Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport

Thu 5/23
Thu 5/30
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at Memphis Airport

Economy$51/day
Compact$51/day
Intermediate$51/day
Standard$51/day
Full-size$51/day
Premium$65/day
Intermediate SUV$60/day
Standard SUV$62/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

"Good and fast service."(in 1870 reviews)
"The was very friendly"(in 779 reviews)
"Nice clean, new "(in 1870 reviews)

Cons

"The wasn't there."(in 1799 reviews)
"Then, my smelled horribly like smoke."(in 1817 reviews)
"I was told they didn't have any ."(in 1799 reviews)
Overall Rating6.8 OkayBased on 38 reviews
Cleanliness
6.9
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.1
Value for money
7.3

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
6
3
1
2
0
0
7
8.0
I was somewhat disappointed that my rental was not automatically extended when there was a power outage at the rental location which delayed me getting the rental and on the road. Subsequently (once I realized this), I had to call Avis to request an extension to which I received clack from the agent, not exactly the customer I am accustomed to from Avis.Reviewed Apr 3 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
Easy to reserve and pick up was smooth and straightforward.Reviewed Dec 8 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience in memphis airport - it was as easy as handing over my DL and heading down the elevator to collect the car.Reviewed Oct 2 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Drop offCons:The car that I picked up in Memphis was filthy. It smelled and clearly hasn’t been cleaned, never mind sanitized and during a pandemic. I only noticed the extent of the dirty condition after my departure from the airport.Reviewed Apr 26 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:It was a very easy car rental. As soon as I walked up to the Avis rental agent she asked for my last name, took my I'd and credit card and I signed the agreement via the terminal and I was able to quickly leave. The car was very clean and very comfortable. It drove very well. Plus it was a nice looking car. Also the agent was very friendly.Cons:They switched the type of car I had agreed to when I made the reservation. At first it was a Galant but they changed it to an eclipse although I liked the eclipse better. It was a small SUV. Since I had a one way they said the Galant wasnt available for a one way rental. I was surprised they held an extra $150.00 on my credit card in addition to the rental price until I brought the car back on time which I did. I don't remember seeing the hold fee at the time the reservation was made. After I returned the car I remember hearing the agent say it would take several days for the hold fee to drop off. The vehicle had these very dark smudges around the back. It was dimly lit in the garage where I took possession of the car. So when I drove out I stopped and took a video of the car and photos. I did this to make sure I was protected and that they would not claim that I had committed any damage that was on the car before I took possession. It appeared that at some point someone had black duck tape around the back because I could see where large pieces of tape had been peeled off but this thick sticky residue remained. It didnt bother me because the car still drove fine but I sent a photo to Avis Facebook messenger with my confirmation number to let them see it. Regular washing would not take that off. Maybe a special type of chemical could remove it. The car had been washed but the tape residue was still there and very noticeable. Last, I picked up the car at the Memphis International Airport. I should have been informed that I go the 1st floor, instead of the 2nd floor, to process the rental because the 2nd floor is only for people with an Avis Preferred account. After the paperwork is processed on the 1st floor, I then had to go to the 3rd floor where the vehicles were kept to get the car.Reviewed Apr 13 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:ABSOLUTELY NOTHINGCons:Staff was rude and disrespectful... Car was reserved and when I proceeded upstairs to retrieve someone was loading their luggage in it. Charges were added to the change in reservation that were not added downstairs on the original.Reviewed Mar 16 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Ease of accessCons:Upon drop off there was no one around to explain what to do. Just made assumption we were to leave keys in car.Reviewed Dec 4 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:The pick up process at the counter was very slow. I waited at least 20 min. Or more.Cons:The vehicle was not well cleaned, but ok. I picked up a day earlier than on the reservation, so was just happy they could accommodate me.Reviewed Jun 17 2019
review fromkayak
2.4
Scam artistsPros:On pickup they tried charging me three different rates until I insisted on the rate I reserved. Then, my car smelled horribly like smoke. So I exchanged it for a different one. Apparently they never logged it out correctly bc they called me the next day and asked me for the info on the keys and asked which car I had. When I tried to attach my wizard number they told me I could but it would be a lot more expensive. So much for being a preffered member! After bringing my car back I was in a hurry and grabbed my receipt and ran. Later looking at the receipt they gave me somebody else’s receipt. Overall, employees who are out to scam you and who just don’t care at all. I would and will try someplace else in the future.Reviewed Aug 29 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Reservations only honored "if there are cars available"Pros:About the only thing I liked was that I was able to get a car. Four wheels and a seat.Cons:I cannot help feel that Avis took advantage of my family when we were in a vulnerable position. We needed to get to Little Rock as soon as we could to maximize time with my wife's grandfather, who has a terminal illness. In light of a mechanical issue that caused us to miss a connecting flight to Little Rock, it appeared that the best solution was to re-book our travel through Memphis, and rent a car to complete the next hundred or so miles of the journey. We were pleased to find that Avis allowed us to reserve a Toyota Corolla, or equivalent car, at a favorable rate. I did so, as we boarded our flight to Memphis. But when we arrived, and asked that Avis honor the reservation, I was informed that no cars were available other than a luxury car that would cost another $50+ per day. When I asked, l was told that a reservation is only good if there are cars available. This is of course inconsistent with every definition of reservation I have heard in my 36 years. I checked one of the other rental counters to see if they had options, and ultimately decided that I needed to quit wasting time and take the luxury option at Avis. We had a limited number of hours to spend with my wife's grandfather, and we had no choice. Upon returning to the counter, thinking I had misheard earlier, I asked another member of staff why the reservation was not honored, and was told again that the reservation is only good if there are cars available. Fortunately, I was then told that a Nissan Altima or Maxima had become available for not too much more than the Corolla I had reserved. I gladly took the Nissan and was happy not to pay the luxury sticker price. But I cannot help feel that I was forced to be upsold. Moreover, the car we ultimately received was musty with stale cigarette smoke, and had tires that, while perhaps not illegal to drive on, should have been replaced for winter driving. This has left me with a pretty sour taste in my mouth. Tell your friends, stay away from Avis unless you like making reservations for the joy of it, and not the benefits that reserving ordinarily conveys.Reviewed Mar 13 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible experience which stranded family with infant and toddler forPros:Nothing unfortunately.Cons:Flights were delayed so I successfully booked the reservation pickup for 1AM. When we arrived at 1:07AM, the desk was deserted. There was no warning at all about closing times when booking was made. Our luggage was lost so we had no car seat for a taxi. The MEM curbside between 1-3AM is a scary, uncomfortable place for a family with small children. We partially blame the booking process with a failure in warning at least.Reviewed Oct 17 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:When I picked out the car online it said there would be extra fees however it did not say what those fees were and how much they would be so when I had to actually pay for it upon arrival it was much more expensive and I was not prepared for it, if I would have known in advance I could have been preparedReviewed Aug 27 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Memphis Airport

