Salt Lake City Car Rentals

Search hundreds of travel sites at once for car rental deals in Salt Lake City

Wed 1/3
Noon
Wed 1/10
Noon
Compare vs. KAYAK |

Salt Lake City car rental reviews and directory

Budget
Car rental reviews:
Okay (4.8, null reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
2 locations
Budget
Locations in Salt Lake City
235 West 500 South
+1 801 322 5582
641 North 3800 West
+1 801 575 2500
  • 4.6
  • 5.3
  • 5.5
  • 4.0
  • 4.7
Recent reviews
3.6 Mediocre
Jul 7 2016
Worst car rental experience I've had
Pros: I ended up with an upgraded car.
Cons: Extremely slow check-in. The price quoted online was significantly ($20 per day) cheaper then what the counter said I had to pay. Despite showing them the quoted rate, they would not agree to it. They did not have a car ready in the category I booked. Once they found one that was ready, it was unclean and extremely smoky. It took another hour for them to find a similar sized rental. When I wanted to extend the rental an extra two days, the counter would not let me. Eventually, after being on hold for another 30 mins, I was able to extend the rental. All-in-all I would not use Budget again.
2.0 Mediocre
Sep 29 2016
Cons: I assume Budget is cheater. I booked a SUV at SLC by Budget one month age before travel. When I pick up on Step 22, they told me to wait 30 mins for the vehicle clean. After 2 hours, there was still not SUV available. They pushed us to rent large vehicle. We refused and got a SUV from Enterprise. So we never use it again.
4.0 Okay
Sep 29 2016
POOR service!!!
Cons: Even though we booked a month in advance with an accurate time of arrival...car was not ready for an hour...and only got one then because we were willing to take a minivan vs the SUV we had ordered.
2.0 Mediocre
Feb 28 2017
Budget is a joke
Cons: Having a reservation for a car means nothing. Imagine arriving in Salt Lake for a vacation and being told not only do they not have the SUV we reserved, they have NO CARS. And we weren't the only customers left stranded. And they did NOTHING to attempt to reconcile the situation. Unacceptable.
2.0 Mediocre
Jun 2 2017
Did not have the car that I booked despite an advance reservation
Pros: I did not end up booking with Budget eventually.
Cons: I booked a 4-seat convertible but they only had a 2-seat convertible which was not acceptable since we were three travelers.
7.6 Good
Oct 15 2015
Didn't have vehicle we reserved
Cons: Budget advertises vehicles they don't rent. We wanted a Jeep Grand Cherokee for the roads we would be driving. When we got to the counter they said "we don't rent them". The Dodge Journey was supposed to be "equal". It wasn't. I have never gotten the car I wanted when going with Budget.
10.0 Excellent
Oct 19 2015
Upgraded
Pros: Upgraded when AC in original car was not working
3.2 Mediocre
Nov 7 2015
Fool me twice
Pros: Not much
Cons: Didn't have my car ready 2wice now! Said they didn't have a premium car, offered me a minivan and I see premium cars scattered throughout the lot. Minivan was not even washed. This Budget is the worst and I travel for work alot. Spend an extra 5 bucks and go with enterprise.
6.4 Good
Nov 12 2015
Pros: The car was relatively fuel efficient and the interior was clean.
Cons: The windows outside were water spotted and not very clean. The car was not ready when we arrived. We had to wait about a half hour for it to be washed and vacuumed. It was not the car we expected, and was a bit smaller, but they adjusted the price so we accepted it. The service at the car return was slow. Only one employee was handling the returns from what I could tell, while others were left waiting with little to do. Training of the individual in charge and the others in concert with delegation to the entire staff seem to be warranted.
6.0 Good
Nov 22 2015
Paid twice as much as was quoted
Pros: Good car, fairly quick getting through the line to pick up car.
Cons: I had a quote from Budget through Kayak for a total of $54.95 for renting the car from Friday afternoon through Saturday morning...about 18 hours total. When I picked up the car I was give a quote for $110. I showed them my confirmation that said the total was $54.95 total for rental and fees, and they told me that the rental covered parts of 2 days, so I had to pay for two days. I ended up having to pay $110. I would not have rented from them if I had realized that was going to be the total for less than a 24 hour rental. Other companies would have been less expensive and I felt this was a total ripoff and dishonest.
