Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at Charlotte Douglas Airport

Thu 6/27
Thu 7/4
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at Charlotte Douglas Airport

Economy$63/day
Compact$63/day
Intermediate$65/day
Standard$67/day
Full-size$66/day
Minivan$82/day
Full-size SUV$92/day
Premium$74/day
Luxury$77/day
Premium SUV$118/day
Intermediate SUV$55/day
Standard SUV$60/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

" when promised"(in 1902 reviews)
"Friendly and prompt ."(in 213 reviews)
"Great from start to finish"(in 214 reviews)

Cons

"Could not choose type of ."(in 1817 reviews)
"The was uncomfortable to sit in."(in 1817 reviews)
" like stale smoke, and was dirty."(in 116 reviews)
Overall Rating6.7 OkayBased on 40 reviews
Cleanliness
7.2
Comfort
7.1
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
3
3
0
2
1
0
6
2.0
It was horrible…I will never rent from Avis again… they used to try harder…now they dont even tryReviewed Jun 15 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Did not like the Tacoma, it was stuck in 4wd at first, and just drove like a brick, should have gone with the ranger.Reviewed Jan 9 2021
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:Could not choose type of car. Was billed a $49.95 refueling surcharge upon return even though I returned the car with the tank full after filling up less than 2 miles from the return point.Reviewed Nov 11 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was friendly and nice, especially at the drop off in Roswell, GACons:While the car I got was technically an upgrade and very nice, I would have preferred to get the smaller car I originally reserved.Reviewed Feb 16 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Cons:My car was missing its set of primary keys, so I didn't have any automatic locking /unlocking featuresReviewed Dec 28 2019
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Customer service at pick up was great but the line was over 45 min long, not enough customer service reps were working.Cons:I reserved a VW Jetta or “similar” and got a 2 door camaro that was terrible. The line was way too long to wait in it again to try to change cars.Reviewed Oct 2 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:NothingReviewed May 7 2019
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Easy and convenient online and one way drop off for "reasonable fee"Cons:Gave me the "junker" of their fleet since it was a one way drop off...smelled like stale smoke, and was dirty. I basically did their drop-off work for them at my expense.Reviewed Jun 30 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great service. I had forgotten to bring my paperwork with me when I returned the car. The Avis employee was very helpful and patient in helping check me out. Great rental experience from start to finish.Reviewed Apr 18 2018
review fromkayak
3.6
Great experiencePros:Friendly and prompt customer serviceCons:I have no complaints about this location.Reviewed Apr 2 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:They seemed to take my word that the car was only 3/4 full when I picked it up. (I haven't seen the bill yet to see if they took my word on that issue, however.)Reviewed Mar 17 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Poor customer service!!!!Pros:The car started.Cons:Bottom end car, ridiculous rate, poor customer service!!!!Reviewed Aug 19 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Charlotte Douglas Airport

Address

5489 Josh Birmingham Parkway

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00
Tuesday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00
Wednesday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00

Phone

+1 704 359 5700

Address

4200 South Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday11:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 704 529 7567

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport

  • Book Avis car rentals at Charlotte Douglas Airport (CLT) when traveling to North Carolina if you want the convenience of accessing the nearby city. Avis rental is located across the street from the airport terminal, so you'll not be required to board a shuttle. General services are offered on the 2nd floor (street level), and preferred customers can go to the preferred booth on the 3rd floor. Follow the car rental signs to the temporary parking at the Avis visitor lot, take the Budget elevator towards the 2nd floor, and head to the company's rental counter.
  • You can avoid the inconvenience of long queues during weekends and holidays such as Memorial Day and Juneteenth. You can book a ride online through KAYAK to get the best deals. You are advised to book your ride 1 to 2 weeks before the trip day for you to get a car of your choice. After booking a ride, you will require to print the confirmation letter that's usually sent to your email because you will need to submit a copy to get the car keys.
  • The return process when you Book Avis car rentals at Charlotte Douglas Airport is easy as you'll drive towards 5489 Josh Birmingham Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28208, in the airport. You can follow the car rental signs to the Avis return lot, where you can park and lock it. You can then proceed to the rental counter to drop off the keys as you complete signing the contract. If your travel plans change and you wish to extend your stay in Charlotte Douglas, you can contact the company and reschedule the return day. Failure to communicate with Avis rental at CLT can lead to penalties and fees for every day you delay.
  • Avis car rentals at Charlotte Douglas Airport issue various fuel policies that you can choose from, and they include the fuel service option, where you pay for fuel in advance as you book a car, and you'll not be required to return with fuel. The other option is self-service, where you pick a vehicle with fuel and return it with the exact amount of fuel you picked. A fuel purchase receipt will be required as you return the car otherwise, your deposit can be deducted from the fuel price.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport for $57 or less
  • Book your rental car at Charlotte Douglas Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact rental cars from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport are around 53% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport

  • What requirements do I need to meet when booking a car from Avis at CLT?

    During pick-up, you are required to issue a valid driver's license and if your driver's license is not from the US, present a passport or a Canadian-enhanced license with your full legal name. You must also have a credit card with your name and enough to pay for the rental and deposit. You are also required to be at least 21 years and any client submitting a debit card should be at least 25 years old.

  • What happens if the Avis rented vehicle is damaged during the rental period?

    You are recommended to contact the rental office immediately if the Avis rented car incurs minor or significant damage. You'll also be required to pay for the damages, but you don't have to worry if you have a Loss Damage Waiver, as it can be used to cover the damage. If you also have international insurance that covers a rented car, you use it to pay, or sometimes the credit card you use may have a policy from the manufacturer and can be used to pay for the losses. The other option, which is rarely used when you lack insurance coverage, is writing off the deposit you paid during pick-up.

  • What optional coverages are offered when I Book Avis car rentals at Charlotte Douglas Airport?

    Avis offers several optional coverages at CLT, including a Loss Damage Waiver, which helps relieve the renter and the authorized drivers from the responsibility of damages. If you lack any insurance to cover losses, you can apply for LDW at Avis rental counter as you rent a car. The other coverage offered is the E Toll, where you pay up to about $5 per day and a maximum of approximately $29.75 monthly. Once you pay, your credit card information is forwarded to the E Toll system, where they will confirm the payment, and you can drive around Charlotte Douglas without worrying about the cost of all tolls.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport costs $61 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport?

    Intermediate (Toyota RAV4 or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Charlotte Douglas Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at Charlotte Douglas Airport?

    5489 Josh Birmingham Parkway is the closest Avis rental location to Charlotte Douglas Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 704 359 5700.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Charlotte Douglas Airport (CLT)?

    Yes