Book Avis car rentals in Cairns

Cairns, QLD, Australia
Dec 7 — Dec 14
Same drop-off
Cairns, QLD, Australia
Wed 12/7
Noon
Wed 12/14
Noon

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Cairns

Overall Rating7.0 GoodBased on 17175 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.9
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
7097
2222
2221
4027
383
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Although I made a reservation online, when I showed up at the counter they informed me there were no cars. It is unbelievable that the system would let me reserve a car when there were none left. This totally disrupted my travel plans.Reviewed Nov 28 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
I wouldn’t change anything!! Very pleased with the service!!Reviewed Nov 28 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
What a horrible experience trying to pickup a car from them …….Reviewed Nov 28 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The Avis email I got confirming my reservation indicated I would need a driver’s license and credit card at pickup (in Mexico). However, the Avis employee demanded a passport as well, which I did not have with me and did not want to go back to our hotel to get (1 hour roundtrip). He just shrugged at me with a blank expression as I showed him the email. As it turns out, the Avis Mexico website does mention the need for a passport, but everything is in Spanish. After I insisted that the employee should call his manager, they let me take the car upon “learning” I was a regular Avis customer, even though I had provided my Avis Wizard number in the Kayak reservation. The 30-minute delay led to us missing out on one of the sightseeing attractions we had wanted to see. Avis, you should train your employees to be the “Can-do” type, not the “Sorry, there’s nothing I can do” type.Reviewed Nov 27 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Great and comfortable vehicle. It took less than a minute...really to turn the vehicle in. Very satisfying.Reviewed Nov 27 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
If managers and employees are going to leave early please make everyone aware.Reviewed Nov 26 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
There was no delays and everything went smoothly. My only disappointment was that I wasn’t given the car I chose earlier. How ever the one I was given was good 👍Reviewed Nov 24 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Avis can clean better their cars, they are ALWAYS dirty.Reviewed Nov 21 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
They never answer the phone and the manager Jeff goes out of his way to be difficult to deal with.Reviewed Nov 21 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
very helpful and friendly counter service at AVIS. I will be back.Reviewed Nov 21 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Really, really minor, but the button on the dashboard to open the rear door doesn’t work unless the door unlock switch is pressed first, and it took a while to figure that out (this was a CX-9)Reviewed Nov 21 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Took over an hour to pick up carReviewed Nov 21 2022
review fromkayak

Good to know

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

$89/day

Good deal

$57/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Cairns

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Cairns for $57 or less.
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in Cairns are around 50% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Cairns