Book Avis car rentals at Kona Intl Airport

Kailua-Kona, The Big Island, HI - Kona Intl
May 25 — Jun 1
Same drop-off
Kailua-Kona, The Big Island, HI - Kona Intl
Wed 5/25
Noon
Wed 6/1
Noon

Avis car rental prices at Kona Intl Airport

Avis
$66/dayEconomy
$66/dayCompact
$68/dayIntermediate
$70/dayStandard
$70/dayFull-size
$89/dayPremium
$90/dayLuxury
$87/dayConvertible
$86/dayStandard SUV
$94/dayIntermediate SUV

Pros

"Fast car checkout and genuinely ."(in 779 reviews)
"Easy and efficient off."(in 882 reviews)
"Staff was friendly, was clean"(in 1870 reviews)

Cons

"No when I arrived."(in 1763 reviews)
"April 2018: The absolute WORST rental experience I have experienced."(in 1817 reviews)

Reviews

Overall Rating7.1 GoodBased on 30 reviews
Cleanliness
7.2
Comfort
7.1
Overall
7.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.1
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
7
1
3
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
Pros:Staff was helpfulReviewed Jun 6 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Fast car checkout and genuinely friendly staffReviewed May 10 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Easy to pick up and returnCons:All was goodReviewed Apr 7 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
I felt cheatedPros:Easy and efficient drop offCons:I paid for insurance when booking through KAYAK and was then told there was no insurance on the car. This was an unpleasant surprise after a flight. Travelling with a baby (after a flight) I didn’t have the luxury of time to go through emails and booking details to find out where the confusion (or dishonesty) was. Turned out I bought separate insurance not linked to Avis and the car through KAYAK. So I ended up paying twice and the overall deal was a lot more expensive than it should have been. The Avis attendant also wouldn’t stop chatting unnecessarily so I couldn’t concentrate on the business of getting the car asap and my family to our accommodation. The car was OK but not clean enough but I guess acceptable for a rental.Reviewed Oct 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.8
Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upCons:Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upReviewed Oct 16 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Be sure to conduct walk aroundPros:The agent was pleasant and we were assigned the correct car. Cost was what we expected.Cons:The agent expected us to do our own car walkaround and record the results on a form attached to the key. There were several marks on the car - we took photos of the car in the rental parking lot to be safe. Be sure you do a walkaround before leaving with the car.Reviewed Aug 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Disaster!Cons:April 2018: The absolute WORST rental car experience I have experienced. Worst of any retail/service experience, for that matter. Over 1 hour in line to get to the counter, only to be given my paperwork and then told to wait outside for another 45 minutes for the car! Management has created a culture of not caring about the customer, and it shows. Staff are surly, slow and uncaring. Exception: Phillip who took pity and went to get our car despite it not being his job. Do not subsidize this failed business and it’s incompetent management.Reviewed Apr 21 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Worst customer service, disgusting carPros:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiCons:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiReviewed Apr 9 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:In and out great customer service, will be back next year and do it againReviewed Apr 23 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
RatesCons:I had a flight delay in Seattle on 1/29 and contacted Avis to advise that I would not arrive until the 30th. They would not extend my pick up date and I had to create a new reservation at a higher rate. What had been an ok rate, I now had to pay more. The rental process, the car, etc. was very good. I'm just disappointed in the rate change due to an airline snafu.Reviewed Mar 3 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was friendly, car was clean.Cons:The line was long.Reviewed Feb 21 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:Short line for Avis members.Cons:No car ready when I arrived. Car had tape residue marks over all door and trunk seams. Car was so under-powered, it was scary driving it. There are many steeply graded roads on the Big Island. The car slowed to 20 MPH trying to ascend some of the hills.Reviewed Sep 24 2016
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Kona Intl Airport

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One, Avis car rentals

Address

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Hours

Wednesday05:00 - 23:00
Sunday05:00 - 23:00
Tuesday05:00 - 23:00
Friday05:00 - 23:00
Thursday05:00 - 23:00
Saturday05:00 - 23:00
Monday05:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 808 327 3000

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Kona Intl Airport

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Kona Intl Airport for $99 or less
  • Book your rental car at Kona Intl Airport from Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis at Kona Intl Airport are around 58% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Kona Intl Airport