Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
It was a nice $200 a night hotel. Unfortunately I paid $600 a night The valet took 15 minutes to get our car and I had to ask twice to get the car. Two of the three elevators were broken so we eventually carried out bags down 5 flights of stairs after waiting 10 minutes. The bartender used his hands to put ice in people's glasss.
Wish I was still there. I left my camera charger in the room. They shipped it back to me. Loved it and would stay again if I can.
Lots of hidden fees. Overpriced food and drinks. They would not give me a complete bill when I checked out. Cost to park my vehicle!
Top shelf overall. The beach. Too much coral and rock.
The view was stunning, and the amenities top notch. That I was unable to stay longer.
The room, the staff, pool, location Dont think that guests need to pay for sofa or seet on the pool.
* People/service was great! * View of ocean from room was wonderful * always restocked amenities everyday * very clean bathrooms, room, lobby, etc. * Food was very good Everything was overpriced, but we were in Maui, and Hawaii is expensive ... getting there is only the beginning when it comes to spending $$$$
I almost love everything - the breakfast, the pool, the beach, the classy atmosphere, the birds, etc. I want to mention, in particular, the staff at the breakfast. They treated us so well, especially Ludi.
The hotel staff was very friendly, accommodating, and generous. We loved the warm, family friendly atmosphere of the hotel. The Easter activities were particularly fun for our children. No custom omelette or fresh waffle station at breakfast.
The design of the resort: the pools, the waterfalls, the wildlife lawns, etc. The staff are consistently nice and patient, the shuttle service within Ka'anapoli area, the size of the rooms. Compares to other resorts in the area such as Marriott and Westin, Hyatt's rate is very reasonable about average of $350/night. Son'z restaurant food was terrible for 5-star, fine-dinning categorization. The popcorn ceilings in the rooms can be upgraded. It has no beach - we'd have to walk further the Marriott resort for the beach. Hyatt should do a better job enforcing the no-smoking policy on floors designated as non-smoking floors, it's never pleasant to be out on lanai and having to deal with someone next to your unit smoking up a storm.
room service was awesome...food outstanding. Front desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Went to Japengo for dinner...sat us in the lounge area...even though the lanai was ready for seating and to catch the sunset...were told it wasn't open yet although hours of operation stated 5:30...sat with our backs to the water and couldn't see the sunset through the bar...after 10 minutes about 20 Japanese tourists were seated in the restaurant. felt shunned. The floor/carpet was dirty in our room (201). Nasty stains (by the nightstands and throughout the floor) we wore slippahs in the room! Coming from Honolulu, expected more. We were on the second floor and couldn't sit on our lanai since the people next door were out there smoking cigarettes and it smelled disgusting. For $400/night felt ripped off! Also feel parking should be a couple dollars a day...not $16! Then an additional $30 hotel fee???? Hyatt residence club employees were shoving the "timeshare" experience down our throats! Didn't spend that kind of money to try to be persuaded to purchase anything.
Nice room, cleanly, beach front, nice pool area and not too bad a price for the area...being close to Lahaina was great! The hotel room we stayed in was a bit of a ways from the lobby and we had to walk through a row of shops to get to the front, but towards the end it wasnt that bad being away from commotion. The breakfast was expensive for what was being offered. It wasnt bad, just not worth $30/person. Parking was $18/day which hurt after we were there for so many days.
Very nice hotel with nice rooms and facilities. Good location near beach and Lahaina town, shopping etc.
Staff was great!!! Great beaches...
the situation, the room was nice , clean and with a nice view The woman who seats the guests for breakfast is incredibly slow, so that one has to queue for 15 minutes to be seated,and in the restaurant, the waiters are not very nice..The woman at the activities desk looks more interested in her Iphone than in the guests wishes!!
very poor management
Beach was phenomonal. Restaurant food was spectacular. Beds were REALLY REALLY uncomfortable. Hot tub was across parking lot and COLD 2 of the 5 nights.
Very relaxing atmosphere.
The view, the aloha, the comfort, the beach, the food. Tremendous save to a bad airbnb experience.