Enterprise
Car rental reviews:
Excellent (8.4, 183 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
5 locations
Enterprise
Locations in Salt Lake City
2231 South State St.
+1 801 487 7555
302 W 1700 S
+1 801 412 9285
404 South 300 West
+1 801 534 1888
776 N Terminal Dr
+1 801 715 1617
843 S State St
+1 801 534 1622
  • 8.3
  • 8.6
  • 8.7
  • 8.2
  • 8.1
Recent reviews
8.4 Excellent
Jan 30 2016
Room for Improvement
Pros: The options with respect to cost were great. I liked the availability and flexibility to get a vehicle right away with no hassle.
Cons: No instruction on how to use the car besides starting it. Had to figure out where the fuel cap button was how to idle it with out blinding everyone to take a nap. At drop off the receptionist made it very clear they wanted you off asap. Not even polite when asked about area direstions nor taxi. Dunno I want to use em again.
2.0 Mediocre
Jan 8 2017
you suck
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I ask for a car at the airport you gave me one in town did nit work no ride to town never use again
10.0 Excellent
Jan 17 2017
Great Customer Service
Pros: Wonderful Customer Service and Great Staff.
10.0 Excellent
Feb 26 2017
Nissan Rogue was a nice car
Pros: We drove this car from Sacramento down the coast of California through Death valley to San Diego. Total time in the car was about one month. It was a great car; handled well, easy to park, and held all our luggage for the trip. We did not drop the car off in Phoenix, but rather in San Diego.
Cons: Car was excellent.
8.0 Excellent
Feb 27 2017
Dropoff staff were excellent and fixed a problem
Pros: (First read the other box for the negative experience). When we returned the car at SLC airport, the agent "Ruben T." asked us about our experience with the car. I told him about the tire. He was immediately apologetic and asked "Is there anything I can do to make up for that?" My wife said "Yeah you can refund us the $6.25 we spent at all the air machines filling the tire." Ruben said "I think I can do better than that. How about I give you a $20 discount and an automatic upgrade next time you rent with us?" It didn't feel routine at all. He kept expressing his regret, which led me to believe he genuinely was sorry for the disruption to our vacation. I was impressed and will indeed be renting with Enterprise again. You should give Ruben a raise!
Cons: We rented at Salt Lake City airport, but were staying in Park City for a ski holiday. One of our tires had a slow flat. We had to keep filling it. We went to the Enterprise office in Park City to ask for help. The manager there declined. She said she had too many reservations to help. Instead she suggested that we drive to Burt Brothers - a local tire repair place. When we called the Burt's, they told us it would be an hour-long wait to get the tire fixed. Together with the drive to and from the shop we were looking at losing at least 2 hours on the slopes. Lift tickets are $140 a day, so for the two of us the funky tire was going to cost us at least $80, not to mention the lost ski time. So decided to keep filling the tire instead. It was a real pain. At that point I was resolved never to use Enterprise again.
10.0 Excellent
Mar 1 2017
Great service
Pros: Friendly staff. Beautiful car.
4.0 Okay
Apr 13 2017
Double quoted price
Pros: Price quoted on line was double the internet price
9.2 Excellent
Apr 16 2017
Cons: The price was much more than it was estimated to be.
7.2 Good
May 14 2017
Good car, but no airport pickup
Pros: The Enterprise staff at the downtown Salt Lake City were very helpful and courteous. The Chevy Suburban that they rented to me was clean, roomy, and well equipped. There was loads of room for a family of 4 with all of our luggage. A Tahoe sized vehicle wasn't available on our arrival, so they upgraded us to the Suburban.
Cons: Enterprise had an airport location at SLC, but this wasn't clearly notated on the description. It was a bit confusing to see the airport counter after getting our bags only to be told at the counter that I had to go downtown to pickup my rental vehicle. Thankfully it was only about a 10 minute ride via Uber.
9.6 Excellent
May 28 2017
Awesome
Pros: We backpacked through four states in two weeks with this car and it held its own. Was comfortable to sleep in when it rained us out of camp sites, was GREAT on gas.
Advantage
advantage
Car rental reviews:
Good (6.2, 127 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Advantage
Locations in Salt Lake City
72 2400 W
+1 801 521 1761
  • 5.9
  • 6.4
  • 6.8
  • 5.4
  • 6.3
Recent reviews
4.0 Okay
Oct 27 2015
Dirty, low maintained car
Pros: Easy going, they were nice.
Cons: Too many stains on the seats, dirt. There were dents and scratches on the frame. The wheel covers were bent. All this could have been caused by a bad customer, but they should have fixed it. It was scary thinking that I could have been charged for those things since I forgot to report them when I got the car.
