Would you like to save as your currency permanently or for this visit only?
location, services, full breakfast had a very difficult time adjusting room temperature at night. one side of bed much too cold other side much too hot. had to do with air circulation from air conditioner.
I liked the close proximity to the downtown area and the free breakfast. the staff was extremely friendly and accomodating.
Location can't be beat. Super close to the plaza and across from a strip mall including a Whole Foods. Sloppy cleaning services, subpar breakfast, 15-min timer for bathroom light (can't take a longer shower without stepping out to turn on the light again!!) and general outdated-ness of the room with carpet that needs updating. Despite the great location I will not return, as there are more cons than pros here.
Staff very knowledgable and friendly Parking too expensive
Ambiance I was very taken back being next in line when the desk clerk asked how he could help a guest who waltzed up to the counter. I was waiting my turn & felt the person who was already staying there should not have precident over me who was next in line before them. Should I have to wait if every guest came down for something before the person in front of me was finished? If not, when should it be my turn? I would have walked out after being treated that way if I hadn't already purchased the room before arrival. Otherwise the stay was pleasant & quiet. I may return.
Location Affordable for area Clean Dingy Dated interiors Loud A/C Thermostat in awkward position
Location Old run down place.
Bed was very comfortable Cute patio Pillows were very uncomfortable Room outdated - bath had chalk on top of chalk Toaster in the breakfast room needs to be replaced NOW. Waiting over 5 min for toast to pop up with a line behind you is NOT good.
This hotel is in a great location just around the corner from the Sonoma Square. We had a room that opened up to the pool, making my kids very happy. The room itself was spacious and clean, a good value. We will definitely stay there again. it was a fine hotel.
The rooms are on the larger size The room was dark and dingy. Don't eat the breakfast! The food is horrid. We chose Best Western because of the reviews, don't do it. We wanted to enjoy the pool, but there were leaves floating on the pool and it was expensive.
Close to the plaza so within walking distances for everything so very convenient. Loved their patio set up with fire pits and that we could walk out from our room. The floor above us must have had a family of kids bc we could hear them running and jumping early in the am and as we were getting ready for bed.
Sauna by pool and hot tub was a nice touch, outdoor lounging space, convenient access to Sonoma square and town. Breakfast was mediocre continental.
Friendly staff, well manicured grounds. Paper thin walls and floors, dirty room complete with hairs in bathtub and bathtub that did not drain, poor on-site parking, false advertising in photos on all major booking sites.
Staff was great and willing to help out whenever possible Car service was complimentary Wine evenings with complimentary wine tastings Hotel texting service Free waters when heading out, great when going out for wine tastings. Not well insulated rooms which made it very cold. Occasionally some barking Self Parking gets filled quickly in the evening but they offer complimentary valet
Loved the bed and pillows and the property Terrible cell reception. At these prices we shouldn't have to pay for internet, which is also terribly slow
Lovely setting Room was nice, but not 4 star - aging furniture, bad fluorescent lights, Spa facilities are fantastic Slow check-in process -- front desk never called to tell us our room was ready despite taking down number Santé restaurant didn't live up to "michelin starred" reputation Room not as spacious as advertised
No elevator Only a few of the staff need more training in customer service, starting with those working at Spa
Was hesitant, as I chose based on stars and reviews alone - but this place was Amazing in every way. The grounds are beautiful, the staff was the kindest and warmest we've been greeted with in awhile and always ready to lend a helping or advising hand. The local town (square) was a beauty as well and while small, the stores, food and wine can keep you there all day. I'd highly recommend this place again and can not wait to come back!
Nice room, great old building with solid walls (nice and quiet). Great facilities (spa and hotel pool were great). Great staff, from housekeeping to valet to spa staff. Had a great time and would stay again. Old building means no elevators or ramps, which made getting around with a baby stroller difficult. Didn't like that you had to pay for wifi, and although they had free wine tasting you had to pay for the snacks. When paying for a high-end experience it is a bummer to have to pay for things that would be easy and inexpensive to provide, like wifi and light snacks.
