Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
Location to the University.Room seemed to be clean. Staff friendly but seemed oblivious to the conditions surrounding them. The first impression was it was filthy. The lobby furniture was dirty and tattered. Surprise the pool was closed. The computer was down so unable to print boarding pass.The elevator/hallway carpets were filthy. Employees gathered around smoking out front.
half mile from where we needed to be. SPACIOUS ROOM!!
the clean rooms,the staff that were not the ones we had issue with,and breakfast. they did not make us aware that the pool would be closed. they did not have refrigerators in every room. they gave away 3 of ours rooms and we had to consolidate ourselves and share rooms. two of our rooms had their key cards deactivated twice.
Good location close to our destination (Grand Valley State). Stinky mulch. First room wasn't cleaned. Second room was. Stinky unclean carpets. Hair on my pillow. Pretty sure the bites on my ankles were not from mosquitoes (although didn't visibly see any bed bugs). Staff was friendly. Breakfast nothing special.
This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.
Very clean, great breakfast, quiet Pool was closed, bathroom was tiny and sink was in main room instead of bathroom
Good location and clean. Very dated and a little creapy. The room had a strong peppermint like smell which made me wonder what smell was being covered up! Bed was comfortable but the pillows were tiny,like the size of decorator pillows and they went flat providing no support.
This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.
Proximity to Grand Valley State University That the pool was closed and the 'exercise' room had really only one working machine.
This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.
Location was perfect. It was decorated nicely. The pool and workout areas were nice. Breakfast had a good variety of choices. The beds were comfortable. The front desk check-in person was not very friendly; however, the check-out person was. There were fingernails on the floor next to the bed (not very thorough vacuuming), although the rest of the room was very clean.
Clean, easy check in and out. Simple but good breakfast. We could hear the people next to us like they were in our room. Just seemed strange to hear them that loud, like paper thin walls. That was annoying.
The lobby and common areas are beautiful and impressive. Our room was dated, smelled like a mix between cigarette smoke and mold.
Excellent location downtown on Grand River front, very comfortable, top-notch facilities. Good for both luxury leisure travel and business (hotel contains many quality-appearing meeting rooms, plus is integrated with downtown skyway system to convention center, arena, and office buildings). Part of the hotel is a very interesting and elegant historical restoration. Hotel could be OK for families, but seems more oriented toward adults. Overall, an excellent hotel and worth the money. For some reason, we were told at check-in we wouldn't receive full housekeeping during our weekend stay; instead we got vouchers for hotel food and services. We have no problem using sheets and towels for several days (just like home!), but I thought it strange that a luxury hotel would not have full housekeeping on weekends (I don't know if that was true for all guests, or if there was a special issue that caused it this one time). I marked "value" and "cleanliness" slightly down for this reason. Also, sound deadening in the historic part of the hotel (where we stayed) could be better. There was a fair amount of noise from the hallway and plumbing noise from adjacent rooms.
The room with a river view. The staff was excellent. They truly helped us in many ways. The quality of service was twice as good for half the price of many larger cities. Wonderful value. It has a great bar upstairs but it was nearly empty on a Friday night.
lots of amenities with pool and racquetball park hotel oversold and did not have room booked
We had problems with billing for additional activities
The location & the staff Every room is definately NOT worth $200/night. When you're in the tower, on the 20th floor & have a beautiful view of the city / river / area it's one thing, but on the Pantlind (old) side - the fourth floor affords you a view of the parking garage across the street, a tiny room with, what feels like, a water closet for a bathroom and barely room to turn around.
Beds very comfy. Decorated beautifully No sink in bathroom. I usually dont want to walk into another room to wash hands
All staff was very friendly! Loved walking through the skywalk to the BOB! Beautiful hotel!
We had requested adjoined rooms for our group of 8 women. We were told twice that this would happen and it did not. The people in the room next to us complained about us talking late at night and the hotel manager threatened to kick us out. We did not even have a tv or radio on but women sitting around talking. They were extemely rude and we could not believe after all the wedding and party groups they have there on a saturday night they considered us a problem. I will not stay there again, the staff were extremely rude.
A fantastic hotel will outstanding service. This hotel has rivaled some of the best I have stayed at all over the country.
Art exhibits kn lobby and staff Bathrooms a little musty
Most aspects of the stay were fantastic... clean room, nice bathrooms, good restaurant staff, etc. The internet connection would drop out unexpectedly, and continuously prompted me to enter a login password every 20 minutes or so. This occurred on all devices, whether my laptop, tablet, or phone. It made it nearly impossible to get any work done while at the hotel. I would give this stay 5 stars, but this is a fairly significant issue for business travelers. Hopefully they can resolve this problem, but it made my stay far less positive.
nearrby the center, the river , easy access off the main Hwy's. friendly staff . N/A
Very clean. Full restaurant/bar. Small convenient store. Pleasantly surprised at how nice it was!