6.4 Good
Nov 4 2015
Reserved suv?
Cons: Reserved an SUV. But when arrived there were out. Ended up with a sedan.
2.0 Mediocre
Sep 29 2016
Pros: The car was cheap
Cons: Over an hour wait to get the car, terrible customer service and STILL have not been able to reach someone, ANYONE, 4 months after leaving something in the car. The absolute WORST customer service you will ever encounter.
6.0 Good
Dec 2 2016
Cons: Pick-up service was slow. The office was not open in the early morning so we had to wait out in the cold for the shuttle to the airport.
5.6 Okay
Nov 10 2015
Pros: price was good. shuttle was available and timely. car return was efficient after finding the rental place.
Cons: pick up was away from the airport. shuttle was available to and from airport. however, when returning car my gps located the car return at the airport. i spent too much time finding the car rental. a 200.00 deposit was required. representative was very pushy on buying insurance, upgrading to larger car(suv) due to snowstorm coming and was very vocal about buying their gas program. the time in checking out car due to these conversations was too long.
10.0 Excellent
Nov 30 2015
Super affordable, quick and easy!
Pros: Price, prompt shuttle, hassle free upgrade
5.2 Okay
Feb 2 2016
Car was fine - service was lacking
Pros: The price was reasonable which is why I chose this rental. The car was fine.
Cons: Despite 3 calls they never corrected my agreement when my flight was delayed a day. Pick-up instructions not clear, shuttle drivers not very helpful with luggage - on return to airport just dumped our stuff in the roadway in the rain - didn't even help us put it on the curb.. Off-site facility not prepared to deal with more than one person waiting to rent - took a LONG time to get situated with a car. Was asked to inspect for damage in the dark with a flashlight that didn't work. Agent tried to do a hard up-sell on all items (upgrade to SUV, pre-pay gas, insurance, GPS, etc.). Car had no user manual and no instructions given on basics. If I rent again from them at least I know what to expect.
6.0 Good
Feb 11 2016
Pros: Car was ok!
Cons: Try to charge me 153$ extra for some upgrade for nothing!!! Finally after long talks took it off!!!
5.2 Okay
Feb 24 2016
Cons: More expensive than expected. Much more.
6.4 Good
Feb 27 2016
Pros: Price and quality of car
Cons: Under staffed, so took forever to get car. Once we did get the car, it had just been washed very quickly, so wasn't even dry and inside was obviously quickly wiped down.
Hertz
Car rental reviews:
Okay (5.4, 101 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
3 locations
Hertz
Locations in Salt Lake City
75 S West Temple
+1 801 355 8427
750 S. Main Street
+1 801 596 2670
775 N. Terminal Drive
+1 801 575 2683
  • 5.0
  • 6.0
  • 5.8
  • 4.7
  • 5.6
Recent reviews
6.4 Good
May 4 2017
Paid the price for cheaper price
Pros: The pricing was good but found out later why
Cons: Pickup, although I knew was going to be off airport, I figured there would be a shuttle or some type of transportation but there wasn't. Good thing a family member was at the airport to greet us otherwise it would have been an expensive taxi ride...the drop off was equally weird; due to our early departure we had to drop off at a downtown hotel & again arrange our own transport to the airport, which was expensive. In the future I'll probably opt for airport pickup & drop off only
5.6 Okay
May 23 2017
Not up to Hertz standards
Pros: - Decent gas mileage
Cons: - No washer fluid - Front washer fluid pumped approximately 2-3 inches up the windshield and that's all. Ended up purchasing a gallon of fluid for vehicle, and then couldn't use it. - Found someone else's prescription glasses and holder, as well as a gardening shovel in the front passenger's door panel. Couldn't have been cleaned very well. VERY obvious. - At check-in for returning vehicle, no notes were taken on issues that I informed them of. When we went to do walk-thru, guy didn't even verify issue with wipers. Guessing that they just washed it, and sent it back out, as is, instead of fixing.
8.0 Excellent
Jul 3 2017
Pros: האוטו היה מאוד נוח
Cons: לאחר שעשינו הזמנה באינטרנט הגענו לסוכנות ואמרו לנו שאין לנו רכב ואנחנו צריכים לחכות......אז חיכינו שעה עד שמשהוא החזיר רכב (לא את מה שהזמנו) לקחנו אותו. טוב ציפור אחת ביד משתיים על העץ!
4.0 Okay
Jul 28 2017
Unprepared staff, terrible customer service by phone
Pros: The vehicle ran well. While the staff did not have the vehicle I reserved when I arrived, the on-site employee who was visiting from another branch was a very clear and friendly communicator.
