Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in San Diego

Thu 7/25
Thu 8/1
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 37%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in San Diego

Kia Rio car
Kia Rio
or similar SMALL
2
2
2/4
$32/day
Kia Soul car
Kia Soul
or similar SMALL
4
2
2/4
$27/day
Toyota Corolla car
Toyota Corolla
or similar MEDIUM
5
3
2/4
$27/day
Volkswagen Jetta car
Volkswagen Jetta
or similar MEDIUM
5
3
2/4
$39/day
Toyota Camry car
Toyota Camry
or similar LARGE
5
2
2/4
$39/day
Jeep Wrangler car
Jeep Wrangler
or similar SUV
2
2
4-5
$52/day
Chrysler Pacifica car
Chrysler Pacifica
or similar VAN
5
5
4-5
$60/day
RAM Pickup car
RAM Pickup
or similar PICKUPTRUCK
5
5
2/4
$31/day
Class Special Car car
Class Special Car
or similar Category
5
5
2/4
$31/day
Dodge Challenger car
Dodge Challenger
or similar LUXURY
5
2
2-3
$43/day
Ford Escape car
Ford Escape
or similar SUV
5
3
4-5
$46/day
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited car
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
or similar SUV
5
2
2/4
$49/day
Ford Edge car
Ford Edge
or similar SUV
5
3
4-5
$49/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in San Diego

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating6.4 OkayBased on 257 reviews
Cleanliness
7.2
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
36
7
2
10
0
0
56
4.0
Was told the vehicle wasn’t ready. He wanted to swap a Ram for a Tacoma, Told the I didn’t mind waiting I need the larger truck. They didn’t clean anything. Sail it had a full tank of fuel, but it’s only shipping a1/2 tank.Reviewed Jun 30 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
The pick up was quick and easy. Rented from avis ontario weekend prior had the worst experience waiting in line over an hr.. and then they couldn't find reservation and it was prepaid.. san diego was quick n easy. Love it.. will use againReviewed Jun 23 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I took an uber to get to the CBX location. The guy at the desk brought up my reservation/confirmation code and said "We don't have a car for you because the reservation wasn't made more than 72 hours in advance." He also added that 'they almost never even have those kind of cars' (EV) and then just went back to looking at his computer. I asked what other options I had and he said none, they had no other cars and he again went back to what he was doing, completely ignoring me. I had to uber ($50+) to the downtown airport to get a car at a different agency/price because no-one at CBX had a car. I was warned by the SAN location and by the first uber driver that this was a franchise and that they often didn't have cars they said they had. Never ever again, because you are really stuck out there with no options, and it's a long way from anywhere. There was no notice that the reservation would not be valid because it hadn't been made more than three days before the pickup time, in fact it was quite the opposite. The Kayak email subject was "It’s official: you got a ride for San Diego" The body of the text said: You’ve secured your car for San Diego. Jun 8 - Jun 16 Let’s cruise, your trip is good to go. We saved your rental car info to our Trips tab to help you stay organized while you plan. Here are the details - you’re one step closer to your destination. (and then it showed all of the details of the reservation). Of course that led me to believe I was good to go :( Instead, it was hours on the phone as well as an expensive uber ride and a far more expensive on-the-spot car rental at SAN. Good help is hard to find, and the guy at AVIS/CBX was not good help at all with his 'you should have known better/dismissive' attitude.Reviewed Jun 20 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
I rented the car for three days, but then wanted to extend the contract for a one way trip out of area. They doubled the price...Reviewed Apr 9 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
WonderfulReviewed Feb 26 2024
review fromkayak
6.0
It was the fastest I was in and out of a rental office. The individual working at the drop off in Palm Springs was really nice. I can't tell you how disappointed I was that the type of car I reserved was not there since I made the reservation ahead of time.Reviewed Jan 29 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
There was a problem with my reservation dates when I arrived to pickup my vehicle. The representative behind the counter assured me that they fixed my issue and I left with my vehicle. I wasn’t give a physical copy of my contract. When I dropped of my vehicle I was told that my vehicle was late and that I brought it back with less fuel than when I left. I know this isn’t true because I photographed my fuel level when I received my vehicle. I spoke with 2 representatives on the phone and one at the return counter and they all basically told me that there wasn’t anything they could do. Finally, I was told that Avis would adjust my fees. This has yet to be done. I will not being using Avis car rentals in the future.Reviewed Jan 25 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I’ve been overcharged by hundreds of dollars and yet to see confirmation of a refundReviewed Jan 15 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Poor Brakes Stuttering CarReviewed Jan 10 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
The San Diego airport location was perfect. Easy access and simple to pick up and return. Excellent!Reviewed Jan 4 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I booked something $103 and ended up paying $355Reviewed Jan 3 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Went to pick up car. Did the “company choice” for car. Lady said I couldn’t use that as only thing available was electric. I told her that was fine and she insisted on getting me another car. Ended up costing me $186 for a ONE DAY RENTAL of a Altima when it was supposed to be $50. Never using them again.Reviewed Dec 18 2023
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in San Diego?