The bartender was really nice and our room had a fridge and microwave. The staff was friendly. Had to pay to upgrade for the room I originally booked. They had a scheduled power outage both days
Loved the clean and modern look, but better yet, the friendly staff and location. Lots of restaurants and activities within walking distance. I parked my car (for free!) and was able to walk everywhere! I wish the breakfast was included and buffet style.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. The toilet did not work and had to be "plunged " at 11.45 pm when we were going to bed. Also the restaurant service was slow and parts of meals, eg essential sauces had to be requested several times.
Very friendly and clean rooms. Nice quick walk to the city.
The staff at the hotel really made me feel at home. The hotel is in a great location downtown - you can walk to bars and restaurants and you have the highway next to you = perfect connections. The breakfast at the grill was excellent. I definitely would book this hotel again .
You can hear the highway nearby.
Upgrade was appreciated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Relaxing stay. Would have liked restaurant to open earlier. Left at 7 AM just as it opened
The staff is very friendly and the location is right in downtown.
Not advertised that it was under renovation. Way too expensive for the quality. Window covered by plastic due to renovations. Bedding was dirty.
The hotel is super close to downtown and has a free shuttle service that you can reserve up to a half hour in advance. Our bed was comfy too. Checking in and out was easy. Right next to the expressway. Our room didn't have a phone, which was weird, and one of the lightbulbs in the bathroom was burned out.
Housekeeping was amazing, very clean rooms and pleasant staff Television channels were limited Sleep number bed remotes didn't work in room 601 Microwave plate should be adjusted in room 601
I liked being close to the river and downtown. I plopped down on the bed when I got in the room and found 4 hairs. . . not my own. One was a pubic hair! They sent a maintenance guy to change the sheets and we helped him change them. The pillows were the worst pillows I have ever seen. Totally lumpy foam.
Staff very helpful Everything under construction, lamp broken, dirt and smashed bugs on walls, navigating to room through hanging plastic, windows blocked out. The online info for the hotel indicates a luxurious property which is miles from the truth. We did complain and did receive a small discount but the experience was dismal.
Very clean rooms - great pool
We enjoyed our stay here very much. Short bicycle ride along river to downtown. No complaints
Nothing We exit the elevator after 13 hours of driving, with out two children (5 & 9), to razor blades, trash, construction debris, just a flat out disaster shoots down the entire hallway. A man says we shouldn't be here. I said ok, and headed back to the front. The Dest person says, it's ok, thanks for your patience!?!? W.T.F. !?!?!
They staff were very apologetic and did their best to provide great service despite the fact that this hotel is a dated crumbling relic - it has been purchased by a hotel group and it will be unrecognizable - completely transformed and beautiful when it's finished. We never would havbooked there had we known the state of the reno, we were advised there were renovations but this is far beyond what we expected. it's surprising it's open right now considering the scale of renovation. The pool and whirlpool were drained which was disappointing. But the beds and pillows were fantastic and we slept well.
Low price, easy access to express way Wet carpet, power kept going out, dirty bedding,
not much..bad location rooms smelly..floor smelly..understaffed..bad location..no directions for sleep number bed
Very inexpensive and close to downtown. Excellent customer service from staff. Suitable for a girls night out! Elevator was extremely slow; coffee was very weak.
Paint was peeling on walls. Hair in tub. Long exposed pipes down all the hallways. We went for the waterslide in the pool for our kids. The pool guy had this bleach spray bottle cleaning the slide and black mold from around the pool. Now it needed it but the slide was only open for a few hours that day as it was the middle of the week and we had to leave the pool because of the overwhelming bleach smell. I have a 9 month old and didnt want her to breath it. They should probably clean the pool while its closed to guests.
Our room was clean and comfortable. The sraff was rather disorganized. When we got there at 4pm, they weren't sure which rooms were ready so we had to sit in the lobby with our luggage for 10 minites waiting for word from housekeeping.
Location First hotel that I've ever stayed with no free breakfast. Had to request clean towels. Not even coffee
Great location, great staff
The slide in the swimming area. The slide hours are different than the pool hours, but this isn't posted anywhere. We specifically booked this hotel for our daughter to be able to enjoy the "water park", but it wasn't available for most of the day.
It was walking distance from everything! Had trouble with the door locks.
Room was nice. Too many kids out of control. Would have liked to use the pool area. Not a chance. Breakfast doesn't start until 7:00 on weekends. Most travelers on on the road by then. Need to start breakfast at 6:00.
