Book Avis car rentals in Detroit

Detroit, MI
Aug 3 — Aug 10
Detroit, MI
Tue 8/3
Noon
Tue 8/10
Noon

Avis car rental prices in Detroit

$63/dayEconomy
$64/dayCompact
$67/dayIntermediate
$75/dayStandard
$70/dayFull-size
$131/dayMinivan
$129/dayFull-size SUV
$83/dayPremium
$106/dayLuxury
$176/dayPremium SUV
$75/dayIntermediate SUV
$89/daySupplier choice
$105/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Overall Rating5.9 OkayBased on 24 reviews
Cleanliness
5.9
Comfort
5.9
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.9
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
8
3
6
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
GreatPros:Simple, easy, fastCons:Look up the address of the drop off ahead of time - slightly confusing to find.Reviewed Dec 21 2015
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:waiting for more than an hour to pick up at avisReviewed Aug 7 2016
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed Apr 29 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:wouldn't honor quoted price. hidden fees. terrible service to resolve issue.Reviewed Aug 13 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:So easy! Everyone was very friendly and fast. That was my best big city airport rental experience ever!Reviewed Sep 24 2018
review fromkayak
4.4
Cons:Original car was not very clean with plenty of dirt and crumbs still left in the center console and the USB port did not work. This was a vehicle with 2,000 miles on it. I had to go in and get a new vehicle.Reviewed Jul 15 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Would not honor quote. Hidden fees double wuotePros:NoyhingCons:Quoted 222 then when we got there price was $375 because not unlimited mileage. Plus had to wait in line 45 minutes to get to counter. Staff were not helpful and had to book another online reservation (counter people unwilling / unable to help) to resolve issue. I even had a confirmation email saying total cost $222. HorribleReviewed Aug 12 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed Aug 30 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Disappointed in Avis quality controlPros:The Volvo V60 was an awesome car overall — really comfortable, responsive and got good gas mileage.Cons:Almost everything went wrong with this 3 day rental. I wasn’t on Avis Preferred yet that’s my tier listing. The car class we ordered (intermediate SUV) wasn’t available although the parking lot was PACKED with SUVs — we tried to take several others but “they weren’t in the computer” (in all fairness, our agent, Sara, was really great — it appeared to be a back office and operations staff problem). Since we had waited 45 minutes already, we swapped UP to the Volvo V60 - the car stank of cigarette smoke, it hadn’t been washed (why was it in the system if it hadn’t been cleaned?) and it had big scratches on three sides. We stopped at the exit gate and had the nice guy there fill out a damage report including the smoke. Then the low tire pressure guage went off — we filled up the tires and it still stayed on the whole weekend — stressful! We had guests who told us our car stank of smoke.... When we returned it, there was no one there to do a check in (on a Monday at 5pm) for 15 minutes... THen I had to show him my damage report — he wanted to take it — I told him “no way - this is MY copy and you have your own.” Guess he gave up and just charged me. Probably someone else is getting the car without a cleaning also... Detroit - get your act together!Reviewed May 8 2018
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Car was filthy at pickup. Salt on floor mats, sticky gunk in cup holders.Reviewed Jan 21 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
No option to pay cash or debit cardPros:Fast and easyCons:I was told when I return the vehicle I would be charged for payment and that I could change the method of payment. I was lied to I could not pay cash or use my debit card. My credit card used to reserve it will be charged.Reviewed May 12 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed Feb 8 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Detroit?

295 Lucas Drive, Avis car rentals

Address

295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

295 Lucas Drive

Most popular car type

Supplier choice

Average price

$59/day

Good deal

$47/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Detroit for $47 or less
  • Book your rental car from Detroit in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Detroit are around 45% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Detroit costs $59 per day.

  • Supplier choice (Class Special Car or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Detroit.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in Detroit. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • No (According to our data)