Cons: The staff at the airport location did not communicate that we could have gotten a ride to their downtown location for free. After we paid a $40 cab fee to get there, no vehicles were available until about three hours after our pick-up time -- this caused us to miss out on plans we made. Before returning the vehicle, in a phone conversation staff did not inform us we could drop the vehicle off after hours, causing us to miss out on even more plans. My girlfriend unfortunately left her digital camera in the vehicle -- which was completely our fault -- but in phone communications with external customer service staff they were EXTREMELY rude and not helpful. They kept telling us to call a number for the downtown location and it kept sending us right back to them, an infuriating circle, and they did not communicate we might be able to get through to downtown staff if we had waited and tried to call again later.
10.0 Excellent
Jul 31 2017
Free incredible upgrade upon pick-up
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. I was offered a free upgrade from a Nissan Versa to a convertible Camaro!!! What a way to begin a vacation.
7.2 Good
May 30 2016
Pros: We realized we needed the car an extra day, and wanted to drop it off at the airport instead of the Hertz in town. We were able to get the extra day and drop off changed, which was nice.
Cons: The staff at the Hertz in town were a little unpleasant. However the gentleman at the airport was very professional and pleasant to work with.
4.4 Okay
Jun 5 2016
Kayak Fail
Pros: Hertz at the airport came through for me after Kayak failed me. The honored my price when they certainly didn't have to.
Cons: Kayak allowed me to rent a car with a 1200 Saturday pickup, the only problem Hertz Downtown closes at 1200 on Saturday.
4.0 Okay
Oct 21 2016
Cons: Overall experience was good. But I feel I was charged more than I expected. I had booked for a compact car for a week from Hertz at South main st, SLC. At the time of online booking I was charged a total of $154.68 (as per receipt) including taxes for a compact car(Nissan versa or similar). But at the time of pick up I was told that I have been charged the base price($126) and car available for compact would be Ford fiesta. On contrary to what was mentioned in receipt, I had to pay more. Moreover I had NO choice of cars to pick from. There was no option left for me but to pay more and get my reservation upgraded and I ended up paying $205 instead. I felt it was not right to charge an amount while booking and come up something another while pick-up. Moreover the cars available weren't washed and we were expected to pick-up an unwashed car. So we had to wait again for it to be washed. My previous experiences with car rentals were always smoother than this and I have always had many options to pick car from. So I wasn't happy this time. Another point to be noted was, at the time of car rental lookout I saw pick-up available at Hertz SLC airport and while reserving/booking the car I wasn't given that option. Instead I had to travel from airport to downtown to pick the car. That added to our inconvenience as well.
4.8 Okay
Nov 3 2016
What a bummer- I specifically wanted to pick up a
Cons: Pickup downtown Salt Lake = lame
7.6 Good
Nov 8 2016
great experiance with the car personel suck
Pros: the car was great we thoroughly enjoyed our trip great gas mileage not an ounce of problem or concern
Cons: we paid for the car before we picked it up and when we picked it up expecting to pay the tax hertz charged us an addition deposit without any warning or notice we always do this was their reply they only addressed it after i discovered it they returned it after four days as they said then when i got home they charged me tax and a deposit again returning it all after i discovered it take hertz out of the equation and the trip was amazing so the price was increditable the value sucked give me Enterprise anytime never a surprise never have to check me charges but thanks to hertz i will
Payless
payless
Car rental reviews:
Good (6.1, 89 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Payless
Locations in Salt Lake City
500 North 3882 West
+1 801 322 8890
  • 5.7
  • 6.8
  • 6.4
  • 5.8
  • 6.0
Recent reviews
7.6 Good
Jun 30 2016
Layover: rent a car and drive to Park city
Pros: Great use of 6 hours.
Cons: The rental guy told me after I payed for the reservation that they Will call Or text Within an hour for the rental and he did not . I have to be the one going to the rent desk again and asking for it. Not very friendly customer service either. But good enough to enjoy 6 hours in Park City in a ford fiesta.
10.0 Excellent
Sep 19 2017
SLC Airport Rental
Pros: The rental experience was swift and easy, painless and the staff very friendly and professional.
10.0 Excellent
Apr 7 2016
Great price and nice car.was an excellent value.
Pros: Staff did a good job. Car was excellent. Hours they are open are not as extensive as main brands. Value for my dollar was great.
6.8 Good
Apr 11 2016
Pros: It was easy to drop and pick up the car.