Views WLAN, location -> not Hawaiji feeling
It was an excellent place to stay. Great views particularly during the sunset. Quiet, calm, relaxing. Plenty of aquatic activities for those who enjoy them. Very close to the beach. Staff was awesome. Incredibly friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed it. I definitely recommend it. Food variety at the restaurant. It was basically fast food selection at fancy restaurant pricing. Most everything in the menu has some sort of sweet seasoning or sauce in it without the possibility of asking for the plate without it and/or lack of variety. Far from other food selection. If you are without a car you are subject to eat at the restaurant only.
Everything was perfect.... The staff were amazing, and were just so helpful. The rooms were always so clean, the cocktails at The Ocean Terrace were sensational, the food was scrumptious, and that sunset, wow!! was just simply breathtaking. Getting around is quite easy if you don't have a car, providing you want to stay in the immediate area. There is a trolley which is free around the Kaanapali area and if you want to go into the local town of Lahaina you can catch a bus for $1 from Whalers Village. We loved it & will definitely go back. The only thing i didn't like was having to leave this beautiful place. The food however is a little expensive but you would expect that in any resort anyway.
YOU NEED TO HAVE MICROWAVES IN THE ROOM
The walls were a little thin. Could here our neighbors banging around.
Love the location and the surrounding facilities, mall, restaurants, etc. Staff assigned me and my wife a room with 2 double beds for a week long stay in the most romantic place on earth. It was just too bad we could never sleep together the whole week. Ruined the whole trip for me.
The flamingos and swans were absolutely beautiful. The pool was a little cold.
They lost our reservation! We ended booking at another hotel.
Everything! Walking distance to Kaanapali Beach,, Whalers Village, beautiful ocean view room, beautiful shower, strong A/C, comfy bed, clean gym and friendly staff! N/A
The resort is beautiful, I had a mountain view (the cheaper rooms) and the view is still amazing. There is a new shopping plaza immediately next door with restaurants and ice cream shops. Great outdoor pools. This resort is not cheap, which is okay. What is not okay is you have to pay to rent a crappy plastic chair to use when sitting at the beach. And then you have to pay additional money to rent an umbrella. And if you want to sit in a shaded seat by the pool you have to pay for that too. Totally bogus.
Had a wonderful time at the Westin and would go back. The staff was awesome. They had a mini fridge in the room which worked out great for us. You can go snorkeling right off the beach at the Westin. Whalers village is right next door as well. The only thing we didn't like was that there wasn't a table in the room. There was a desk but not a small table to sit at and eat a little something the two of us.
We were able to come to Maui on short notice. The westin exceeded all our expectations
Everything. Great for families, honeymooners, young couples, old couples, beach bums, active people, lazy people, food lovers, drinkers...etc It was perfect
The Bed! The Adult-only pool area (though the kiddos still managed to sneak in due to irresponsible parents) Proximity to beach Nice shower, but small bathroom area overall Lack of good food options Loud children in the hallways (maybe consider making some areas of this hotel for singles/couples only?) No fan in the bathroom
Beautiful grounds and facilities. Great service and within walking distance to many restaurants. Crowded most of the time. charged for many things that were included with resort fees elsewhere such as paddle boards.
I saw reviews about the spa in travel & leisure magazine. And it and the staff met expectations. They were amazing. Also, the hotel itself is beautiful!! The restaurant staff and the guys selling the Maui Jim sunglasses need some training on customer service. They were pretty rude. I was able to avoid the wait staff by eating else were but the towel sunglasses guys I had no choice.
Location was okay. We had to change rooms after a very direct discussion with the night manager due to the bugs infesting the room. The room we moved to was down one floor and it, too, was bug infested. The Manager, Mike White, called and assisted us in finding another hotel (condo) that was satisfactory and did not charge us for our one night stay. He said that they had recently replaced their pest control company to improve on their pest issue and hired a new Housekeeping Manager to correct housekeeping issues. (The room had obviously been wiped with sour cleaning rags and cleaned with dirty mop water. Both rooms stunk.
A gem! The hotel was perfect for our stay. Great location to the beach, shops, restaurants, and tours. The rooms were clean and comfortable but a little outdated, however that didn't matter. We would definitely stay here again.
The friendly staff
Hotel shows signs of age and room felt very moist and had a faint mildew smell
Great view of Kaanapali Beach from ocean front room. Daily breakfast buffet was very good. Nightly entertainment Hawaiian music. Only 2 elevators that are slow.
