ocean front view. No HDMI Input on the flat screen TV so could play my iPad movies. Bathroom was a bit small not particularly functional and a bit dated. Long walk to the large self park garage at closer smaller lot always seemed to be full
Location beautiful. $35 daily resort fee. Room was very dated needed refurbishment. Old carpet slow drains.
Brilliant location, nice views, good cultural activities. Disinterested staff, confusing parking, excessive resort fee, underwhelming club lounge, poor elite recognition.
Black rock beach is pretty nice, with good snorkeling. Rooms are good-sized. Rooms not as clean as we would like. Bed only so-so. Pool was overcrowded. Restaurants overpriced. "Resort fee" and daily charges even for self-parking.
Huge room. Gorgeous views. Huge tub. Beautiful tile work. Big kitchen. Washer and dryer The beds were just awful. They were rock hard and not comfy at all. The pillows were small. Had a very hard time sleeping. No coffee maker!!!
The view and the pools are very nice and I was impressed with them. The food and drinks were just average. I understand that more people cook themselves in this type of property and not to expect a five star experience. The service was weak and inattentive in the restaurant, enough to get you your meal, but mostly feeling in different.
This place had everything that we expected and the Beach was great you could go rite from your hotel snorkeling I recommend this place a return Everything
Our one bedroom unit worked well. We ate in or out as suited us. Nice 3.5 mile beach trail starts in a park just south of the property; good for running and walking, but could be contested in spots. we had full access to the timeshare immediately south, and frequented the happy hour at their beach/pool bar and their lounge chairs. Grounds were lush and attractive. Beach was nice to look at, but not very useable, as it was small and the surf was high. Too small even for lounging. Next door was better.
Price and upgade
This place is beautiful... almost heaven-like. The pools are separated into mini pools so you can hang out by yourself or with your own group that gives you the feeling of you own the entire pool. The garden is just beautiful. Staff are friendly and attentive. Housekeeping is not very thorough sometimes, but still gets an A-. Not too thrilled about having to pay $30/night for valet parking. And feeling obligated to tip them every time we need to get our car or have it parked. The resort fee of $40/night should include valet parking.
The resort was fantastic & even better than we had expected...very nice facility, perfect location & the rooms are great. Very happy that we chose the Westin Villas & will definitely book there again! Minor thing: the sheets/covers were too small for the bed! I think that they had put queen sized bedding on a king size bed.
The hotel is really crowded. I didn't manage to use any sun lounger at the pool in 5 days. People tends to play, run, dive, climb, ... in the swimmingpool. And have a swim in the pool is everything but something relaxing. It's a family with children oriented hotel. Not recommended at all for couples.
Excellent, location ,facilities. No complaints
This is a huge beautiful place in a good location. All the staff if very pro. Room are modern and very nice.
luxury and comfort
Our suite was lovely and a most comfortable place to relax. We didn't have a reservation at the hotel's restaurant but were able to get in, and the food was excellent, and our garden table a lovely setting.
The staff were great. The surroundings very relaxing. The location was fine. The rate was value for money
Location and view. No outdoor Jacuzzi and the pool water temperature was cold.
Beautiful views and the most comfortable bed ever! Nice space. Although my friend was disappointed that there is no poolside bar, we decided we loved it - you can keep a bottle of wine in the fridge - small kitchenette probably a must with kids. Really nice pool, large enough for more relaxed holiday laps,but great poolside beds, many with sunroofs. Restaurant only open for dinner could be a downside, but we discovered great places to eat on the island!
It was very quite and peaceful. Very easy with the kids. Staff was very kind and responsive. Rooms with the view were excellent. Beautiful sunsets. The rooms need a bit of a makeover especially bathroom counter and toilet. Beds were too soft to the point that we still have back aches.
It was the perfect escape from the mega-resorts that line the beaches, while still being extremely convenient. The staff was amazing, our room was newly renovated and well decorated, and the bar made delicious cocktails. Oh, and free yoga most mornings! Just what we were looking for. The gym hasn't been renovated yet, but then again, you probably shouldn't spend much time inside working out with so much to explore.