Cons: The insurance they offer is very very expensive and if you do not take it, it is your responsibility to take care of any problem for the car.
3.6 Mediocre
May 2 2016
Hidden Gas Charge
Cons: They automatically charge you for a full tank of gas, letting you know that if you fill up the tank they will take the charge off, but if you arrive at hours when no one is there, they don't take the charge off and one has to go through many gyrations to get the charge off.
3.6 Mediocre
May 9 2016
Terrible
Pros: The car has high milage
Cons: I waited for more than an hour to get my car, I have been trying to call the manager at Salt Lake City airport for five weeks without success, they don't snswer a phone call, I'm expecting $30 back because I returned my Car tank full.
9.2 Excellent
May 10 2016
Pros: Good mileage, handled well, comfortable.
Cons: No front ports to charge your phone. Could not find trunk release other than key fab.
4.0 Okay
May 31 2016
They charge up front for fuel
Pros: The little Chevy was pretty good. 1.4 Turbo.
Cons: The guy at the desk didn't ask me if I wanted to fill up the car when I brought it back. He automatically charged my card for $29 for fuel. I'll never use Payless again.
2.0 Mediocre
Jun 3 2016
Don't bother
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Don't rent from Payless in SLC. I reserved a car for pick up when they said they'd be open but when I got to the counter no one was working. Ended up having to get a rental at the neighbouring counter at four times what I was thought I'd get from Payless just so I could get out of the airport. Complete waste of time and rip off; will never rent from Payless again
7.2 Good
Jun 24 2016
Good car, bad service, sneaky price
Pros: Appropriate car for his region
Cons: The quoted price did not include over $300 in "fees." The pickup process was awful. The Avis employee could not speak much English, this was his first day on the job, and he was not being supervised. I was initially told that my reserved SUV was not available and asked if my family of 5 could use a pickup truck instead. I had to get rude and argue for my reservation to be properly fulfilled by him finding an SUV somewhere..
Fox
Car rental reviews:
Okay (4.9, 83 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Fox
Locations in Salt Lake City
460 South Redwood Road
+1 801 316 2790
  • 4.8
  • 4.7
  • 5.3
  • 4.6
  • 5.1
Recent reviews
8.0 Excellent
Sep 13 2016
Much more efficient
Pros: They better organized than the Denver location and had us on our way to the airport quickly.
10.0 Excellent
Dec 16 2016
Pros: smiles on employees faces. Car was clean and well kept. there was nothing I didn't like about the experience.
2.0 Mediocre
Mar 13 2017
Cons: The service counter was very slow. 30 min per customer. After waiting an hour it was my turn at the counter. I reserved an SUV because I was heading to Park City and wanted a 4 wheel drive. Turns out they rented them all out. Instead, they offered me a mini van. for the same price (a downgrade in my opinion). I declined and took Uber to Park city. Why reserve a car if they are not going to hold the reservation? Really terrible. Never again will I try to rent from Fox.
4.4 Okay
May 9 2017
Cheap but dirty
Pros: Cheap car. Not much else.
Cons: The car was dirty inside with dog hair. Didn't even look like they cleaned it. Building was pretty ghetto. Dirty inside and not a very nice environment. Customer service needs some training addressing me as "hey man" and not very professional. Car had damage. Took pictures just in case.
10.0 Excellent
Jul 13 2016
Waiting for the worst....but it never happened!
Pros: I was so impressed by the ease of our Las Vegas check out that I expected a big issue of some sort on the return and it just didn't happen! Checked-In, refunded deposit, and wished us a good day!
2.0 Mediocre
Jul 15 2016
Left us stranded at the airport.
Cons: My Flight was suppose to land at 10:30 PM, but was delayed and landed at about 11:20 PM. I got my baggage and went to wait in the Fox shuttle line. There were two other guys waiting and had been trying to call the Fox office, but no one was answering. They close at 12:00 midnight. They obviously left early and ignored our attempt to get them to pick us up. I had to rent another car from Dollar and it cost me an extra $50.00. I am disgusted at Fox's laziness and poor customer service.
5.6 Okay
Aug 18 2016
Pros: The mileage on the KIA was good.
