Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in Tampa

Wed 7/31
Wed 8/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 37%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Tampa

Kia Rio car
Kia Rio
or similar SMALL
2
2
2/4
$30/day
Kia Soul car
Kia Soul
or similar SMALL
4
2
2/4
$30/day
Toyota Corolla car
Toyota Corolla
or similar MEDIUM
5
3
2/4
$31/day
Volkswagen Jetta car
Volkswagen Jetta
or similar MEDIUM
5
3
2/4
$34/day
Toyota Camry car
Toyota Camry
or similar LARGE
5
2
2/4
$31/day
Chrysler Pacifica car
Chrysler Pacifica
or similar VAN
5
5
4-5
$53/day
Chevrolet Tahoe car
Chevrolet Tahoe
or similar SUV
5
2
4-5
$59/day
Volkswagen Passat car
Volkswagen Passat
or similar LARGE
5
5
2/4
$36/day
Chrysler 300 car
Chrysler 300
or similar LUXURY
5
5
2/4
$46/day
Ford Mustang Convertible car
Ford Mustang Convertible
or similar CONVERTIBLE
5
3
2/4
$52/day
Toyota Tacoma car
Toyota Tacoma
or similar PICKUPTRUCK
5
3
2/4
$39/day
Toyota RAV4 car
Toyota RAV4
or similar SUV
5
3
4-5
$39/day
Ford Edge car
Ford Edge
or similar SUV
5
3
4-5
$40/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Tampa

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating5.6 FairBased on 104 reviews
Cleanliness
6.5
Comfort
6.8
Overall
5.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.7
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
12
3
0
4
0
0
31
2.0
I tried 4 different cars because each car had an issue. Two cars reeked of smoke, one had a smashed in back fender, and the last had sand and trash all over the floor board including 11 used water and soda bottles strewn around the interior of the car. The Avis agents were accommodating in switching cars but it was a terrible experience having to walk back and forth to the counter and car each time. It took over an hour to finally get into a car. They also didn’t escalate to a manager until I asked for one when we pulled the car up to show them all of the trash. The manager was very friendly and helpful. He apologized for the trouble. The return was challenging as well. The signage was poorly done. I parked in one of the designated return spots and followed signs up 8 flights of stairs to the rooftop to find that I had been misdirected. I walked back downstairs and ultimately found the return desk on the ground floor. The agent asked me where I parked and told me I had to move the car the rooftop. I told her the signs directed me to park in the designated spots side the garage which were clearly marked as Avis return spots but she insisted I move and that the car was now late. She said the signs were wrong and need to be removed. When I expressed displeasure with the poor signage and waste of time the agent told me I could call customer service. I had to go back upstairs and drive the car all the way to the top of the garage. The process was inefficient and frustrating.Reviewed May 24 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Corporate executives sucked gave me a very hard timeReviewed May 14 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Easy pickup in Tampa with drop off in SarasotaReviewed Apr 25 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
We had to rent the car at the very last minute because we couldn't pick up our rental with Enterprise due to a computer glitch that wouldn't accept credit cards. The price was the same, we got a Volvo which we've never had during a rental. The car was beautiful, felt very safe and we were able to pick it up QUICKLYReviewed Apr 8 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Took 3 hours standing in a lineup and I have no idea where all the extra costs came from that are not explained when booking beforehand. Hopefully will never have to rent a car again.Reviewed Mar 19 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Agent at airport counter was hard to understand and seemed like she could care less. Disagreed with me when i said we had rented a midsize SUV and replied there is no such thing. Had my printed confirmation and she would not even look at it and said "compact is your reservation". We also said no to a prefill but found out later at another Avis we had prefill. WE told her no and when the questions popped up she repeatedly said just press agree it doesn't mean you will be charged. The SUV had 82,000 miles on it and after 3 days we experienced the battery not wanting to start. Very slow to turn over. We called the AVIS is Bradenton and they were very courteous and nice and we took the car in for an exchange, They actually were the ones that said we did have prefill.Reviewed Mar 12 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
car had a leaky tire due to no air cap. called to assistance line with avis, and they said to swap the car. i did that and now i have a bill for a tire damage. This is unfair, the car we were given had no air cap, no one advised us of additional fees and this was totally not our fault. Horrible experience, will never rent with Avis again.Reviewed Mar 9 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
many hidden fees plus an insane charge for gas which unfortunately I had to pay because I was late to the airport due to traffic and couldn't refuel. I won't be using Avis ever againReviewed Nov 26 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Horrible check in .long wait / system not working properly will not use againReviewed Oct 17 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
First reservation never happened, could have been a Kayak issue, but showed up and had no car. Had to book another car. After turning in the car, I have not been invoiced and I am having to chase Avis to "Close out the rental"Reviewed Oct 16 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Friendly staff, very clean carCons:Hidden expenses when you book are ridiculous. Was originally to pay 500 when I booked online. Card was charged over 1000 when I picked up.Reviewed Jun 1 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NoCons:Tried to add one day to the itinerary, they wanted to charge me an extra $300. For just one 3xtra dayReviewed May 12 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Tampa?