Hawaiian atmosphere the beds weren't that great
Rooms were comfortable and included a fridge. Very convenient location ... on the beach and walking distance to Whalers Village (with an ABC Store for reasonably priced food and souvenirs.) Loved the Hawaiian music and hula every night from 6-9 (included.) Staff were so pleasant and even had a farewell ceremony with free Kekui beads. Would definitely recommend to friends and I'd go back in a heartbeat. no complaints whatsoever
Nice beach view, nice patio, more privacy, daily cleaning services, nice cupboards. Overall novice place to stay. Cheap compared to other hotels. It should be morndenized.
Staff was excellent helpful and courteous We were pretty satisfied with everything
We were very pleased with the central location, the beach, the facilities and the rates. Thank you! That the breakfast was good for only two days, no exceptions. We missed out due to jet lag and not reading through everything. We were staying another 3-days so still would have benefited from your presentation. That was very disappointing. The only other complaint is the cost of your buffet in the morning. We opted to eat elsewhere each day.
Location Micah birds Garden area Room and lanai Attentiveness by staff when we had a problem with some missing snorkel fins Staff in general were relatively friendly and accommodating other than one lady at the valet area Champagne brunch and dinner at tiki terrace food was good, but not great Missing belongings - a pair of our fins went missing while our luggage was being moved to our room Some staff at curb not very welcoming
We loved the whale watching opportunity the beach provided. The beach is the best! It is a protected cove that allows for easy swimming. The rooms are old, facilities are old and dated, the restaurant food was plain, the live music was fair,
Our one bedroom unit worked well. We ate in or out as suited us. Nice 3.5 mile beach trail starts in a park just south of the property; good for running and walking, but could be contested in spots. we had full access to the timeshare immediately south, and frequented the happy hour at their beach/pool bar and their lounge chairs. Grounds were lush and attractive. Beach was nice to look at, but not very useable, as it was small and the surf was high. Too small even for lounging. Next door was better.
The view and the pools are very nice and I was impressed with them. The food and drinks were just average. I understand that more people cook themselves in this type of property and not to expect a five star experience. The service was weak and inattentive in the restaurant, enough to get you your meal, but mostly feeling in different.
This place had everything that we expected and the Beach was great you could go rite from your hotel snorkeling I recommend this place a return Everything
Huge room. Gorgeous views. Huge tub. Beautiful tile work. Big kitchen. Washer and dryer The beds were just awful. They were rock hard and not comfy at all. The pillows were small. Had a very hard time sleeping. No coffee maker!!!
Price and upgade
This place is beautiful... almost heaven-like. The pools are separated into mini pools so you can hang out by yourself or with your own group that gives you the feeling of you own the entire pool. The garden is just beautiful. Staff are friendly and attentive. Housekeeping is not very thorough sometimes, but still gets an A-. Not too thrilled about having to pay $30/night for valet parking. And feeling obligated to tip them every time we need to get our car or have it parked. The resort fee of $40/night should include valet parking.
Cleanliness, modern kitchen, ocean view, beautiful pools. Low thread-count sheets on bed were scratchy.
Great hotel, great location
It was a very comfortable brand-new condominium with well-appointed equipments, full kitchen, Washer& Dryer, full-open glass door to the balcony. The Deli has not enough selection of goods and foods. It was unsatisfactory room cleaning for a couple of day.
The hotel is stunning with amazing ocean views.
Gorgeous property. Rooms are brand-new, very large, well-equipped, extremely well-built and in-room amenities are top notch. Restaurant food was excellent as was seaside dining. Pool area was extremely large and beautifully landscaped. The hotel sits on the windiest part of the island. Most of the week it felt like a gale force wind tunnel thru the middle of the lobby thru to the pool area. We know it was isolated to this location because we visited several wind-free spots on the island throughout the week. There seemed to be a lack of staff (only had poolside attendant one time during the duration of the week). Otherwise, saw no pool waitstaff. The only small thing we didn't like about the room itself was that there was only one mirror in the whole condo (in the bathroom). It would be great if there was a mirror in the bedroom so you can get dressed with out having to go back to the bathroom especially when sharing the suite with more than one other person.
