Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals at Tampa Airport

Thu 7/25
Thu 8/1
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 37%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices at Tampa Airport

Toyota Prius car
Toyota Prius
or similar MEDIUM
5
3
2/4
$57/day
Toyota Camry car
Toyota Camry
or similar LARGE
5
2
2/4
$46/day
Chrysler Town & Country car
Chrysler Town & Country
or similar VAN
5
5
4-5
$70/day
Chevrolet Tahoe car
Chevrolet Tahoe
or similar SUV
5
2
4-5
$70/day
Cadillac XT6 car
Cadillac XT6
or similar LARGE
5
5
2/4
$82/day
Lincoln MKZ car
Lincoln MKZ
or similar LUXURY
5
5
4-5
$64/day
Ford Mustang Convertible car
Ford Mustang Convertible
or similar CONVERTIBLE
5
3
2/4
$67/day
RAM Pickup car
RAM Pickup
or similar PICKUPTRUCK
5
5
2/4
$62/day
Ford Edge car
Ford Edge
or similar SUV
5
3
4-5
$53/day
Toyota RAV4 car
Toyota RAV4
or similar SUV
5
3
4-5
$53/day
Dodge Challenger car
Dodge Challenger
or similar LUXURY
5
2
2-3
$80/day
Lexus RX car
Lexus RX
or similar SUV
5
5
4-5
$83/day
Class Special Sedan car
Class Special Sedan
or similar MEDIUM
5
5
2/4
$84/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews

Pros

"The , but not fully cleared."(in 1902 reviews)
"Good price, ,."(in 1902 reviews)
"The staff was nice, the was good."(in 1870 reviews)

Cons

"Waited in line about 90mins to ."(in 1817 reviews)
"The was old and very dirty inside."(in 1817 reviews)
"The hours of operation for that were not made clear when I booked."(in 287 reviews)
Overall Rating5.9 FairBased on 56 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.3
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
5
3
0
2
0
0
17
2.0
I tried 4 different cars because each car had an issue. Two cars reeked of smoke, one had a smashed in back fender, and the last had sand and trash all over the floor board including 11 used water and soda bottles strewn around the interior of the car. The Avis agents were accommodating in switching cars but it was a terrible experience having to walk back and forth to the counter and car each time. It took over an hour to finally get into a car. They also didn’t escalate to a manager until I asked for one when we pulled the car up to show them all of the trash. The manager was very friendly and helpful. He apologized for the trouble. The return was challenging as well. The signage was poorly done. I parked in one of the designated return spots and followed signs up 8 flights of stairs to the rooftop to find that I had been misdirected. I walked back downstairs and ultimately found the return desk on the ground floor. The agent asked me where I parked and told me I had to move the car the rooftop. I told her the signs directed me to park in the designated spots side the garage which were clearly marked as Avis return spots but she insisted I move and that the car was now late. She said the signs were wrong and need to be removed. When I expressed displeasure with the poor signage and waste of time the agent told me I could call customer service. I had to go back upstairs and drive the car all the way to the top of the garage. The process was inefficient and frustrating.Reviewed May 24 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy pickup in Tampa with drop off in SarasotaReviewed Apr 25 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Took 3 hours standing in a lineup and I have no idea where all the extra costs came from that are not explained when booking beforehand. Hopefully will never have to rent a car again.Reviewed Mar 19 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Agent at airport counter was hard to understand and seemed like she could care less. Disagreed with me when i said we had rented a midsize SUV and replied there is no such thing. Had my printed confirmation and she would not even look at it and said "compact is your reservation". We also said no to a prefill but found out later at another Avis we had prefill. WE told her no and when the questions popped up she repeatedly said just press agree it doesn't mean you will be charged. The SUV had 82,000 miles on it and after 3 days we experienced the battery not wanting to start. Very slow to turn over. We called the AVIS is Bradenton and they were very courteous and nice and we took the car in for an exchange, They actually were the ones that said we did have prefill.Reviewed Mar 12 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
car had a leaky tire due to no air cap. called to assistance line with avis, and they said to swap the car. i did that and now i have a bill for a tire damage. This is unfair, the car we were given had no air cap, no one advised us of additional fees and this was totally not our fault. Horrible experience, will never rent with Avis again.Reviewed Mar 9 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
many hidden fees plus an insane charge for gas which unfortunately I had to pay because I was late to the airport due to traffic and couldn't refuel. I won't be using Avis ever againReviewed Nov 26 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible check in .long wait / system not working properly will not use againReviewed Oct 17 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
First reservation never happened, could have been a Kayak issue, but showed up and had no car. Had to book another car. After turning in the car, I have not been invoiced and I am having to chase Avis to "Close out the rental"Reviewed Oct 16 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Yes, but charged 150 extra for additional 2.5 hours. I was stuck in traffic..Cons:Never rent from Budget.Reviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendly staff at drop off and pick upCons:The car had dents in it that no one discussed and I was afraid I would be blamed.Reviewed Apr 18 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Waited on line too too longReviewed Mar 20 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Easy to reserve and pickupCons:There was no damage declaration form and I was concerned because the car had a moderately large sized dent on the front pillar over the driver door when we picked it up. There were no false charges or anything, just made me a little worried.Reviewed Nov 3 2020
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Tampa Airport

