Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at San Diego Airport

Mon 6/24
Mon 7/1
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at San Diego Airport

Economy$62/day
Intermediate$56/day
Full-size SUV$113/day
Premium$78/day
Luxury$81/day
Pickup truck$59/day
Premium SUV$100/day
Coupe$61/day
Intermediate SUV$67/day
Supplier choice sedan$67/day
Open air all terrain$77/day
Luxury SUV$80/day
Standard SUV$81/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

"Nice ."(in 1902 reviews)
" was in perfect condition."(in 1870 reviews)
" off in Santa Barbara."(in 882 reviews)

Cons

"Extremely bad ."(in 163 reviews)
"Not double booking the "(in 1817 reviews)
"The at pick up was terrible."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating7.1 GoodBased on 108 reviews
Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
8.1
Overall
7.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.3
Value for money
7.0

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
16
3
0
7
0
0
17
10.0
WonderfulReviewed Feb 26 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
There was a problem with my reservation dates when I arrived to pickup my vehicle. The representative behind the counter assured me that they fixed my issue and I left with my vehicle. I wasn’t give a physical copy of my contract. When I dropped of my vehicle I was told that my vehicle was late and that I brought it back with less fuel than when I left. I know this isn’t true because I photographed my fuel level when I received my vehicle. I spoke with 2 representatives on the phone and one at the return counter and they all basically told me that there wasn’t anything they could do. Finally, I was told that Avis would adjust my fees. This has yet to be done. I will not being using Avis car rentals in the future.Reviewed Jan 25 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Poor Brakes Stuttering CarReviewed Jan 10 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
The San Diego airport location was perfect. Easy access and simple to pick up and return. Excellent!Reviewed Jan 4 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Went to pick up car. Did the “company choice” for car. Lady said I couldn’t use that as only thing available was electric. I told her that was fine and she insisted on getting me another car. Ended up costing me $186 for a ONE DAY RENTAL of a Altima when it was supposed to be $50. Never using them again.Reviewed Dec 18 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Sirprisingly efficient checkin. Very helpful.Reviewed Nov 29 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Got slid at pick up. Customer service is useless. Won’t fix the problem.Reviewed Nov 20 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
Got the booking confirmation from Kayak and went to the AVIS desk and the first lady said they were out of convertibles and she can't give me that car. I then had to ask my wife to go to another teller, who I subsequently approached who was super helpful and gave us the car, so it was in the inventory! Then came the car. It was washed with brown spots all over. The car had a used lipstick, caramel sauce on the AC knobs and chips packets at the back. It drove well thoughReviewed Oct 4 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy process & a reasonable price.Reviewed Sep 24 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Charged for gas but tank was full. Attendant did not want the gas receipt I offered at drop off and said “I don’t need it” when I tried to give it to him. Charged over $100 for gas. Avis has not returned emails.Reviewed Jun 15 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The staff was friendlyCons:I’m a US born citizen, living overseas (military), and needed to use my military USAREUR license as well as my international drivers license as my US was stolen (stolen wallet). I called ahead of time to ensure I would be able to make a reservation and was told by customer service that I would. I booked my rental via prepay. When I arrived to the rental office, however, I was told that because I used my international license that I would have to do a second deposit of $250 but it would have to be via credit card. I was not told this beforehand, so I didn’t bring a credit card with me. The agent told me I could call the customer service hotline and get a refund do to the situation. However, I called and was told “well our policy is you need an additional credit card, so you will not be refunded, is there anything else I can do for you”. Now, I’m out $171 because of missing information and being told I could get my money back when apparently I can’t.Reviewed May 24 2021
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Staff at San Diego was helpful - the gentleman offered me an upgrade and when I hesitated he lessened the fee. However, surprisingly, when I received the invoice, he had not lessened the fee. Therefore the billing at head office and the contracted rental agreement did not match. The Van Nuys drop off was a disaster - the guy was not present, he finally returned my v/m after I waited more than 20 minutes, told me to leave the keys with another company and I was charged another full day although the vehicle was returned on time. I only found out about the extra charges because of my credit card statement.Cons:1. The San Diego office staff intentionally or accidentally provided 2 different billing amounts which is deceitful or incompetent. 2. Van Nuys guy was not even present at the building. He intentionally or arbitrarily added an extra amount. Extremely bad customer service.Reviewed Feb 3 2020
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near San Diego Airport

Address

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 688 5000

Address

2790 Kurtz Street Suite 1

Hours

Monday07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday07:00 - 16:00
Thursday07:00 - 16:00
Friday07:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00
Sunday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 619 220 4920

Address

1670 Kettner Boulevard Suite 1

Hours

Monday08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 14:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00
Sunday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 619 231 7137

Address

1350 6th Ave Suite #170

Hours

Monday08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 14:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 619 544 0438

Address

500 Hotel Circle North

Hours

Monday08:00 - 14:00
Tuesday08:00 - 14:00
Wednesday08:00 - 14:00
Thursday08:00 - 14:00
Friday08:00 - 14:00
Saturday08:00 - 14:00
Sunday08:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 619 574 5377

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at San Diego Airport

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at San Diego Airport for $63 or less
  • Book your rental car at San Diego Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy rental cars from Avis at San Diego Airport are around 42% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at San Diego Airport

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at San Diego Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at San Diego Airport costs $55 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at San Diego Airport?

    Premium (Chevrolet Suburban or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at San Diego Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at San Diego Airport?

    3355 Admiral Boland Way is the closest Avis rental location to San Diego Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 619 688 5000.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from San Diego Airport (SAN)?

    Yes