Suite was beautiful and comfortable. Full kitchen with dishes and appliances was great to have! Service was poor. Pulled up to the hotel and spent over 30 min in the car without ever even being greeted while my husband checked us in. When we commented on our poor service experiences the management responded by saying that "Honua Kai is not a hotel." They also made sure to mention their duty to secure certain room rates for their property owners.
Great location. Excellent conceierge Smell of sewage at HH entry
The rooms had a great layout. The beach location was fantastic. The majority of the staff were very friendly. Surprise ~$30 daily charge on bill upon checkout (for wireless, parking, and misc room supplies). We were told we would get an upper level mountain view and ended up with a 2nd floor view of the construction site next door. Lack of pool seats because one pool was being renovated. Late guaranteed check-in time.
Everything was new and pretty. I liked that kitchen was well furnishined and the room design was nice. We got complimentary sparkling wine since we were honeymooner. The worst thing about the hotel was that it was very short of people. Our first room did not have enough hot water for one person to finish the shower. But it took about 3 hours for them to get us into another room. We tried to get help from bell boy to move our luggages but they told us that we need to wait for 5 minutes. We moved by ourselves. Any time I tried to get help from front desk and it took them while to respond. Also I won't blame it to the hotel but it was so windy all the time. It was like we were in middle of storm all evening through out the time of our stay. Our martini glass had a chewing gum stuck to it.
My wife and I had a great time relaxing by the pool drinking wonderful lava flows! Price was a little expensive.
The views here are world class. If I was a troll, I would have posted "1 star, ocean is too loud, couldn't sleep", but honestly, it's been such a dream spot. Plenty to do right here, and not a far drive from the rest.
We stayed to the Mahana to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary, without kids. The staff was very helpful throughout the week. Upon check-in, they gifted us chocolates and a bottle of wine for our anniversary. A very sweet touch! Our condo was beautiful with a full size kitchen. Coffee and toiletry amenities included. Daily maid service was awesome. Loved having a washer and dryer in the condo. Beautiful views out of the floor to ceiling windows in the living room, bedroom, and lanai. Pool area was very nice (not too crowded) and everything is within walking distance! Saw sea turtles from our lanai. There are no other properties so close to the ocean. Nothing- We will bring the whole family next time.
The suite was very spacious, with a kitchen, two separate bedrooms, two large bathrooms, and a large sitting area. There were 3 TVs in case you were staying in. The room was right next to the beach and had access to facilities such as a large swimming pool. There was also free WiFi. Nothing was done poorly.
Close to the beach and restaurants Kitchen for cooking is very convenient and well stocked with utensils The pullout bed was very uncomfortable - these villas should only be for 2 people - not 4. Also the price is very high and there was no mention of service fee of $15/ day until you arrive and checkin. Also at the tour desk they try and sell/ push trips on you.
Friendly staff. Everything exceeded our expectation
I liked the location, the comfort and spaciousness of our room, and could appreciate the efforts beiing made by the property to upgrade its facilities. I did not like the fact that we were not informed prior to arrival that construction was going on. To be fair, the hotel reduced our rate after I complained.
Beautiful accommodations, great location with amazing beachfront access. The condo units are very well stocked with supplies.
The 1 bedroom condo units are very spacious and well-designed. You feel like you're living at the beach rather than escaping your room for outings. We did not hear any noise from nearby units except when the maids were moving patio furniture to clean. Our unit could have used a larger living room TV (approx. 25in CRT) as it was dark by 6pm and we just wanted to watch a movie at night. (TV size varies with the individually-owned units.) It was particularly nice to have a washer & dryer in the unit.
Comfortable room. Wonderful staff. Convenient location. Starbucks by the Sea. nice fitness center Speedy elevators Lack of a full kitchen and washer-dryer. Crowded pool (but it was a holiday week, so that is to be expected). Parking is difficult. Beach was rocky and not good for swimming. The pool bar closes at 7 pm. Why so early?
Location! Away from the touristy area packed with hotels. Luxurious grounds, quiet setting. Not enough parking. Kapalua Villas is located within the large resort complex. Although they offered a nice complementary shuttle service anywhere within the complex, we preferred to explore on our own using our rental car and limited parking spaces made it difficult.
Customer Service exceeded my expectations!!!
