Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
I almost love everything - the breakfast, the pool, the beach, the classy atmosphere, the birds, etc. I want to mention, in particular, the staff at the breakfast. They treated us so well, especially Ludi.
Top shelf overall. The beach. Too much coral and rock.
It was a nice $200 a night hotel. Unfortunately I paid $600 a night The valet took 15 minutes to get our car and I had to ask twice to get the car. Two of the three elevators were broken so we eventually carried out bags down 5 flights of stairs after waiting 10 minutes. The bartender used his hands to put ice in people's glasss.
Nice room, cleanly, beach front, nice pool area and not too bad a price for the area...being close to Lahaina was great! The hotel room we stayed in was a bit of a ways from the lobby and we had to walk through a row of shops to get to the front, but towards the end it wasnt that bad being away from commotion. The breakfast was expensive for what was being offered. It wasnt bad, just not worth $30/person. Parking was $18/day which hurt after we were there for so many days.
Wish I was still there. I left my camera charger in the room. They shipped it back to me. Loved it and would stay again if I can.
Lots of hidden fees. Overpriced food and drinks. They would not give me a complete bill when I checked out. Cost to park my vehicle!
room service was awesome...food outstanding. Front desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Went to Japengo for dinner...sat us in the lounge area...even though the lanai was ready for seating and to catch the sunset...were told it wasn't open yet although hours of operation stated 5:30...sat with our backs to the water and couldn't see the sunset through the bar...after 10 minutes about 20 Japanese tourists were seated in the restaurant. felt shunned. The floor/carpet was dirty in our room (201). Nasty stains (by the nightstands and throughout the floor) we wore slippahs in the room! Coming from Honolulu, expected more. We were on the second floor and couldn't sit on our lanai since the people next door were out there smoking cigarettes and it smelled disgusting. For $400/night felt ripped off! Also feel parking should be a couple dollars a day...not $16! Then an additional $30 hotel fee???? Hyatt residence club employees were shoving the "timeshare" experience down our throats! Didn't spend that kind of money to try to be persuaded to purchase anything.
Staff unpleasant, not welcoming
The design of the resort: the pools, the waterfalls, the wildlife lawns, etc. The staff are consistently nice and patient, the shuttle service within Ka'anapoli area, the size of the rooms. Compares to other resorts in the area such as Marriott and Westin, Hyatt's rate is very reasonable about average of $350/night. Son'z restaurant food was terrible for 5-star, fine-dinning categorization. The popcorn ceilings in the rooms can be upgraded. It has no beach - we'd have to walk further the Marriott resort for the beach. Hyatt should do a better job enforcing the no-smoking policy on floors designated as non-smoking floors, it's never pleasant to be out on lanai and having to deal with someone next to your unit smoking up a storm.
The hotel staff was very friendly, accommodating, and generous. We loved the warm, family friendly atmosphere of the hotel. The Easter activities were particularly fun for our children. No custom omelette or fresh waffle station at breakfast.
* People/service was great! * View of ocean from room was wonderful * always restocked amenities everyday * very clean bathrooms, room, lobby, etc. * Food was very good Everything was overpriced, but we were in Maui, and Hawaii is expensive ... getting there is only the beginning when it comes to spending $$$$
The view was stunning, and the amenities top notch. That I was unable to stay longer.
The staff made us feel very comfortable, were very responsive and accommodating to requests. The man at the gate made a point of welcoming us home every time we drove back in, which was very nice. Pools and lounge areas are nice, although the pool and jacuzzi closes a bit earlier than we thought it would. If you play tennis, they have many new courts and a pro shop. Although older, a close walk to other resorts and Whaler's Village. Definitely a good place for the price. The housekeeping staff seemed to always come really early as we were getting ready for the day. Call me crazy but when I am on vacation I sometimes like to sleep in,
the situation, the room was nice , clean and with a nice view The woman who seats the guests for breakfast is incredibly slow, so that one has to queue for 15 minutes to be seated,and in the restaurant, the waiters are not very nice..The woman at the activities desk looks more interested in her Iphone than in the guests wishes!!