Address

2491 Winchester Rd

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Tuesday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Wednesday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Thursday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30
Friday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 01:3006:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 01:30

Phone

+1 901 345 2847

Address

1264 E Shelby Drive

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 901 398 1167

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Memphis Airport

  • When you book Avis car rentals at Memphis International Airport (MEM), you'll be able to pick up a rental car at almost any time you want. Avis is located right inside Memphis International Airport at 2491 Winchester Rd., Memphis. It's open from 6 am through 1:30 am each day before closing down for a few hours and opening back up. You won't have to worry about waiting for an Avis rental car unless you plan to touch down at Memphis Airport in the middle of the night when the Avis desk is closed.
  • Those who book Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport (MEM) will be able to choose from any number of different options. You'll have to chance to drive off the Avis lot in full-size cars, premium cars, minivans, and even standard-size SUVs. But because Memphis is a large, sprawling city, fuel-friendly compact cars might be the best option of the bunch. You'll be able to make your way around town without having to worry about constantly filling up your rental car's gas tank. Compact cars also tend to be some of the most affordable Avis rental cars.
  • Avis isn't the only rental car company with a pickup location at Memphis Airport, so you'll need to make sure you know how to get to the Avis desk when you arrive. Once you get off your plane, you should head to the baggage claim area to get your luggage and then make your way down to Level 1 in the airport. From there, you can head over to the rental car facility where you'll find the main Avis counter. You can speak to a customer service representative here to get your hands on your Avis rental car. Avis also has another counter on Level 2 for Avis Preferred members.
  • Anyone who isn't familiar with Memphis might begin to get lost in the city almost as soon as they leave Memphis International Airport. In this case, you will want to take advantage of the fact that Avis can provide you with an optional GPS navigation system as an add-on. An add-on like this will help you work your way through Memphis without encountering any issues. Avis can also set you up with other add-ons, such as additional rental car drivers, car seats, and even extra car insurance.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Memphis Airport for $64 or less
  • Book your rental car at Memphis Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis at Memphis Airport are around 27% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Memphis Airport

  • Are there any Avis locations in Memphis outside of the one at the Memphis Airport?

    Some people would prefer to avoid the long lines that can sometimes build up at desks for car rental agencies in airports like Memphis International Airport (MEM). If you're one of them, there is another option in Memphis available to you. Avis has a rental car location a 1264 E Shelby Drive, which is only about 5 miles from Memphis Airport.

  • Is it worth signing up for the Avis Preferred customer loyalty program?

    When you book Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport, you'll get the chance to sign up for the Avis Preferred program. By doing this, you'll get access to reward points every time you rent a car from Avis. You can redeem these points for free add-ons, free rental cars, and other great rewards.

  • Can you cancel Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport without facing fees?

    If you book a car rental in Memphis Airport through Avis and need to cancel it, you can avoid cancellation fees by canceling a reservation as soon as possible. Avis will enable you to sidestep fees by canceling a reservation within 24 hours of when you planned to use it. If you wait any longer than this, you may be subjected to a processing fee.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at Memphis Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at Memphis Airport costs $65 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at Memphis Airport?

    Standard (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Memphis Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport?

    2491 Winchester Rd is the closest Avis rental location to Memphis Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 901 345 2847.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Memphis Airport (MEM)?

    Yes