Book Avis car rentals at San Francisco Airport

San Francisco, CA - San Francisco
May 26 — Jun 2
Same drop-off
San Francisco, CA - San Francisco
Thu 5/26
Noon
Thu 6/2
Noon

Reviews

Overall Rating7.9 GoodBased on 111 reviews
Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
8.2
Overall
7.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.7
Value for money
7.6

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
16
11
5
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
Pros:The staff at the pickup was very friendly and helpful.Cons:I was unable to find the return location, tried calling and no answer. Ended up being late by 20 min and getting charged for a whole extra day. The drop off process was pretty bad.Reviewed Mar 18 2021
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Staff was greatCons:I tried to change my reservation via the phone, but was unable to reach anyone. I ended up just dropping the car off a full day early, but was charged the full amount.Reviewed Jul 28 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Jay from the Bay was awesome.Cons:Nothing! I got a hybrid and it was sweet. Put more of these into your fleet!Reviewed Dec 30 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:The car was old, the cost was high, and the check-in was the WORST!! They had five people standing around and it took me an hour to get a car!Reviewed Aug 11 2019
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:The two hour wait at pick up was RIDICULOUS. Avis has TERRIBLE customer service.Reviewed Jul 25 2019
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Poorly trained staff, tried to upsell insurance even though I’d already purchased some insurance on kayak site (agent told me that was worthless). At checkout they tried to charge me $660 for $330 quoted charge. Took a half hour to get “preferred customer” counter to reinstate quoted price.Cons:CHECK YOUR FINAL RECEIPT BEFORE LEAVING LOT. Poorly trained staff on front and back end (at SFO and PDX), rude manager, and worst of all they double-charged me when I brought the car back. Took half hour at “preferred customer” counter to get them to take double charge off and charge quoted priceReviewed Jul 22 2019
review fromkayak
7.2
Cons:SFO is an expensive airport to rent a one way vehicleReviewed Jul 21 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Cons:Clarity around terms “preferred”Reviewed Jun 15 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Good car to value ratioPros:Car was a good brand and good quality.Cons:nothing.Reviewed Dec 10 2018
review fromkayak
4.4
Cons:Upon arrival to SFO, we waited over an hour in line to check out. There were only 2 people available to assist customers and only 6 people ahead of us. For each party, it took between 10-15 minutes to finalize the reservation. The only questions I was asked were about insurance and gas. Otherwise, the person checking us out just typed on the computer for 10+ minutes. I will not use Avis again nor will I recommend it. I will use a company that just has a kiosk.Reviewed Nov 7 2018
review fromkayak
6.4
More expensive than anticipatedPros:Convenient pickup / dropoff, good vehicleCons:Far more expensive than I anticipated, with many fees and extra chargesReviewed Sep 4 2018
review fromkayak
6.8
Slow tellers and fast salesmenPros:The cars were clean and newCons:The line was so slow because the tellers at the airport for pick up or chitchatting with customers and taking up too much time. When I did find a tell her to help me he did do everything really fast but then upsell me on a fancier model car and didn’t explain the total cost at the end which caught me by surprise so I eventually the next day return the car that I didn’t needReviewed Aug 28 2018
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near San Francisco Airport

780 Mcdonnell Road, Avis car rentals

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Monday05:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

230 Harbor Way

Hours

Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Monday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 650 588 5585

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at San Francisco Airport for $141 or less
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis at San Francisco Airport are around 71% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at San Francisco Airport