Address

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 454 4621

Address

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 688 5000

Address

4550 La Jolla Village Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 450 6553

Address

500 Hotel Circle North

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 574 5377

Address

1670 Kettner Boulevard Suite 1

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 231 7137

Address

3890 Valley Centre Dr Ste 103

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 755 0400

Address

7815 Balboa Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 974 8630

Address

1350 6th Ave Suite #170

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 619 544 0438

Address

Cross Border Xpress - 2745 Otay Pacific Dr

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:00 - 23:59
Wednesday06:00 - 23:59
Thursday06:00 - 23:59
Friday06:00 - 23:59
Saturday06:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 588 1309

Address

2790 Kurtz Street Suite 1

Hours

Monday07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday07:00 - 16:00
Thursday07:00 - 16:00
Friday07:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 220 4920

Address

8720 Miramar Road

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 271 0018

Good to know

Most popular location

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

$67/day

Good deal

$49/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in San Diego

  • When you book Avis car rentals in San Diego, there are quite a few different vehicle models that will work well in the location. For instance, you can always select a convertible, which is a nice option as it will allow you to enjoy all of the sunshine and good weather that San Diego is known for having. If you will be spending your stay in the area going to the beach, or enjoying an activity like hiking or biking, an SUV will make sense, as it will provide you with the room that you need in order to safely store all of your belongings and items.
  • If you choose to book Avis car rentals in San Diego, you may be interested in adding the company’s Extended Roadside Assistance service to your reservation. This service will help to give you peace of mind, as you can rest assured that you are covered for almost anything that will come your way. Some of the benefits that are included in this service are a lockout service, flat tire assistance, jump start, and fuel delivery if you wind up running out of gas.
  • Those that book Avis car rentals in San Diego can benefit from a variety of different amenities. If you choose to pre-pay for your reservation, for example, you will be able to receive a discount. You can also choose from a selection of different fuel plans, which include paying in advance for a full tank of gas. If applicable to your specific situation, you can also choose to have a long-term rental.
  • Because of San Diego’s close proximity to the border, it’s important to note that Avis allows customers to drive their rental vehicles to Mexico, as long as they ultimately return the car to the United States. Make sure to notify Avis if you plan on doing this, as you will likely need to sign some extra paperwork or pay for additional coverage.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in San Diego for $49 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in San Diego at least 7 days before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in San Diego are around 73% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in San Diego

  • Where are the best pick-up locations for ​Avis car rentals in San Diego?

    There are several different pick-up locations for ​Avis car rentals in San Diego that are particularly convenient. For example, there is the branch that is located on Torrey Pines Road, which is popular due to its convenient location. There is also a branch that can be found on La Jolla Village Drive, which is a nice option for anyone that will be staying in this neighborhood. You can also go to the branch that is on Balboa Avenue.

  • Can I pick my own Avis car rentals in San Diego or will I be assigned a vehicle by the company?

    As soon as you begin the process of making your reservation with Avis, you will be given the opportunity to select which type of car you would like to rent. Avis will do its best to give you the car that you have requested, but whether you receive it or not will depend on what vehicles are available in the fleet at the time. If you do not receive the specific car you have asked for, you will receive one that is similar.

  • Can Avis car rentals in San Diego be delivered directly to me?

    Avis offers a Curbside Delivery option for an additional fee. With this service, you can have your rental vehicle delivered directly to whatever address you choose, including a hotel, a personal residence, or an office building. If it will be complicated for you to travel directly to a branch in order to pick up your vehicle, this can be a convenient solution that will help to save you time. 

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in San Diego?

    On average a rental car from Avis in San Diego costs $67 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in San Diego?

    Compact (Jeep Compass or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in San Diego.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in San Diego?

    Avis has 11 rental locations in San Diego. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: San Diego airport (SAN)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from San Diego airport (SAN)?

    Yes