Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport

Thu 5/30
Thu 6/6
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport

Economy$47/day
Compact$47/day
Intermediate$42/day
Standard$49/day
Full-size$50/day
Full-size SUV$114/day
Luxury$97/day
Supplier choice$51/day
Standard SUV$79/day
Intermediate SUV$89/day
Supplier choice SUV$121/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

"It was off."(in 882 reviews)
" at Detroit airport was fantastic."(in 779 reviews)
"Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, "(in 1902 reviews)

Cons

" was filthy at pickup."(in 1817 reviews)
"The smelled like marijuana"(in 1817 reviews)
"Overall poor with DTW Avis."(in 190 reviews)
Overall Rating5.4 FairBased on 35 reviews
Cleanliness
6.6
Comfort
6.9
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.6
Value for money
5.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
4
0
0
2
1
0
10
2.0
Waited 2 hours in line during check in in order to get a car. Slowest system I’ve ever seen for car pick up. Can’t believe in 2024 this isn’t a kiosk or there isn’t a more efficient way to check in. I’m all for face to face business but in this case 2 people to check in 20+ people in 2 hours detracts from the customer experience.Reviewed Apr 10 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I received an incorrect damage claim even after showing video proof of pre-existing damage after checking the car back in at destination. Had to go through Customer Service to fix this. Very annoying.Reviewed Mar 22 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Still waiting to get deposit back.Reviewed Feb 13 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Well, after making me wait in the 10° weather for over half an hour these people refused to rent a car to me because my ID had a piece of tape on it. I literally had to walk over a mile in the snow and got sick because of this. The manager was one of the rudest people I’ve ever dealt with in my life. Stay away from this place and rent from anywhere in the world but this place.Reviewed Jan 27 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Will never use Avis again!Reviewed Nov 10 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
GentReviewed Oct 26 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
The staff were friendly but waited in line for an hour to pick up my rental.Reviewed Sep 25 2023
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed Aug 30 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed Oct 25 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed Apr 30 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed Apr 29 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed Feb 8 2019
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Address

5730 South Middlebelt Road

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 734 729 8280

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport

  • Renting a car from Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is an excellent idea if you want to explore Detroit city and the surroundings to the fullest. Enjoy a city tour with your rental car driving through attractions such as Comerica Park, Chrysler Museum, Hockeytown, and the Detroit Zoo. Cruise to The Henry Ford, Ford Rouge Factory Tour and Ford Piquette Avenue Plant to view the first Model T. Moreover, Detroit boasts a wealth of historical sites and architecture hence with your rental car you can enjoy sightseeing the city’s architectural structures anytime at your own pace. In addition to that, you can also make some great memories by going on a road trip from downtown to see the magnificent Detroit River.
  • Accessing Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport involves a simple process, but there are some things to note. If you would like to have a car waiting for you at the airport, book Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport to have your preferred car reserved for you. At the airport, a shuttle service is available to transport you from the airport terminal to the Avis counters found along the upper level in terminal A.
  • Renters ready to return their rental cars to the airport must meet the regulations to take the car back. When you arrive at the airport, drive to the terminal parking area and park the vehicle in an available spot. After that, you need to go to one of the Avis car rental counters to return your keys and sign your rental agreement to show that you have returned the rental car you rented to the airport.
  • Avis offers a wide range of rental car classes and types for all kinds of visits, business or leisure. You can choose a car from a comfortable, luxurious, performing vehicle that meets your needs and budget. If you are traveling with family, Avis has car types suitable for group travelers which can fit in comfortably so you can take your luggage and all members together in one rental car. These car classes consist of 12 SUV classes, 3 pickup truck classes, 14 luxury classes, 12 car or sedan classes, 9 minivan classes, and 3 van classes.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport for $76 or less
  • Book your rental car at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact rental cars from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport are around 53% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport

  • What documentation is required to rent a car at Avis Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport?

    Travelers planning to rent a car from Detroit Metropolitan County Airport car rentals must have a valid driver's license and vehicle insurance for their preferred car. You must also provide your passport and the identity card with the name and address of your rental agreement. Avis also requires international clients to submit their credit card information and international driving licenses.

  • What are some of the protection offered at Avis Detroit Metropolitan County Airport?

    Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport offers multiple protections to its customers. These covers include Theft Protection, which will cover the loss of or damage of your rental car due to theft, vandalism and damage due to an accident. Also covered is a comprehensive personal accident policy which covers injuries you may sustain during the events resulting from an automobile accident and roadside assistance which an employee on behalf of Avis handles.

  • Is it possible to rent a specific model at Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport?

    Avis Detroit Metropolitan County Airport offers a wide range of options for its customers regarding renting a vehicle with their rental agreement; however, finding a specific model is not assured. Book Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport online through KAYAK to access a list of car models Avis offers at the airport which you can choose from your preferred and convenient model. 

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport costs $70 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport?

    Compact (Ford Edge or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport?

    Building 295 Lucas Drive is the closest Avis rental location to Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 734 942 3450.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW)?

    No (According to our data)