Too loud with Wine poll party with loud music till 10:30pm just OK
Decent room. Spa was nice. Service was poor. Left an item in room that was gone 30 minutes later and no one at hotel responded to our calls or emails. Just poor customer service.
$15 internet charge ruined the stay. Would have paid higher room charge, but the extra charge was a hassle and made the place feel cheap. A bad business move.
Loved my upgraded room. Bed was awesome. Short drive from downtown Sonoma. Concierge emailed me a list of wineries and restaurants that was very helpful in planning our trip to wine country. Original room I booked was tiny. Upgraded for $75 more per night to a room half the size. Needs a bigger entrance sign. Immediate surrounding area looks questionable, but glen ellen and Sonoma were a short drive away
The lobby is beautiful. The bathroom is in need of a remodel. The shower is incredibly small.
The friendliness and cleanliness No complimentary breakfast
Attentive staff and very accommodating. They couldn't pull our reservation into their system so we ended up with a handicap room that was all they had left.
Nicely appointed room, superior details. Excellent, responsive staff. Nice resort facilities, good location, shuttle to downtown Sonoma.
The cottages allowed for great privacy. We loved that folks had their dogs. Next time we'll bring ours! Staff was super friendly. Great location .5 m from Sonoma Square.
The grounds were lovely and offered a number of places to sit or relax
Liked layout of property - use of pool and spa were nice - saddles restaurant was good experience - like the square of sonoma
Friendly staff, nice place to stay in Sonoma. You could hear everytime someone walked up stairs from us, a bit noisy.
The stay was very pleasant. Maid service to the rooms had a communication gap, but we were able to communicate with front office staff. Although we recieved an upgrade, the room was for handicapped individuals, whi I'm sure could have bettter used the room. Front desk was not totally honest when we asked to move to another suite. The honesty issue mentioned above. There was another non-handicap suite available and empty, but we were told it was occupied. I visited the room, so I know it was not occupied at the time.
great place to stay
This is more than just a hotel, it is an experience. We did not have time to use all of the facilities on offer, but those that we did were second to none.
I had one of the best massages that I have ever experienced. The entire staff was consistently friendly. I felt that I was appreciated as a customer. I really liked everything about this hotel.
Great hotel. We will def stay there again in the future. The spa was lovely as well.
Pleasant welcome, obliging front desk staff. Beautiful gardens, and a 4 block walk into Sonoma Plaza. Room was very clean and comfortable. Only issue was the very miserable continental breakfast - and the usual awful US coffee.
The garden and grounds are beautiful! The restaurant on-site has great food and we enjoyed every day there. The rooms were spacious and the service was great. We enjoyed a 'couple-day' at the spa and were very impressed. Of the seven nights there, one night we had a neighbor that was a little loud. It quieted down by 10:30 and we never felt it was bad enough to call the front office. My wife said the only 'not-like' about the week was that we could not stay longer.
The people were very helpful. When my credit card was stolen they were easily ably to transfer it to an out of state family member. I thought the food at the hotel restaurant was rather overpriced for what it was.
I would recommend the MacArthur to all of my friends. No
The design of the rooms and decor; the quietness and relaxed atmosphere; the pleasant and helpful, informative staff
Nice big comfortable rooms, comfortable bed. Good location, nice outdoor space to sit and relax. Tasty cheese and wine
The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The cookie jar was a nice touch! Parking was easy. The bed was not comfortable, and we had to ask for softer pillows.
The rooms were clean and charming. The staff was very warm and welcoming. The breakfast and Hors d'oeurve were more than generous and delicious! My husband and I will be coming back here.
The hotel was very nice and clean as were the staff. The complimentary breakfast was great and it was just a short walk from the square. Definitely worth it and very affordable.
The location is excellent and the rooms are well appointed and cozy. However, there was a pre-school (I think) located on the other side of the fence outside my balcony which just killed the vacation vibe. Besides that, I would highly recommend the place. There was a pre-school (I think) located on the other side of the fence outside my balcony and I awoke to kids screaming and yelling. I love kids but that just killed the vacation vibe.