Everything was perfect.... The staff were amazing, and were just so helpful. The rooms were always so clean, the cocktails at The Ocean Terrace were sensational, the food was scrumptious, and that sunset, wow!! was just simply breathtaking. Getting around is quite easy if you don't have a car, providing you want to stay in the immediate area. There is a trolley which is free around the Kaanapali area and if you want to go into the local town of Lahaina you can catch a bus for $1 from Whalers Village. We loved it & will definitely go back. The only thing i didn't like was having to leave this beautiful place. The food however is a little expensive but you would expect that in any resort anyway.
The walls were a little thin. Could here our neighbors banging around.
The view, the aloha, the comfort, the beach, the food. Tremendous save to a bad airbnb experience.
Very relaxing atmosphere.
It was an excellent place to stay. Great views particularly during the sunset. Quiet, calm, relaxing. Plenty of aquatic activities for those who enjoy them. Very close to the beach. Staff was awesome. Incredibly friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed it. I definitely recommend it. Food variety at the restaurant. It was basically fast food selection at fancy restaurant pricing. Most everything in the menu has some sort of sweet seasoning or sauce in it without the possibility of asking for the plate without it and/or lack of variety. Far from other food selection. If you are without a car you are subject to eat at the restaurant only.
YOU NEED TO HAVE MICROWAVES IN THE ROOM
Very nice hotel with nice rooms and facilities. Good location near beach and Lahaina town, shopping etc.
very poor management
Staff was great!!! Great beaches...
Beach was phenomonal. Restaurant food was spectacular. Beds were REALLY REALLY uncomfortable. Hot tub was across parking lot and COLD 2 of the 5 nights.
Everything. Great for families, honeymooners, young couples, old couples, beach bums, active people, lazy people, food lovers, drinkers...etc It was perfect
The Bed! The Adult-only pool area (though the kiddos still managed to sneak in due to irresponsible parents) Proximity to beach Nice shower, but small bathroom area overall Lack of good food options Loud children in the hallways (maybe consider making some areas of this hotel for singles/couples only?) No fan in the bathroom
Love the location and the surrounding facilities, mall, restaurants, etc. Staff assigned me and my wife a room with 2 double beds for a week long stay in the most romantic place on earth. It was just too bad we could never sleep together the whole week. Ruined the whole trip for me.
We were able to come to Maui on short notice. The westin exceeded all our expectations
They lost our reservation! We ended booking at another hotel.
Everything! Walking distance to Kaanapali Beach,, Whalers Village, beautiful ocean view room, beautiful shower, strong A/C, comfy bed, clean gym and friendly staff! N/A
Had a wonderful time at the Westin and would go back. The staff was awesome. They had a mini fridge in the room which worked out great for us. You can go snorkeling right off the beach at the Westin. Whalers village is right next door as well. The only thing we didn't like was that there wasn't a table in the room. There was a desk but not a small table to sit at and eat a little something the two of us.
The resort is beautiful, I had a mountain view (the cheaper rooms) and the view is still amazing. There is a new shopping plaza immediately next door with restaurants and ice cream shops. Great outdoor pools. This resort is not cheap, which is okay. What is not okay is you have to pay to rent a crappy plastic chair to use when sitting at the beach. And then you have to pay additional money to rent an umbrella. And if you want to sit in a shaded seat by the pool you have to pay for that too. Totally bogus.
The flamingos and swans were absolutely beautiful. The pool was a little cold.
Beautiful grounds and facilities. Great service and within walking distance to many restaurants. Crowded most of the time. charged for many things that were included with resort fees elsewhere such as paddle boards.
I saw reviews about the spa in travel & leisure magazine. And it and the staff met expectations. They were amazing. Also, the hotel itself is beautiful!! The restaurant staff and the guys selling the Maui Jim sunglasses need some training on customer service. They were pretty rude. I was able to avoid the wait staff by eating else were but the towel sunglasses guys I had no choice.