Address

5409 Airport Service Rd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 813 396 3500

Address

6903 North Dale Mabry Highway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 813 933 5606

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Tampa Airport

  • Avis makes it so easy for travelers to pick up rental cars at Tampa International Airport (TPA). When you book Avis car rentals at Tampa Airport (TPA), you'll be able to retrieve your vehicle from the agency's conveniently located counter right at 5409 Airport Service Rd. Additionally, you'll be able to get this rental car at any time of the day or night since the counter is open 24/7. There is also another Avis location at 6903 North Dale Mabry Highway, open from 8 am to 6 pm each day, if you would like to use an Avis location outside of TPA.
  • About one-third of Tampa's 175 square miles is covered by water. Still, the land in Tampa stretches out over more than 100 square miles, which can make it costly to get around in the city if you choose a rental car from Avis that guzzles a lot of gas. For this reason, you should give thought to renting a compact car or SUV that will get great gas mileage. You'll also have options like premium SUVs, minivans, and passenger vans just in case you'll be traveling with a large group.
  • If you're used to traveling to Tampa for business or pleasure, you might already know how to get around in the city. In this case, you won't need to worry too much about finding your way from one place to the next. But if you're making your very first trip to Tampa, it'll be a much better idea to consider getting your hands on a GPS navigation system with your Avis rental car. For a small fee, Avis will see to it that your rental car comes equipped with a GPS navigation system that will keep you on the right track throughout your Tampa adventures.
  • Before you book Avis car rentals at Tampa Airport, it would be well worth signing up for the Avis Preferred program. As a member of this program, you'll be able to skip the pick-up and drop-off lines at most Avis locations. You'll also be able to earn points when you rent cars through Avis that you can use to obtain discounts on rental car accessories and even free rental cars in the not-too-distant future. You'll be pleasantly surprised to see all the benefits that will come along with being a part of the Avis Preferred program.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Tampa Airport for $47 or less
  • Book your rental car at Tampa Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact rental cars from Avis at Tampa Airport are around 55% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Tampa Airport

  • Will I be subjected to cancellation fees if I have to cancel an Avis rental car reservation?

    When people book Avis car rentals at Tampa Airport (TPA), they should always choose to pay for them later as opposed to prepaying. When you do this, you'll reserve the right to cancel an Avis rental car reservation without being forced to pay cancellation fees. You might have to foot the bills for these fees if you prepay for an Avis rental car and then decide to cancel it.

  • How can I cover toll fees when driving around in an Avis rental car?

    Some toll roads travel through and even just near the Tampa area. If you suspect you might end up on any of them, you should look into enrolling in the Avis E-Toll program. This optional add-on for your rental car will cover the cost of tolls for a small fee so that you don't have to stop at every toll booth you encounter to pay for tolls with cash.

  • Can I keep an Avis rental car for as long as I want?

    Avis can provide you with both short-term and long-term car rentals when you're in Tampa. Just let an Avis customer service representative know how long you'll need a rental car, and they will be able to accommodate your request accordingly. Most Avis rental cars will be available for as long as you need them.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis at Tampa Airport?

    On average a rental car from Avis at Tampa Airport costs $38 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis at Tampa Airport?

    Intermediate (Toyota RAV4 or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Tampa Airport.

  • Where can I find Avis car rentals at Tampa Airport?

    5409 Airport Service Rd is the closest Avis rental location to Tampa Airport. The telephone number for this location is +1 813 396 3500.

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Tampa Airport (TPA)?

    Yes