The suites were fantasic, the pool was to die for with the cabanas if you could find one. Prices were high but it what you expect with a higher end hotel. Staff were great and accommodating. There were a lot of renovations going on but saw a lot of potential with the right foresight It had a lot of renovations going on. Needed change rooms near the pool with showers. There was a big space below the restaurant that was not being utilized to it full potential
The hotel Wailea has beautiful gardens and is spread out so you barely notice the other guests staying at the hotel. The view from our balcony was amazing and we saw a number of hump back whales. We were suprised by the size of our villa and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept it! We thought the pool lacked atmopshere- there was no bar or food service. We also though that room service should be available as the Italian Restaurant was way over priced ($38 for spaghettii bolognaise) and if you didn't feel like going out you would starve. The rooms need new carpet and couches and the kitchen had only two plates and a knife and fork- Not very practicle. I think this hotel has alot of potential but is just not there yet.
Everything, wonderful relaxing atmosphere, quiet with beautiful surrounding gardens. Perfect choice. This was our sixth visit to Maui as we have family living on the Island. Recommend this hotel. Unfortunately the only complaint was our condo had no cooking or eating irons, our request was met by we would need to wait 2 days as we were on a list, they didnt arrive for a week and that was only after having to complain. Also the beach arrangements with there sister hotel was poor we were informed that only 20 beach chairs are available for our hotel and no towel were available for our use so we had to wait for 20 minuets for towels and one chair. We were told it was always a problem. We didnt bother trying to to use the facility again once was enough.
There wasn't anything not to like... The staff was friendly and engaging. The rooms were perfect - provided the necessary privacy, clean, and provided just the right amount of space for the two of us. We had to motivate each other to leave the suite! The amenities were excellent. The cabanas around the pool were a perfect space to lounge, and the drinks were as good as it gets... The best Mai tai we had on the island! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a slower pace. Maui in general is an expensive destination... Felt like the price was on par with the rest of the island.
- Adults only - Privacy - Exceptional service - Shuttle service within Wailea - Boutique'ness of the hotel - Breakfast not included
Staff was all very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. I love the lotions,linens and towels. Pools and beach are marvelous. Breakfast buffet is delicious. I enjoyed the visiting jewelers and artists Perfect vacation
Landscaping and Christmas decorations were done well; bell hop, valet, housekeeping, and restaurant staff were very pleasant. The environment was very busy (family groups and children were the major customers, resulting in lots of little ones running about the resort). It's not a very relaxing atmosphere for folks looking for a quiet getaway from the busy aspects of everyday life. Attention to cleanliness was subpar to expectations (missing tissue box; (not requested) playpen was present in box on floor in main room; balcony rails had dirt residue throughout; light switches were dirty for misaligned--due for replacement). We asked valet to retrieve our vehicle, but valet staff did not alert us of our car's arrival resulting in a 15-min wait until we finally asked what had taken so long. Greeting staff in lobby failed to provide lei to my fellow traveller upon her arrival despite it being a customary practice for all guests.
Location. The view. The beautiful park like gardens. The bathroom was very nice. The hotel messed up our booking. The famous water elevator didn't work. Cleaning happened very late and one day only after asking. The doors so are thin that everyone walking by sounds like they're inside the room. Too few pool chairs. 7 waterslides - 5 of them are a joke. The coffee shop has a pathetic supply of goods. The gym is average.
The room was old. Needs updating
It was so beautiful. They put flowers on the bed and the room was beautiful. We ordered room service in the morning and the food was amazing! I can't wait to go back to this beautiful resort.
First class area and accomodations as promised bed was not that comfortable and there were rats on the lanai
The size of the suite Older people and people with young children may not like how far the beach and pool were from the condo. 2012. Building location can be important to some people.
Customer Service exceeded my expectations!!!
The entire resort was really well maintained, had an amazing view of the ocean, liked the fact that the patios were huge. Really close proximity to the beach. Convenient store inside the resort was very useful and had good breakfast. Even though the resort itself was really well maintained, the unit itself was outdated and had issues like the TV remote did not work, patio door was broken and hard to open and close. Kitchen was very outdated as well.
Location! Away from the touristy area packed with hotels. Luxurious grounds, quiet setting. Not enough parking. Kapalua Villas is located within the large resort complex. Although they offered a nice complementary shuttle service anywhere within the complex, we preferred to explore on our own using our rental car and limited parking spaces made it difficult.