Nice beach view, nice patio, more privacy, daily cleaning services, nice cupboards. Overall novice place to stay. Cheap compared to other hotels. It should be morndenized.
We were very pleased with the central location, the beach, the facilities and the rates. Thank you! That the breakfast was good for only two days, no exceptions. We missed out due to jet lag and not reading through everything. We were staying another 3-days so still would have benefited from your presentation. That was very disappointing. The only other complaint is the cost of your buffet in the morning. We opted to eat elsewhere each day.
Rooms were comfortable and included a fridge. Very convenient location ... on the beach and walking distance to Whalers Village (with an ABC Store for reasonably priced food and souvenirs.) Loved the Hawaiian music and hula every night from 6-9 (included.) Staff were so pleasant and even had a farewell ceremony with free Kekui beads. Would definitely recommend to friends and I'd go back in a heartbeat. no complaints whatsoever
A gem! The hotel was perfect for our stay. Great location to the beach, shops, restaurants, and tours. The rooms were clean and comfortable but a little outdated, however that didn't matter. We would definitely stay here again.
The friendly staff
Hotel shows signs of age and room felt very moist and had a faint mildew smell
Location Micah birds Garden area Room and lanai Attentiveness by staff when we had a problem with some missing snorkel fins Staff in general were relatively friendly and accommodating other than one lady at the valet area Champagne brunch and dinner at tiki terrace food was good, but not great Missing belongings - a pair of our fins went missing while our luggage was being moved to our room Some staff at curb not very welcoming
Location was okay. We had to change rooms after a very direct discussion with the night manager due to the bugs infesting the room. The room we moved to was down one floor and it, too, was bug infested. The Manager, Mike White, called and assisted us in finding another hotel (condo) that was satisfactory and did not charge us for our one night stay. He said that they had recently replaced their pest control company to improve on their pest issue and hired a new Housekeeping Manager to correct housekeeping issues. (The room had obviously been wiped with sour cleaning rags and cleaned with dirty mop water. Both rooms stunk.
We loved the whale watching opportunity the beach provided. The beach is the best! It is a protected cove that allows for easy swimming. The rooms are old, facilities are old and dated, the restaurant food was plain, the live music was fair,
Hawaiian atmosphere the beds weren't that great
Great view of Kaanapali Beach from ocean front room. Daily breakfast buffet was very good. Nightly entertainment Hawaiian music. Only 2 elevators that are slow.
Staff was excellent helpful and courteous We were pretty satisfied with everything
Our one bedroom unit worked well. We ate in or out as suited us. Nice 3.5 mile beach trail starts in a park just south of the property; good for running and walking, but could be contested in spots. we had full access to the timeshare immediately south, and frequented the happy hour at their beach/pool bar and their lounge chairs. Grounds were lush and attractive. Beach was nice to look at, but not very useable, as it was small and the surf was high. Too small even for lounging. Next door was better.
Price and upgade
This place had everything that we expected and the Beach was great you could go rite from your hotel snorkeling I recommend this place a return Everything
Huge room. Gorgeous views. Huge tub. Beautiful tile work. Big kitchen. Washer and dryer The beds were just awful. They were rock hard and not comfy at all. The pillows were small. Had a very hard time sleeping. No coffee maker!!!
The view and the pools are very nice and I was impressed with them. The food and drinks were just average. I understand that more people cook themselves in this type of property and not to expect a five star experience. The service was weak and inattentive in the restaurant, enough to get you your meal, but mostly feeling in different.
Gorgeous property. Rooms are brand-new, very large, well-equipped, extremely well-built and in-room amenities are top notch. Restaurant food was excellent as was seaside dining. Pool area was extremely large and beautifully landscaped. The hotel sits on the windiest part of the island. Most of the week it felt like a gale force wind tunnel thru the middle of the lobby thru to the pool area. We know it was isolated to this location because we visited several wind-free spots on the island throughout the week. There seemed to be a lack of staff (only had poolside attendant one time during the duration of the week). Otherwise, saw no pool waitstaff. The only small thing we didn't like about the room itself was that there was only one mirror in the whole condo (in the bathroom). It would be great if there was a mirror in the bedroom so you can get dressed with out having to go back to the bathroom especially when sharing the suite with more than one other person.