Address

5409 Airport Service Rd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 813 396 3500

Address

10902 N Florida Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 813 910 4127

Address

4644 W Gandy Blvd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 813 831 7219

Address

6903 North Dale Mabry Highway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 813 933 5606

Address

8021 Citrus Park Town Ctr Mall

Hours

Monday10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday10:00 - 17:00
Thursday10:00 - 17:00
Friday10:00 - 17:00
Saturday10:00 - 17:00
Sunday12:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 813 920 7921

Address

10220 Palm River Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday10:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 813 651 1415

Address

513 South Florida Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 813 221 5895

Good to know

Most popular location

5409 Airport Service Rd

Most popular car type

Standard

Average price

$71/day

Good deal

$55/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Tampa

  • One of the reasons that so many people choose to book Avis car rentals in Tampa is because this company offers a wide selection of vehicles to choose from. Quite often, those that are looking to save money on their rental car will choose one of the economy models that Avis offers. Families making a trip to Tampa for a fantastic family vacation will often choose from one of the SUVs that Avis offers.
  • A really great advantage of choosing to book Avis car rentals in Tampa is that Avis has quite a few locations in Tampa. What that means is that if you choose to rent your car at a location like the Tampa International Airport (TPA), you could always return it to a different location in Tampa. Avis is a company that has been in the business of renting cars to customers for years, and their friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready on your schedule to meet all of your rental car needs.
  • One of the things that people soon realize after they book Avis car rentals in Tampa is that driving around the south Florida city is actually fairly easy. An example of this is the fact that Interstate 275 merges with Interstate 75 and does a complete circle around the outskirts of the Tampa area, including driving through the sister city of Saint Petersburg on the western side of Tampa Bay. What this means for travelers is it getting to practically any point in this area it's a quick and easy affair because of easy freeway access.
  • Like so many major cities in the United States, drivers who book Avis car rentals in Tampa will often find difficult driving conditions, especially during the morning and during the evening when locals here are making their way to and from work. It is also quite possible you will find difficult driving conditions during weekend and holiday periods when people are making their way to some of the many theme and amusement parks you'll find in this wonderful Florida city.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Tampa for $55 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in Tampa at least 2 days before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Standard rental cars from Avis in Tampa are around 19% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Tampa

  • Where is the best place to pick up my vehicle after I book Avis car rentals in Tampa?

    It should come as no surprise that one of the most convenient options for picking up your vehicle will be at the Tampa international airport. The reason for this is that Avis has a location at the remote car rental center at the airport that passengers at the airport can access by the SkyConnect train. For travelers already in the Tampa area that don't want to head back to the airport to pick up a car, there is an Avis location right in the center of Tampa on S. Florida Ave. that makes a great pick-up choice.

  • What are some of the perks of choosing to book Avis car rentals in Tampa?

    One of the real benefits of choosing to book Avis car rentals in Tampa is that this company has a huge fleet of cars spread across locations throughout not only Florida but the globe. When you combine that with their Avis Preferred program, this means that travelers that use this company have the ability to get precisely the car they want, plus they can earn points on their rentals for valuable discounts on future dates.

  • Where is a good place to park my rental in Tampa?

    A really nice thing about driving in this southern Florida town is that there are so many great free places to park on streets in the areas surrounding central Tampa. As you get into the heart of Tampa, you will find metered parking in most areas. The cost for metered parking is generally around $1.50 to $2.50 per hour, depending on your location. Most metered parking in the downtown area operates seven days per week from early in the morning until around midnight. Because most meters have a time limit on how long you can park, for longer trips in the downtown area, select one of the many parking lots you will find in this area that offer the ability to park for up to a full day in the downtown area.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in Tampa?

    On average a rental car from Avis in Tampa costs $71 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Tampa?

    Standard (Hyundai Santa Fe or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Tampa.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Tampa?

    Avis has 7 rental locations in Tampa. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Tampa airport (TPA)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Tampa airport (TPA)?

    Yes