Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Thu 5/23
Thu 5/30
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

"Good clean basic ."(in 1870 reviews)
"The were friendly and efficient."(in 779 reviews)
"Overall though, a very good ."(in 214 reviews)

Cons

"Originally issued a car with no gas and cigarettes badly."(in 116 reviews)
"Total no-hassle rental."(in 1817 reviews)
Overall Rating6.0 OkayBased on 1 reviews
Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
4.0
Overall
4.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
8.0

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed Jan 24 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed Jan 14 2018
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:After we told them no insurance they put it on the paper work then when we pointed it out he had to start the paperwork over again. Originally issued a car with no gas and smelled like cigarettes badly. Had to unpack our backs and go all the way back to the rental center. No apology. Just a silent reissue of keys. Drop off was chaotic. No return recipet was issued.Reviewed Jun 3 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Watch Your Bank/Credit StatementPros:The car was clean.Cons:You will get charged unexplained fees that will double the quoted Kayak rate, including a "fuel service fee" that no one will disclose to you until it shows up on your receipt and credit card statement. I will not be renting with Avis again.Reviewed Apr 7 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed Feb 27 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was a good car for the category I have selected.Cons:The car had some noise in the wheels during the whole renting days, which I could not identify. I believe that if the car has gone through some check before being delivered, this slight problem could be fixed.Reviewed Feb 2 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Another great experience at Avis-OR TamboPros:Prompt, efficient pick-up and drop-off, kind service, well-maintained, clean vehicle.Cons:It was hard to find the fuel station at OR Tambo Airport to refuel, and since I was running against the clock, I couldn't. But the Avis staff assured me that they'd handle it.Reviewed Jan 4 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience at Avis JNB AirportPros:Fantastic pick up experience.Cons:Everything was fine - no complaints at all.Reviewed Dec 26 2016
review fromkayak
4.4
Long lines and staff with serious attitudeCons:Lengthy wait. Staff too busy chatting with each other to assist. No air conditioning in the premises.Reviewed Dec 12 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Professional-looking but service can be improvedPros:The car was clean. When we rented the car, the ladies at the counter took time to explain where we were not insured (we only got PAI and CAD), which we appreciated, since we would probably spend more if we didn't have the extra insurance they promoted at the counter.Cons:We weren't too happy with the car selection. We reserved a Hyundai Accent (or similar), and the car we ended up with had really slow acceleration (VW Vito), which I don't think is at part with the Accent's. When we returned the car, the guys who received it said we would get our invoice within 5 working days, despite us insisting for our invoice. We had to wait for it from the man at the counter.Reviewed Nov 4 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy AvisPros:Good clean basic carCons:NothingReviewed Oct 21 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Efficient Car RentalPros:The staff were friendly and efficient. Total no-hassle car rental. I'd rent from them again in a heartbeat.Cons:Nothing against Avis, but the Chevy Spark compact option is tiny and drives like it is being powered by three stressed-out sprinting hamsters. Overall though, a very good experience. Just size up on the car if you want any power on the highways.Reviewed Oct 15 2016
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address

Or Tambo Int Apt

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

3 Brabazon Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 11 387 8230

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport for $40 or less
  • Book your rental car at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy rental cars from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport are around 70% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport costs $45 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport?

    Economy (Class Economy SUV or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport?

    Or Tambo Int Apt is the closest Avis rental location to Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport. The telephone number for this location is +27 11 573 5000.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport (JNB)?

    Yes