Cons: Where to start. The inside of the windshield and the inside of the back window were dirty. I didn't realize this until the sun shone on the windshield and visibility was poor due to the dirt. This was a safety hazard until I cleaned the glass myself. The tires were worn. The serviceman at a tire place I went to (due to low tire pressure) pointed the wear out and asked how long I'd have to drive the car. Finally, when I returned the car, I found out that company policy is that the cars not be driven in Montana because their insurance does not apply in Montana. In other words, had I bought the insurance and had had a wreck in Montana, I would not have been covered. I was told at check-in, that there's a sign inside the rental building stating that the cars are not to be driven in Montana, but I didn't see it, nor did the rental agent mention this little detail. I see no mention of this policy on the webpage where I booked the car, either. Imagine making the car reservation for your Montana vacation and finding out on arrival at the agency that you're not supposed to drive in Montana!! Never again.
6.8 Good
Aug 31 2016
Decent value...could be better.
Pros: Good car, good price
Cons: Local office does not answer phone. I flight was delayed for 10 hours and I attempted to contact the local office to confirm my arrangement throughout the delay. No one answered. However, i was able to connect on live chat. Parking lot is dark. It was hard to inspect the car at pickup.
4.4 Okay
Sep 6 2016
Never again, easy to be lured in by price but wait
Pros: Price
Cons: Wait times for shuttle pickup and wait times at the location to check in, total time 1.5 hours from beginning of pick up wait to vehicle drive away.
5.6 Okay
Oct 4 2016
Pros: Price was the lowest of the group.
Cons: Waiting time to be picked up at the airport & a 20 min wait to see a rep. Also, car not cleaned on outside or inside.
Avis
Car rental reviews:
Good (7.2, 71 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
2 locations
Avis
Locations in Salt Lake City
255 South West Temple
+1 801 359 2177
500 North 3882 West
+1 801 575 2847
  • 6.9
  • 7.4
  • 7.6
  • 6.9
  • 7.0
Recent reviews
7.2 Good
Apr 6 2017
Cons: The car was not at the airport, but downtown!
8.0 Excellent
Jun 2 2016
Pros: Brand new car great gas mileage
Cons: No cruise control
7.2 Good
Jun 6 2016
The pickup was bad , the drop off excellent
Pros: The drop off
Cons: That I asked for a compact car and first got a huge sequoia suv. The tank was only 3/4 full and I had to take it to the airport to exchange it.
10.0 Excellent
Jun 17 2016
Pros: Excellent customer service -- his name is Miguel. He was very courteous, friendly and willing to help or answer any questions.
10.0 Excellent
Jul 12 2016
Pros: The employee who checked me in and out was very nice and helpful.
Cons: I had a hard time getting ahold of them when I tried calling to see whether I could return my car early and save some money. I called multiple times during business hours, but no one answered.
4.0 Okay
Aug 1 2016
Cons: Car is dirty, bad power for mountain road
6.4 Good
Aug 6 2016
Cons: The car was very low and whenever we went over any kind of dips we had to be careful as it would scrape the road.
2.0 Mediocre
Aug 9 2016
No person working counter. Delayed 1.5 hours
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Person working left the counter unattended for 1.5 hours. Caused a delay. 12-15 customers stuck waiting.
10.0 Excellent
Oct 10 2016
Pros: Easy and excellent price
2.0 Mediocre
Oct 20 2016
Online Car Rental
Pros: Not one thing
Cons: I recruit for a trucking company. I bring drivers to Arizona from all over the country and rent them cars to get here. I canceled this reservation because you cannot prepay for someone else. Some drivers do not have a major credit card. I called the rental car company and they were no help whatsoever. Unfortunately, this recruit will not be joining my team due to this.
Thrifty
Car rental reviews:
Good (6.8, 56 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Thrifty
Locations in Salt Lake City
776 North Terminal Drive
+1 877 283 0898
  • 6.7
  • 7.3
  • 7.2
  • 6.4
  • 7.0
Recent reviews
6.0 Good
Aug 11 2016
Cons: The car line was way too long
7.2 Good
Nov 13 2016
Pros: The car was pretty good.
Cons: The Salt Lake City Thrifty office tried to give cars inferior to what I selected online and it took a long while to get the one I wanted. Dropping of a car in California cost a lot, disproportionate to the total price.
7.2 Good
Jan 17 2017
Okay
Pros: Car was fine in the end. Drop off was smooth and quick.
Cons: When you specifically reserve a SUV in ski country, you assume it will be a AWD. Pick up agent did manage to get us one but only after lots of arguing and waiting.
6.4 Good
May 30 2017
Check the tires!!
Pros: The manager at the SLC location was very understanding and made a price adjustment per my phone call to headquarters regarding the bald tires on the front
Cons: The manager at SNA sent us out with an illegal and dangerous car with 2 front bald tires!