It was a very comfortable brand-new condominium with well-appointed equipments, full kitchen, Washer& Dryer, full-open glass door to the balcony. The Deli has not enough selection of goods and foods. It was unsatisfactory room cleaning for a couple of day.
Cleanliness, modern kitchen, ocean view, beautiful pools. Low thread-count sheets on bed were scratchy.
My wife and I had a great time relaxing by the pool drinking wonderful lava flows! Price was a little expensive.
Great location. Excellent conceierge Smell of sewage at HH entry
The hotel is stunning with amazing ocean views.
Everything was new and pretty. I liked that kitchen was well furnishined and the room design was nice. We got complimentary sparkling wine since we were honeymooner. The worst thing about the hotel was that it was very short of people. Our first room did not have enough hot water for one person to finish the shower. But it took about 3 hours for them to get us into another room. We tried to get help from bell boy to move our luggages but they told us that we need to wait for 5 minutes. We moved by ourselves. Any time I tried to get help from front desk and it took them while to respond. Also I won't blame it to the hotel but it was so windy all the time. It was like we were in middle of storm all evening through out the time of our stay. Our martini glass had a chewing gum stuck to it.
Suite was beautiful and comfortable. Full kitchen with dishes and appliances was great to have! Service was poor. Pulled up to the hotel and spent over 30 min in the car without ever even being greeted while my husband checked us in. When we commented on our poor service experiences the management responded by saying that "Honua Kai is not a hotel." They also made sure to mention their duty to secure certain room rates for their property owners.
Great hotel, great location
The rooms had a great layout. The beach location was fantastic. The majority of the staff were very friendly. Surprise ~$30 daily charge on bill upon checkout (for wireless, parking, and misc room supplies). We were told we would get an upper level mountain view and ended up with a 2nd floor view of the construction site next door. Lack of pool seats because one pool was being renovated. Late guaranteed check-in time.
This place is beautiful... almost heaven-like. The pools are separated into mini pools so you can hang out by yourself or with your own group that gives you the feeling of you own the entire pool. The garden is just beautiful. Staff are friendly and attentive. Housekeeping is not very thorough sometimes, but still gets an A-. Not too thrilled about having to pay $30/night for valet parking. And feeling obligated to tip them every time we need to get our car or have it parked. The resort fee of $40/night should include valet parking.
The views here are world class. If I was a troll, I would have posted "1 star, ocean is too loud, couldn't sleep", but honestly, it's been such a dream spot. Plenty to do right here, and not a far drive from the rest.
We stayed to the Mahana to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary, without kids. The staff was very helpful throughout the week. Upon check-in, they gifted us chocolates and a bottle of wine for our anniversary. A very sweet touch! Our condo was beautiful with a full size kitchen. Coffee and toiletry amenities included. Daily maid service was awesome. Loved having a washer and dryer in the condo. Beautiful views out of the floor to ceiling windows in the living room, bedroom, and lanai. Pool area was very nice (not too crowded) and everything is within walking distance! Saw sea turtles from our lanai. There are no other properties so close to the ocean. Nothing- We will bring the whole family next time.
The suite was very spacious, with a kitchen, two separate bedrooms, two large bathrooms, and a large sitting area. There were 3 TVs in case you were staying in. The room was right next to the beach and had access to facilities such as a large swimming pool. There was also free WiFi. Nothing was done poorly.
Close to the beach and restaurants Kitchen for cooking is very convenient and well stocked with utensils The pullout bed was very uncomfortable - these villas should only be for 2 people - not 4. Also the price is very high and there was no mention of service fee of $15/ day until you arrive and checkin. Also at the tour desk they try and sell/ push trips on you.