The entire resort was really well maintained, had an amazing view of the ocean, liked the fact that the patios were huge. Really close proximity to the beach. Convenient store inside the resort was very useful and had good breakfast. Even though the resort itself was really well maintained, the unit itself was outdated and had issues like the TV remote did not work, patio door was broken and hard to open and close. Kitchen was very outdated as well.
Very nice hotel. We liked the stay, it is a beautiful there! The beach near the hotel was not very good.
we enjoyed it very much - the bonus was being at the beach and listening to the waves hit the beach.
Location and price electrical outlet next to sink did not work.
excellent beach front location. easy walk into lahaina town. clean, comfortable, well decorated, friendly staff.
Great location and nice facilities for the money The restaurant next door was very noisy at night as they had evening shows that lasted quite late
good location and room size for the price very dark lobby. looks gloomy
Reasonable location, a small pleasant walk to the main shopping area. Value for money given the cost of many places in Maui The beach at the front of the property is poor, and as we didnt have a car the nearest decent beach was a 30 min walk away. The pool at the resort is small. The room was clean but kitchen fittings were dated.
That they made me feel as comfortable as possible.
Very nice staff, very close proximity to the beach, very clean, beautiful decor No free internet (also no wireless internet) available; Internet use added $10 per day to the cost and in this day and age Hotels should have wireless for free. I travel a lot, work online and had to do work, though technically on holidays...almost every hotel I stay has free wireless, Lahaina shores does not! It maybe the only reason not to come back as I loved everything else.
Big rooms with amazing view! Good price! Some of the staff seemed a bit lazy and not what you expected others were really good.
The location was excellent. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and harbor. We were given a room upgrade when I called to confirm our stay. The bathroom floor was never very clean-looking.
the best location in Lahaina closed to the beaches, shops, bars, .... clean , good atmosphere, cool front street room too noisy sometimes,
lovely courtyard; nice balcony overlooking front street with lush trees Downstairs restrooms were dirty
The location was great for shopping and tours. Cafes and restruants were close and good value. Good location for all tours and boat trips. When we booked we thought that we would have a room looking over the harbour. The hotel only has rooms looking over the park and the main street. Suggestion that they include in their website that there are no rooms over looking the harbour area. If you have a choice book the rooms over looking the park instead of the main street. Be careful of some tour operators as there is a majority of tour operators which are in fact time share sellers. There are some that advertise that they are not involved in time share and they are the best. You might pay more for the trips but you do not have to put up with a 2 hour sales pitch that could cost you up to $46,000 US dollars.
Not much. No elevator Baby's are not allowed to laugh at 3 in the afternoon on new years eve or you get a knock from management on door....but they can cry with no complaints. They have parrots all over and a filthy sports bar with loud rowdy locals that scream. Wait staff is rude and unpleasant and if you whistle at the bird that constantly whistles the bartender embarrasses you and disciplines you for whistling back at the bird. The pool is freezing miniature and an absolute joke. Oh yah...the birds awake you at 5am just after the septic truck Hoover's outside at 430am also waking you..don't plan on sleeping in...no place for coffee...horrible coffee at restaurant. Place is a joke
The location was great, right next to the ferry port and Lahaina shops and restaurants. The historic and slightly quirky nature of the hotel was appealling
the atmosphere of the town,the pool,the happy hour the food & menu was poor
A couple of tours from lahina harbour. Walked the shops No room service
The wonderful staff, the historical ambience of the hotel, and the location, right on the waterfront, in the middle of all the fun stuff Lahaina has to offer.
It was available on short notice Expensive for what it is. Hefty cleaning fee. Have to pay extra to park on property. Not on the ocean, no view. In more of a neighborhood and an abutting neighbor held a birthday party with a DJ playing loud music past midnight; had to wear earplugs.
The moment we walked into our condo and saw the view, we fell in love with the place. The ocean view with the neighboring islands were amazing. We saw a sea turtle grazing on some seaweed just a few feet from our lounge chairs. We also saw a whale breaching and splashing around from our balcony. The interior was very nice and well kept. The appliances were new, the countertops were recently upgraded from the looks of it. They had everything that you needed to make yourself comfortable in the condo. We never needed to get anything else except food when we were there. It's also very affordable compared to other places. The only thing we can criticize was the size of our bed. They only had a full size mattress and I felt a bit cramped with me being 6 ft and my wife in the small bed. Other than that small detail, the place was just fantastic.