Location Run down, dirty, bad receptionist, lumpy small pillows, under bed never been vacuumed, housekeeping on phone while cleaning, no wonder room was dirty. Just bad. Never going back
rooms were not clean..tv did not work right. pool was not open all the time only at night. would not go there again
Location and staff Valet was over priced Facilities somewhat dated
The location was great. Everything was in walking distance of where we wanted to go. Great night Life too! The check-in was at 4 which Itcould have been at 3 and the check out was at 11 instead of noon. That's the only thing I would change.
The hotel was very clean and our room was great! Staff at the front desk were extremely rude during check in, even stopping me in the middle of talking to help another guest who came back up to the counter. The bell tower staff were also not very friendly. Elevators were slow due to "construction" (that was no where to be seen).
good location, free parking, most things are as expected Rather mediocre hotel for a rather high price. Rooms are clean only until you look carefully. Free wifi included, but they cut off skype calls after 2 minutes, so that you would have to pay for premium internet. Overall, typical greedy hotel chain, but could be good choice if you find nothing better in the area.
Staff was friendly, but unsophisticated. I was switched out of a room because it smelled musty/moldy. Food was good, but expensive, and I'm not accustomed to having to purchase coffe and breakfast when I travel. Amenities bottles seemed to be only partially full. Rooms were unremarkable, but clean. Staff was vacuuming my floor when I checked in around 5 pm. Internet slow, and again I'm not used to having to purchase a premium package for Internet. I'll stay in a cheaper hotel with better amenities and less focus on decor next time
The staff was extremely informative and friendly. The location was pretty good, within walking distance to many things downtown. I felt like it was pretty expensive for what it was and I also had called ahead of time and was put on hold and hung up after waiting for around 20 minutes and called back and was immediately helped.
Spacious and up to date rooms. Very long corridors
Good room service is always a plus Bathrooms and tv could be better
The hotel is finishing a renovation and the rooms and lobby look great. I cannot wait to come back and see the completed project. The hotel was easy to get to and had alot of dining options in the surrounding area.
Premium old school building. Quiet. Upscale bed, sheets & pillows. Spa treatment in the rooms Ad unit in wall was loud.
In renovation - rubbish :-(
Nice and peaceful location. The lopsided of one side of my bed.
The food was good. They are going through renovation. It's extremely difficult finding the entrance to the hotel and to the building. Finding your room is like going through a maze.
Rooms were spacious, room service food was good. My guestroom was an un-remodeled room and was really tired looking. I wished the front desk checked me into a remodeled guestroom being that the other 5 people traveling in my group were put into newly remodeled rooms. I was also put into a room with two double beds... which was unnecessary, being that I was traveling solo.
I loved that such a simple hotel has so many amenities. I enjoyed the pool, suana and jacuzzi!
The front desk staff is incredible. Korey Smith (Front Desk Supervisor) made my extended stay enjoyable, made me feel 'at home' and went above and beyond to make sure everything was enjoyable. The renovated rooms are nice and functional and free internet made my business trip a pleasure! The only thing I would change about this hotel is the fitness center. It's in the middle of a main hallway with a wall of windows so you feel like you're on display when you're sweaty and gross. Even pulling the blinds doesn't really help. Other than that, the hotel is fantastic.
Business center should be complimentary,not and extra fee
Liked the suite and good area to work. Bed was very comfortable. The food and bar area were good. fitness facility was very nice. Pool was very small. The staff got overloaded at breakfast. Was told that they got word at the last minute that they were doing "Weekend" breakfast and there were a lot of guests.
spent a weekend here with my wife after a show and night life in Grand Rapids. Loved this hotel!
Loved the staff and location. The rooms were small and hated the size of bathroom.
The beds were extremely comfortable, though felt a little short. The feel of the room was very modern and classy. Really enjoyed the complimentary coffee delivered to our door the next morning. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was very quiet. Found some dust bunnies under the bed/nightstand. Didn't have any shampoo in our bathroom.
Great location and easy Parking across street but not big deal. Maybe they could greet you as you arrive to take bags. Other than that- simple, great design and easy. We were traveling as a family with three small children. Walking distance to madcap coffee.
It's located near the city center and the staff is very friendly. The rooms also have an interesting style. We were underwhelmed when we got to our room because the view out the window was another brick wall a few feet away. My girlfriend freaked out as she's claustrophobic.
I love this hotel! The staff is amazing the restaurant has delicious food and cocktails! I would stay here again!
Beds, pillows, and sheets are amazing. I slept well. Staff was friendly and lounge food was delicious. Though they have quick and friendly room service, there is no table to eat my food on. I used the ironing board.
The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It is located within walking distance of most places. The room we stayed in was Not well represented by the City Flats Photo. I won't go further. But like I said the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. But I'm going to be wary of "boutique hotels" in the future. I would recommend for a business stay though.
The double room was larger than I'm used to. The whole place was very clean. I enjoyed free breakfast in the lobby.
