Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport

Thu 4/25
Thu 5/2
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport

Economy$21/day
Compact$25/day
Intermediate$34/day
Full-size$39/day
Full-size SUV$72/day
Pickup truck$56/day
Premium SUV$81/day
Intermediate SUV$62/day
Standard SUV$72/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Overall Rating3.1 PoorBased on 43 reviews
Cleanliness
3.6
Comfort
3.4
Overall
3.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
3.1
Value for money
3.3

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
2
1
0
2
0
0
24
2.0
Surprised charges, car was damaged and had bad axels. Lots of noise was being made when driving. It rained a couple times during our trip and the car’s windshield wipers were old and obstructed our view while driving when we tried wiping. We thought we were going to get into a major accident. When there was dirt on the windshield and tried wiping it clean there was no water put in the car. We actually had to throw water from our water bottles to help us clean the windshield. It was an overall dangerous experience. I would not rent again.Reviewed Nov 22 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
I was the only customer still took them one hour and 1/2 to get me the vehicle. Customer service was very good but slow.Reviewed Nov 12 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
I’m traveling from out of the country reserved a vehicle and they have it awayReviewed Oct 24 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Awful, they charged twice the rate I booked a car for.Reviewed Oct 22 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Didn't have a car for me despite reservation. Apparently this is common. Highly annoying and disruptive start to a trip. Arrived so late there's weren't even cabs or Ubers. Was able to hitch a ride to town with a friendly local. Otherwise not sure what I would have done.Cons:There could have been a car, just like what I reserved!Reviewed May 23 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:There was no agent present at the airport and no car so nothing to likeCons:Reservation had been confirmed, received three e-mails regarding the confirmed reservation. Arriving at the airport, no agent available, no local phone numbers did answer. Avis service desk was not able to provide assistance. Had to take a taxi and book a hotel. Next morning, no local phones being answered, checked again with Avis service desk and been informed that there were no cars available at this location. This can be rather disturbing if you have obligations to meet and are depending of transportation. No explanation or apologise received from the side of Avis. For me this is a huge middle finger towards clients.Reviewed May 23 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I waited 45 minutes in line, just to be told there are ni more cars available, what is a reservation good for if there is no more cara when you arriveReviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:TOTAL SCAMReviewed Mar 29 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:HORRIBLE CORRUPT CAR RENTAL AT AIRPORT. You should de list all agents there. 1. They add on fake "insurance" that is more than triple the rate quoted on KAYAK 2. I arrived 1 hour early and found this out, then they said the car was not available until the time I reserved it for. I waited an hour, came back and they said they didnt have a car for me and nothing else I could do. I had to rent a car from another agent at the airport for more than double the cost of my reservation. I will NEVER use Kayak again for a car rental. You should really pursue this scam and hold them accountable for published prices.Cons:NEVER RENT A CAR FROM EL SALVADOR AIRPORT ON KAYAK until they fix this scam.Reviewed Mar 29 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:The worst. I got a call a few hours before I arrived to pick up the car telling me they don't have a car to rent me and if I wanted a number to complain. Seriously I was going to another country and this is what I got. Then tried to find another car and same thing they called me and also canceledReviewed Mar 1 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They didn’t have the car we needed. And instead sent us to another company.Reviewed Jul 12 2018
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport

Address

Carretera A Comalapa,km 42

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:30
Tuesday05:00 - 23:30
Wednesday05:00 - 23:30
Thursday05:00 - 23:30
Friday05:00 - 23:30
Saturday05:00 - 23:30
Sunday05:00 - 23:30

Phone

+503 2339 9268

Address

Carretera A Airport Intl

Hours

Monday05:30 - 21:00
Tuesday05:30 - 21:00
Wednesday05:30 - 21:00
Thursday05:30 - 21:00
Friday05:30 - 21:00
Saturday05:30 - 21:00
Sunday05:30 - 21:00

Phone

+503 2304 0045

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport

  • One of the most convenient things about choosing to do Avis Car Rentals at El Salvador International Airport Saint Óscar Arnulfo Romero y Galdámez (SAL) is how easy it is to find your car when you arrive at the airport. When you arrive at the airport, make your way to the baggage claim area and you will find the car rental desk for Avis in the terminal building directly adjacent to the baggage claim area. All the cars for rent sit on-site at the airport, so there is no need to take a shuttle bus to get to your car after you have your contract and your keys.
  • One main reason that so many people choose to use Avis Car Rentals at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport (SAL) is the exceptional loyalty rewards program that Avis offers. Avis's loyalty program, Avis Preferred, offers members a range of benefits to enhance their rental experience. Members enjoy expedited check-in and check-out processes, priority service, and the ability to earn points for each qualifying rental. These points can be redeemed for free rental days, vehicle upgrades, or other rewards. The Avis Preferred tiered structure has escalating benefits, providing a level of convenience and adding value for frequent renters.
  • Passengers using Avis Car Rentals at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport will find a diverse range of rental cars to suit various travel needs. Whether seeking the efficiency of compact cars for city exploration, the comfort of sedans for family trips, or the spaciousness of SUVs for group travel, Avis offers a versatile fleet. Additionally, customers can enjoy the style and freedom of convertibles or the practicality of vans. With well-maintained vehicles, Avis ensures a tailored rental experience for visitors to El Salvador.
  • Avis staff at El Salvador International Airport are known for their knowledge and helpful assistance. With a deep understanding of rental procedures, vehicle features, and local travel insights, the knowledgeable team strives to provide a seamless and informative experience for customers. Whether answering questions about the rental process or offering recommendations for exploring El Salvador, Avis staff members are dedicated to ensuring a positive and well-informed rental journey for all visitors.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport for $45 or less
  • Book your rental car at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Mini rental cars from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport are around 78% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport

  • What are some of the ways I can enhance my rental with Avis?

    Avis Car Rentals at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport offers a variety of upgrades to enhance your rental experience. Travelers can choose from options such as GPS navigation systems for convenient travel, child safety seats tailored to different age groups for family comfort, and various fuel service options. Additionally, Avis provides opportunities for vehicle upgrades to premium models, allowing customers to tailor their rental to specific preferences and needs, ensuring a comfortable and enjoyable journey in El Salvador.

  • What are some of the important pieces of documentation I must bring with me to pick up my rental from Avis?

    To collect a rental car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport, customers generally need essential paperwork. The primary driver must possess a valid driver's license, and international renters may need an International Driving Permit if their license is not in English. For payment and securing the rental, a major credit card in the primary driver's name is usually required. Checking Avis's specific requirements during the booking process is recommended for a seamless rental experience.

  • What should young drivers know about trying to rent a car from Avis at this airport?

    Young drivers seeking to rent a car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport should be aware of specific policies. Typically, renters under 25 may face additional fees or restrictions. It's advisable to review Avis's age-related policies during the booking process to understand any applicable charges or conditions. Being informed about age-related requirements ensures a smoother rental process for young drivers at San Salvador El Salvador International Airport.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport costs $47 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport?

    Standard (Mitsubishi Outlander or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport?

    Carretera A Comalapa,km 42 is the closest Avis rental location to San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport. The telephone number for this location is +503 2339 9268.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from San Salvador El Salvador Intl Airport (SAL)?

    Yes