9.2 Excellent
Jul 25 2016
Pros: The return process was very fast and professional despite the fact that there were probably 6 cars being returned at the same time.
4.8 Okay
Jul 26 2016
Beat Up
Pros: It got us where we needed to go. Amazing price.
Cons: Beat up, dirty, cheap.
10.0 Excellent
Aug 4 2016
Am I the only one who got great service?
Pros: I was so worried about this location, based on the reviews, that I had a backup car rental and plane reservation. I needed a one way from SLC to Cody WY. Thrifty was 1/3 the price of anyone else. Our flight was to SLC was delayed 5 1/2 hours and they were out of full size sedans so they gave us a nearly new (3,000 miles) Toyota Sienna van, which was an excellent vehicle, for the same price. Yeah, it could have been a tad cleaner on the inside, every cup holder had some sugary drink goo on it but other than that it was very clean. The wait at the counter wasn't any longer than usual and the two clerks were working as quickly as they could and dealing with one unpleasant fellow, but I thought they did a good job of trying to appease this jerk and get to us. The van got outstanding mileage, it was a way better touring vehicle than a sedan, the drop off at Cody was at 5:45 a.m. before the counter opened. I just got the bill and the charges were exactly as quoted.
8.0 Excellent
Aug 9 2016
good
Pros: Got a car with low miles.
Cons: Outside of the car wasnt well cleaned. Spouse has to pay extra to drive.
6.0 Good
Aug 28 2016
Kayak great Thrifty not so much
Pros: Kayak was great, offered the best price.
Cons: Thrifty was disorganized at the SLC airport pickup desk.
4.0 Okay
Sep 23 2016
Company has hidden charges and manipulates you to
Cons: Not very happy with rental. Was charged $65 to add my husband as an additional driver and was not told there was such fee. Got forced into getting at least the minimal insurance coverage when I mentioned to the agent I got full coverage through Allstate and he acted like he didn't know that insurance company. After the 3rd day of driving the car the check engine oil light came on. We were not able to drive it to Four Corners because we were concerned it might have maintenance issues on our drive.
Dollar
Car rental reviews:
Good (6.7, 48 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Dollar
Locations in Salt Lake City
776 North Terminal Drive
+1 866 434 2226
  • 6.5
  • 6.8
  • 7.1
  • 6.8
  • 6.3
Recent reviews
9.6 Excellent
Jul 29 2016
Pros: Non pushy desk person. Ease of drop off.
Cons: No windshield washing fluid in car. We were unable to clean Windows while driving.
2.0 Mediocre
Oct 7 2016
Didn't get to rent the car
Cons: I don't carry a credit card. We usually pay cash for everything or use the Visa association of our debit card. I booked a car rental with Dollar in Salt LakeCity for business but they would not rent me the car because I lacked a major credit card. The man behind the counter asked if I would agree to a $300 deposit and a credit check, which I did, and despite my excellent credit score and plenty of money in the bank account, I was declined- no reason was given- just declined!. I ended up having to rent with Budget the next counter over, but for much more money because of the short notice. Never again will I book with Dollar!
10.0 Excellent
Jan 20 2017
Quality Car
Pros: Quality vehicle for the same price as I paid in another city.
Cons: furthest from the terminal, but not really too bad.
2.0 Mediocre
Oct 14 2015
Dredful
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I had a deal written up for a standard car at a price of 330.00 for 11 days. I figured I got very lucky. When I got off my plane and went to pick up the car the company said since I do not have a credit card they had to double that price. I decided I needed the car and so I paid the 750.00 they required. After I paid that and when the lady went to the back to collect my keys she came back out and decided I needed to pay another 300 dollars for the car as insurance because my liability is not good enough. All in all I never even got the car and ended up having to stay at the airport for a night until I could have a friend come pick me up the next morning. It took two weeks for them to return my 750 dollars to me.
2.0 Mediocre
Oct 20 2015
Cons: Lied on the ad price.
2.0 Mediocre
Nov 12 2015
I didn't even get a car!
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Getting emails about someone else's car rental
7.6 Good
Aug 1 2016
Pros: The vehicle overall was very comfortable. Pick up and dropoff were easy.
Cons: The check engine light came on halfway through the rental. The tire pressure sensors were also off. The car drove fine, but it did place some concern in my mind. When I dropped off the vehicle, I told the employee about the issues and it seemed like it was not that big of a deal. Hopefully I don't get dinged additionally for it.