The 1 bedroom condo units are very spacious and well-designed. You feel like you're living at the beach rather than escaping your room for outings. We did not hear any noise from nearby units except when the maids were moving patio furniture to clean. Our unit could have used a larger living room TV (approx. 25in CRT) as it was dark by 6pm and we just wanted to watch a movie at night. (TV size varies with the individually-owned units.) It was particularly nice to have a washer & dryer in the unit.
I liked the location, the comfort and spaciousness of our room, and could appreciate the efforts beiing made by the property to upgrade its facilities. I did not like the fact that we were not informed prior to arrival that construction was going on. To be fair, the hotel reduced our rate after I complained.
Beautiful accommodations, great location with amazing beachfront access. The condo units are very well stocked with supplies.
Friendly staff. Everything exceeded our expectation
Customer Service exceeded my expectations!!!
The entire resort was really well maintained, had an amazing view of the ocean, liked the fact that the patios were huge. Really close proximity to the beach. Convenient store inside the resort was very useful and had good breakfast. Even though the resort itself was really well maintained, the unit itself was outdated and had issues like the TV remote did not work, patio door was broken and hard to open and close. Kitchen was very outdated as well.
Location! Away from the touristy area packed with hotels. Luxurious grounds, quiet setting. Not enough parking. Kapalua Villas is located within the large resort complex. Although they offered a nice complementary shuttle service anywhere within the complex, we preferred to explore on our own using our rental car and limited parking spaces made it difficult.
Comfortable room. Wonderful staff. Convenient location. Starbucks by the Sea. nice fitness center Speedy elevators Lack of a full kitchen and washer-dryer. Crowded pool (but it was a holiday week, so that is to be expected). Parking is difficult. Beach was rocky and not good for swimming. The pool bar closes at 7 pm. Why so early?
Location and price electrical outlet next to sink did not work.
Reasonable location, a small pleasant walk to the main shopping area. Value for money given the cost of many places in Maui The beach at the front of the property is poor, and as we didnt have a car the nearest decent beach was a 30 min walk away. The pool at the resort is small. The room was clean but kitchen fittings were dated.
Very nice staff, very close proximity to the beach, very clean, beautiful decor No free internet (also no wireless internet) available; Internet use added $10 per day to the cost and in this day and age Hotels should have wireless for free. I travel a lot, work online and had to do work, though technically on holidays...almost every hotel I stay has free wireless, Lahaina shores does not! It maybe the only reason not to come back as I loved everything else.
Big rooms with amazing view! Good price! Some of the staff seemed a bit lazy and not what you expected others were really good.
good location and room size for the price very dark lobby. looks gloomy
Great location and nice facilities for the money The restaurant next door was very noisy at night as they had evening shows that lasted quite late
we enjoyed it very much - the bonus was being at the beach and listening to the waves hit the beach.
That they made me feel as comfortable as possible.
Very nice hotel. We liked the stay, it is a beautiful there! The beach near the hotel was not very good.
excellent beach front location. easy walk into lahaina town. clean, comfortable, well decorated, friendly staff.
It was available on short notice Expensive for what it is. Hefty cleaning fee. Have to pay extra to park on property. Not on the ocean, no view. In more of a neighborhood and an abutting neighbor held a birthday party with a DJ playing loud music past midnight; had to wear earplugs.
Loved the 2 pull out couches in the living room and fully stocked kitchen and the option to check out late at an extra cost allowed us to make the most of our last day.
The extra twin pullout couch, the staff was friendly, Need another hot tub and a little convenient store with toiletries snacks and liquor and maybe some little groceries that we might have forgotten to bring. I didn't like the shower it was hard to rinse off.
Property is in great location near Napili Bay and Kapalua.
We stayed a whole week. They have everything you need in the condo. It was super clean and comfortable . The whole property was very well taken care of . Very beautiful ! We highly recommend staying here . We will definitely stay here again Nothing
Kannapali Beach Club was very clean, great food, great beach, excellent FRIENDLY staff!! Would definitely stay there again!!
Large swimming pool. Timeshare sales people everywhere.
excellent front desk staff; liked ability to grill, full size fridge; added reservation to our timeshare exchange we thought that the parking fee was high