The room was very comfortable and clean. Since we booked 2 rooms, we were automatically put in adjoining rooms-very convenient.
It was very clean, moderately fancy, nice pool and hot tub and friendly staff! Most important for us was the 2 extremely comfortable queen size beds for 4 adult women. Nothing.
Very conveniently located. Shuttle to the airport. Nice breakfast. Not sure how to get pick up at the airport when I get back
The bed was comfortable. The bathtub did not drain at all when using the shower.
Easy and freindly check in. Our stay was quite. Great breakfast. Overall a 9 of 10 TV options were minimal.
Location Room was in poor condition. To lit and bathtub did no work properly the water kept running Half of the wall power outlets did not work. The hot tub was only partly working it was not hot and half the jets did not work
The water in the shower of the room was very cold and never would heat up no matter which way you turned the shower knob.
Desk staf was fabulous.so friendly, professional and efficient.
Free breakfast, comfy bed Was over priced for what it is paid 111.xx out the door it's more in the 75 range
Cleanliness, comfort, friendliness & helpfulness of staff. We were trying to secure housing for my daughter who is relocating to the area. Would stay here again.
Looked clean in the room. Nice smelling shampoo's & soaps. Nice staff. Small pool. The room smelled really bad the whole time, especially when we turned the fan on. The air conditioning unit would turn "on" but would change the temperature. Woke up very hot during the night and was never able to cool the room during the whole stay even when the numbers changed. Sheets were too used and had balls on them and were rough from use. House keeping was very loud all morning.
Comfort, breakfast, and value. Hot tub was very dirty. Bathroom had hair on walls.
It was easy to find, quiet and comfortable
The location. That's about it. Paid a 4-star price for a 2-star hotel. The rooms are outdated and musty. $129 a night for an outdated room from the 70's and carpet I refused to walk on with my bare feet. Management should be ashamed of themselves for gouging customers for subpar amenities. I will never stay at another Hampton Inn again. Rest assured. And oh yeah, I wouldn't feed that disgusting free breakfast to a prisoner at Gitmo in fear it might violate the Geneva Convention. Yuck!
Clean, comfortable and accommodating.
Decent beds Out of coffee at 8 am then came back for coffee at 830 am and it was Warm not hot coffee. Very cheap breakfast you can tell they don't care About the continental breakfast much
The morning staff was very courteous and helpful. Location to shopping couldn't be better. Unprofessional check in staff complained about the weather, waking up and not feeling well. We'd asked for a toothbrush, as a card in the room said that the hotel would provide us one if we'd forgotten to bring one, and same staffer said, "could you just come down and get it? I'm in the middle of something." The rooms were rather smelly the vents in the ac/heater were very dirty.
The interstate traffic noise in our room.
Loved the beds very comfortable, breakfast included hot items like waffles and biscuits and gravy. Attached restaurant had good food and the staff was friendly and helpful. I don't recommend the rooms on the first floor near the pool... It's open till 12am and breakfast is a few rooms over and it gets noisy from 6am till 9am. Then of course you have the issue of having someone over your head.
Good value, good beds and near the freeway No AT&T phone signal in room. Had to go outside or the Pool room. Desk Clerk said she has no issues with her Sprint phone. How nice. On-line listing states Grand Rapids but GPS won't find it unless you specify Byron Center. Hand-held shower wand can be good but not when it shoots the length of the tub. Shower stream should be in the middle of the tub the way God intended it.
Clean, modern and comfortable.
First this hotel is NOT DOWNTOWN. So the name is misleading. Second the experience we had was below par for the price and even just as a regular person staying at a hotel. This is because of the incompetent and even rude service of Ben at the front desk. While we were enjoying the hot tub with another couple at close to 10pm, a young child who was unattended PUKED in the hot tub. The other apologized to us, but Ben was rude and made no attempts to improve the situation. We headed up to our room to continue our conversation and 20 minutes later Ben came to our room and -- no joke -- threatened to call the police because four adults talking *apparently* was too loud for the Hampton. Calling the police would have been a waste of time for public servants, we didn't have loud music playing, we were simply talking at normal volume. The biohazard left unclean in the hot tub however could truly be dangerous. Not sure what they were thinking but Ben must be too immature to handle a management position on a busy weekend. It was just bizarre. Also, the front desk attendants recommended we grab a drink at the restaurant attached. We walked over to find the restaurant is closed for renovations. It's attached to the Hampton -- how could the front desk staff not have known it was closed? Then two separate times I tried to ask quick questions about transport/attractions at the front desk, but there was only one person working and she literally fielded 3 separate phone calls each time while ignoring me standing right in front of her, so I just left and googled it. We're pretty easy going people, but this was seriously way below our expectations. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are so many places to stay in Grand Rapids and the city as a whole is very affordable, so steer clear of the Hampton Inn.