Book Avis car rentals at Memphis Airport

Memphis, TN - Memphis
May 26 — Jun 2
Same drop-off
Memphis, TN - Memphis
Thu 5/26
Noon
Thu 6/2
Noon

Avis car rental prices at Memphis Airport

Avis
$31/dayEconomy
$33/dayCompact
$53/dayIntermediate
$56/dayStandard
$55/dayFull-size
$111/dayMinivan
$146/dayFull-size SUV
$73/dayPremium
$70/dayLuxury
$63/dayPremium SUV
$52/dayIntermediate SUV
$58/dayStandard SUV

Reviews

Overall Rating7.5 GoodBased on 63 reviews
Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.8
Overall
7.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.6
Value for money
7.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
11
6
5
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:Everything.Reviewed Jun 10 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Drop offCons:The car that I picked up in Memphis was filthy. It smelled and clearly hasn’t been cleaned, never mind sanitized and during a pandemic. I only noticed the extent of the dirty condition after my departure from the airport.Reviewed Apr 26 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:It was a very easy car rental. As soon as I walked up to the Avis rental agent she asked for my last name, took my I'd and credit card and I signed the agreement via the terminal and I was able to quickly leave. The car was very clean and very comfortable. It drove very well. Plus it was a nice looking car. Also the agent was very friendly.Cons:They switched the type of car I had agreed to when I made the reservation. At first it was a Galant but they changed it to an eclipse although I liked the eclipse better. It was a small SUV. Since I had a one way they said the Galant wasnt available for a one way rental. I was surprised they held an extra $150.00 on my credit card in addition to the rental price until I brought the car back on time which I did. I don't remember seeing the hold fee at the time the reservation was made. After I returned the car I remember hearing the agent say it would take several days for the hold fee to drop off. The vehicle had these very dark smudges around the back. It was dimly lit in the garage where I took possession of the car. So when I drove out I stopped and took a video of the car and photos. I did this to make sure I was protected and that they would not claim that I had committed any damage that was on the car before I took possession. It appeared that at some point someone had black duck tape around the back because I could see where large pieces of tape had been peeled off but this thick sticky residue remained. It didnt bother me because the car still drove fine but I sent a photo to Avis Facebook messenger with my confirmation number to let them see it. Regular washing would not take that off. Maybe a special type of chemical could remove it. The car had been washed but the tape residue was still there and very noticeable. Last, I picked up the car at the Memphis International Airport. I should have been informed that I go the 1st floor, instead of the 2nd floor, to process the rental because the 2nd floor is only for people with an Avis Preferred account. After the paperwork is processed on the 1st floor, I then had to go to the 3rd floor where the vehicles were kept to get the car.Reviewed Apr 13 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:ABSOLUTELY NOTHINGCons:Staff was rude and disrespectful... Car was reserved and when I proceeded upstairs to retrieve someone was loading their luggage in it. Charges were added to the change in reservation that were not added downstairs on the original.Reviewed Mar 16 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Ease of accessCons:Upon drop off there was no one around to explain what to do. Just made assumption we were to leave keys in car.Reviewed Dec 4 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:The pick up process at the counter was very slow. I waited at least 20 min. Or more.Cons:The vehicle was not well cleaned, but ok. I picked up a day earlier than on the reservation, so was just happy they could accommodate me.Reviewed Jun 17 2019
review fromkayak
2.4
Scam artistsPros:On pickup they tried charging me three different rates until I insisted on the rate I reserved. Then, my car smelled horribly like smoke. So I exchanged it for a different one. Apparently they never logged it out correctly bc they called me the next day and asked me for the info on the keys and asked which car I had. When I tried to attach my wizard number they told me I could but it would be a lot more expensive. So much for being a preffered member! After bringing my car back I was in a hurry and grabbed my receipt and ran. Later looking at the receipt they gave me somebody else’s receipt. Overall, employees who are out to scam you and who just don’t care at all. I would and will try someplace else in the future.Reviewed Aug 29 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Reservations only honored "if there are cars available"Pros:About the only thing I liked was that I was able to get a car. Four wheels and a seat.Cons:I cannot help feel that Avis took advantage of my family when we were in a vulnerable position. We needed to get to Little Rock as soon as we could to maximize time with my wife's grandfather, who has a terminal illness. In light of a mechanical issue that caused us to miss a connecting flight to Little Rock, it appeared that the best solution was to re-book our travel through Memphis, and rent a car to complete the next hundred or so miles of the journey. We were pleased to find that Avis allowed us to reserve a Toyota Corolla, or equivalent car, at a favorable rate. I did so, as we boarded our flight to Memphis. But when we arrived, and asked that Avis honor the reservation, I was informed that no cars were available other than a luxury car that would cost another $50+ per day. When I asked, l was told that a reservation is only good if there are cars available. This is of course inconsistent with every definition of reservation I have heard in my 36 years. I checked one of the other rental counters to see if they had options, and ultimately decided that I needed to quit wasting time and take the luxury option at Avis. We had a limited number of hours to spend with my wife's grandfather, and we had no choice. Upon returning to the counter, thinking I had misheard earlier, I asked another member of staff why the reservation was not honored, and was told again that the reservation is only good if there are cars available. Fortunately, I was then told that a Nissan Altima or Maxima had become available for not too much more than the Corolla I had reserved. I gladly took the Nissan and was happy not to pay the luxury sticker price. But I cannot help feel that I was forced to be upsold. Moreover, the car we ultimately received was musty with stale cigarette smoke, and had tires that, while perhaps not illegal to drive on, should have been replaced for winter driving. This has left me with a pretty sour taste in my mouth. Tell your friends, stay away from Avis unless you like making reservations for the joy of it, and not the benefits that reserving ordinarily conveys.Reviewed Mar 13 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Terrible experience which stranded family with infant and toddler forPros:Nothing unfortunately.Cons:Flights were delayed so I successfully booked the reservation pickup for 1AM. When we arrived at 1:07AM, the desk was deserted. There was no warning at all about closing times when booking was made. Our luggage was lost so we had no car seat for a taxi. The MEM curbside between 1-3AM is a scary, uncomfortable place for a family with small children. We partially blame the booking process with a failure in warning at least.Reviewed Oct 17 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:When I picked out the car online it said there would be extra fees however it did not say what those fees were and how much they would be so when I had to actually pay for it upon arrival it was much more expensive and I was not prepared for it, if I would have known in advance I could have been preparedReviewed Aug 27 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Not courteous at the pick up location And charged me full tank of gaPros:Car was cleanCons:Charge me for a full gas of tank without discussing with meReviewed Jul 30 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Cons:Drop off was very long took 35 minutesReviewed Jun 30 2017
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Memphis Airport

2491 Winchester Rd, Avis car rentals

Address

2491 Winchester Rd

Hours

Friday07:00 - 23:00
Sunday07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday07:00 - 23:00
Saturday07:00 - 23:00
Thursday07:00 - 23:00
Monday07:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 901 345 2847

Address

1264 E Shelby Drive

Hours

Friday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Monday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 901 398 1167

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Memphis Airport

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Memphis Airport for $99 or less
  • Book your rental car at Memphis Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Mini rental cars from Avis at Memphis Airport are around -126% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Memphis Airport