Attention to detail was excellent, and the staff above average
I did a vacation with my mom and we had a wonderful time at this hotel! The staff was extremely helpful with all of our needs. I highly recommend this hotel! Additionally the location was right in the square!
The location was perfect (right in the main square), and it's right above the mos popular restaurant in town: The Girl and the Fig. I loved the staff and the decor in the rooms... so cute! I also really liked that there wasn't really a television. It's perfect for quality time! Everything that was lacking you sort of should already be aware of when you sign up for a boutique B&B: no TV or room phone; light street noise (because it's on the main town square), no designated parking (again, because it's on the main town square).
Sonoma/Napa is a pricey area. For the price of an OK hotel room, you can stay at this traditional B&B. For the money, it's a no-brainer. The staff recommendation to check out the Tuesday night farmers market was a real winner. Don't miss out on the food, music and dancing. Parking spaces are very narrow, but it is only a problem if the place is full. I suggest that you back in, so that it is easy to pull out of the lot.
Me and my gal had a great stay here. It was a short walk to the downtown square where we enjoyed tasting wine without having to worry about driving. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were cozy and quiet. Very relaxing :) The coffee was a little weak...
The staff were very helpful, The decor was quaint and cute and the rooms and bathroom spotless The location was not in Sonoma itself but 6 miles from the town and restaurants so very hard to get too. Not what we thought we were booking.
High ceilings comfortable bed private patio helpful staff very clean and updated lots of space No wifi
Very quaint and clean. Location is some distance from town square. There was an anoying hum from the unit next door.
The staff and the gift of a 20% coupon for Estate. The picturesque decor.
Bed was comfortable room was clean Terrible location, remote, next to a casino, pool was really sad
Staff welcome and service, great cookie. Bathroom facilities had a couple of broken/difficult items
The facility and location are very good for me. This is the third time in four weeks I have stayed at this hotel. Each stay being two nights. The front desk staff I think even basically recognize me now. For this trip my wife had me in a king bed room w/a lagoon view, so a bit of an upgrade from my previous two stays. After the first night, I went to work and returned to my room and was disappointed w/the housekeeping. The shall/blanket from the bed was folded and put on one of the chairs, the sink/faucet/soap dish were still dirty, the bath towel looked to have just been thrown in the slot... I did speak to someone at the desk and let them know the disappointment, and was told that he wasn't surprised, that they were having difficulty w/the staff and/or short staffed. I kind of thought that was an odd thing to say when a customer is discussing a lack of service for the service provider to say they weren't surprised???
close to napa the restaurant was busy. not enough wait staff. I like to adjust the blowers on the fan but its up on the wall so could not get to it. A bit expensive but good value for the napa area
The emphasis on being green, recycling and water usage conscious. And the chocolate chip cookies! The spa was extremely small considering the number of rooms
Get a 1st floor room with a patio! Lovely lagoon area with fish and ducks. The lagoon is fenced with a variety of plants including fragrant jasmine, lemon, and orange trees. The bed is comfortable with down pillows and feather bed topper. Staff professional and friendly. The restaurant offers local and sustainable fare which is better than expected for a hotel restaurant. The vegetable soup was incredible! The pool is small. Hotel is located on highway and has train tracks at its rear. The restaurant has is not open continuously through out day hours.
Bed was comfortable No drinking water in my room
We were enthralled with Lucille, the Inn Keeper, who was welcoming and friendly. We booked the Hollyhock since it was the only place that did not require a 2-night minimum AND didn't cost well-over ---/night. Very quiet. A bit dated, rickety entrance, but it works.
The home baked pastries No shower, bathroom detached
The owner was friendly, helpful and her home baked goods for breakfast were delicious There was not a shower only a hose from the bath tap
Lovely home. Made me feel safe and comfortable. Hotel employee bakes fresh pastries every morning. She will make your stay in Sonoma a memorable one with her authenticity, hospitality and overall comforting sense of home. Nothing