Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at Newark Airport

Thu 6/20
Thu 6/27
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at Newark Airport

Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

" was great !"(in 779 reviews)
"Second was ok"(in 1870 reviews)
"The and nice"(in 1902 reviews)

Cons

"I felt as though I paid a considerable amount for a rental."(in 173 reviews)
"The expense for a 1 rental was high."(in 173 reviews)
Overall Rating7.0 GoodBased on 130 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.7
Overall
7.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.2
Value for money
6.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
19
12
2
9
1
0
16
2.0
Rude and unprofessional agent. Charged 60% more than quoted - never againReviewed Feb 27 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
The tires on the car were very old and not winter tires. I had terrible experience and very hard time driving through the snowy weather. The car itself was very old and over used. My experience was very poorReviewed Jan 8 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
Really long lines to get the vehicle in Newark. Not a great selection.Reviewed Sep 24 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Lines and wait were long even though prechecked. Vending machines very expensive and didn’t work.Reviewed Sep 14 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
My agreement was for $405.53, my receipt said $405.53 but my credit card was charged 605.53. This is unacceptable, what is that extra $200? There is no accounting for it in the receipt, I didn't check my credit card charge prior to checking out but instead used my printed receipt to check the charge. The charge hasn't officially cleared yet but I am concerned that this was a bait and switch by Avis.Reviewed Oct 10 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Outside of the car was not cleaned at all. Makes it difficult to check for dents and nicks.Cons:clear the exterior of the carReviewed May 25 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Like the Nissan RougeCons:The inside windshield was covered with a residue film as if cleaned seemed to have been cleaned with a lysol wipe or something resulting in dangerous visibility; which became noticeable once out into traffic and nighttime headlights. Desperately trying to clean it with my sleeve, I missed the exit resulting in an unwanted late night tour through Newark. The agent at Newark was pleasant enough, though I had no instructions concerning dropbox drop off resulting in two trips of considerable distance from the rental lot at ABE at 11 PM. I’m sure there’s small print somewhere, but the price went from $81 to ringing up to $250, which the agent explained was $100 holding fee, hopefully refundable for my two hour rentsl.Reviewed Apr 15 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was great !!Cons:first car smelled like smoke and they quickly switched to another (upgrade)Reviewed Sep 8 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was very friendly and drop off was incredibly easy.Cons:I wish the rate was a little bit more efficient. I felt as though I paid a considerable amount for a one day rental.Reviewed Jul 23 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Left my iPad in the car and called back a couple of hours later to be told “it could not be found”. Dishonest staffReviewed Jul 6 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The pick up and drop off experience was great. I also called Avis to extend my reservation and received the information I needed to make an informed decision.Cons:The car was not as clean as I expected - there was obvious food and debris on the seats. There was also a faint smell of smoke. Given the pandemic I would have expected cleaning procedures would have been increased.Reviewed Jul 5 2020
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:First car offered to me displayed a "service required' notice on the dashboard. Second car was ok.Reviewed May 21 2020
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Newark Airport

Address

132 Carson Road 3rd Floor

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 973 961 4300

Address

2419 E Edgar Rd Rte 1

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 908 925 1700

Address

180 East 22nd Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday07:30 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 17:00
Friday07:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 201 285 1710

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Newark Airport

  • Something that makes Avis car rentals at Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR) stand out is its opening hours. Unlike other car rental agencies at this airport, Avis is open 24/7. On the other hand, other car rental centers frequently close after 11 pm. At this Avis location, you don’t have to worry about returning the vehicle after hours or about rushing to the airport so you don’t lose your reservation.
  • Avis car rentals at Newark Airport (EWR) offers extended rentals at discounted rates for drivers who can commit to a minimum of 15 days. This program is called Avis Flex, and it includes unlimited mileage and the opportunity to swap vehicles if you desire. While this program is most popular with college students, it's also a good choice for travelers on a long vacation, and people who want to try out a new car type without buying it.
  • Although Avis car rentals at Newark Airport does not offer hybrid cars, customers can choose from a wide selection of fully electric vehicles, including luxury vehicles, compact cars, intermediate SUVs, and sedans. If you’re traveling on a budget, consider booking the Supplier Choice Electric Vehicle. This option allows the Avis staff to choose the make and model of the electric vehicle for you. It’s a good choice for drivers who don’t have specific electric vehicle needs.
  • If you’re planning to drive into New York City, we recommend reserving a compact car to make parking easier. Avis car rentals at Newark Airport has a larger selection of compact cars than other Avis locations due to the demand. Another bonus of renting a compact car is increased fuel efficiency. Gas is usually more expensive in New York City than in the surrounding areas, so it’s a good idea to rent a vehicle with good gas mileage.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Newark Airport for $73 or less
  • Book your rental car at Newark Airport from Avis at least 1 week before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Standard rental cars from Avis at Newark Airport are around 13% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Newark Airport

  • What add-ons are available for my car at Avis car rentals at Newark Liberty International Airport?

    Avis car rentals at Newark Airport offers a variety of add-ons that you can pick at the airport rental center or during the KAYAK booking process. You can choose from three tiers of protection add-ons: Basic Protection, Standard Protection, and Complete Protection. In addition, you can add on an insurance plan that covers your personal belongings while you travel. Other popular add-ons include satellite radio, GPS navigation, mobile Wi-Fi, an additional driver, a one-way return, a toll transponder, and refueling plans. You can also add a child’s safety seat for an additional fee.

  • Are the lines long at Avis car rentals at Newark Airport?

    Newark Airport is a major transportation hub for the East Coast, and rental cars are understandably in high demand, especially during the holidays or times when many flights are canceled. The lines at the Avis location are longer than the ones at smaller airports, but the Avis staff do their best to get you on the road quickly. Friday evening is generally a busy time at this location, so we recommend planning your trip accordingly.

  • Which car should I rent at Avis car rentals at Newark Airport if I’m traveling with my family?

    First, it depends on how many people are in your family group. If there are 4 people, including the driver, we recommend booking a sedan. This type of vehicle can comfortably seat 2 people in the back and has room for luggage in the trunk. However, if your party includes 5 people, consider booking a standard SUV or intermediate SUV, which has a roomy interior. For those who need 7 seats, a full-size SUV or a minivan are the best choices, but keep in mind that the full-size SUV has more room for bags.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at Newark Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at Newark Airport costs $79 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at Newark Airport?

    Full-size (Ford Transit or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Newark Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at Newark Airport?

    132 Carson Road 3rd Floor is the closest Avis rental location to Newark Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 973 961 4300.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Newark Airport (EWR)?

    Yes