4.0 Okay
Aug 23 2016
Poor condition
Cons: four tires pressure are low, engine oil needs to be changed, during our journey a lot of problems arose. All this bad conditions happened while we were driving on highway! It was really dangerous!!! And the rent price is expensive, while the condition of the car is also bad.
2.0 Mediocre
Sep 2 2016
Cons: the worker there is terrible. So rude and don't care about customer.
10.0 Excellent
Sep 6 2016
Excellent all around
Pros: Just like one would hope
Alamo
alamo
Car rental reviews:
Good (7.0, 26 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Alamo
Locations in Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Int'l Airport
+1 801 575 2211
  • 7.2
  • 7.2
  • 8.0
  • 6.2
  • 6.7
Recent reviews
7.2 Good
Aug 22 2016
Worrisome vehicle damage before rental
Cons: I was required to fill out damage report on the rental before I picked it up. However, I was very concerned that the actual damage would be charged to me because I paid for full coverage insurance and the host didn't want to confirm the damage I identified.
4.0 Okay
Sep 13 2016
Almamo not great in salt Lake
Pros: I had made a reservation to have a car ready by 30 minutes after arriving at airport. The car was not ready and we had to wait for over 30 minutes for a car. They upgraded us to a small SUV. While the thought was nice the car smelled horrible due to cigarette smoke.
9.2 Excellent
Sep 19 2016
Pros: Customer service at the counter was great! I got my car pretty fast.
Cons: I did have to put air in the tires.
3.2 Mediocre
Sep 26 2016
Saltvlake
Pros: Comgurtable
Cons: Not charge what was quoted.....car was filthy. Crumbs and stains all over interior, not even vacuumed
10.0 Excellent
Sep 28 2016
Pros: Great car!
Cons: First care we went into was smoke filled and over powering. Smokers should be fined heavily for what they do to rental cars.
8.0 Excellent
Oct 10 2016
Check in time
Pros: Your staff was really great!
Cons: The only thing that made no sense was that our plan landed early by 15 mins and we could NOT get our car till 10am on the DOT. If we checked in any earlier the price went up. So you had several people just waiting on the clock. You really didn't have to make us all wait for 15 minutes and change the price on us. There should be a variance of time for this purpose. Your staff was just standing there looking at us waiting for the clock as well. Just didn't seem productive in any way.
6.4 Good
Oct 10 2016
Pros: The car was very nice.
Cons: The Alamo counter, in Salt Lake, was poorly staffed. It took an hour to obtain the rental car. There was no verification of damage to the vehicle prior to releasing the car and upon returning, I was questioned about peripheral damage to the car which was obviously there prior to my rental period. I have rented from Alamo many, many times, and have never received such poor customer service.
10.0 Excellent
Oct 10 2016
Very satisfied. No hassle, no fuss.
Pros: Easy access at the airport. Excellent pricing
10.0 Excellent
Jan 3 2017
Efficient, affordable, and a nice car
Pros: Quick check in and departure
Cons: No info whatsoever on the car - all wheel drive? Car skidded on 1/4 inch of snow, not great choice in Utah in January. Would have been nice to know b4 renting or even at the counter. No material in the car either
10.0 Excellent
Jan 4 2017
Easy check in and out. Good car
Pros: Good car in the snow - it snowed a lot while in Utah
Cons: Windshield didn't defrost fully
E-Z Rent-A-Car
ez
Car rental reviews:
Okay (5.4, 21 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
E-Z Rent-A-Car
Locations in Salt Lake City
72 2400 W
+1 801 521 1761
  • 5.3
  • 6.0
  • 6.0
  • 4.7
  • 5.2
Recent reviews
2.0 Mediocre
May 12 2017
Gave my car away
Cons: First I waited 20 minutes for the shuttle to pick me up at the airport, then after getting to the EZ Car Rental they tell me I'm too late and they gave my car to someone else and they don't have a single car to rent to me and my two kids (which are 5 and 1 1/2 years old). Then lady at the counter then says "Uber is right out the door" not even offering to take me to another car rental place. i will never rent (or attempt) to rent from this place again.
3.6 Mediocre
Aug 23 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: filthy van both inside and out
8.0 Excellent
Sep 1 2016
Cons: Awkward trying to find information at airport car rental station as to where E-Z counter is (there is none) and not knowing who to call re shuttle at airport. Also their not having map at rental station thus I got lost looking for the rental station when returning the car.
4.8 Okay
Sep 19 2016
Good car but confused
Pros: The car was nice and clean
Cons: Wait time for my rental was well over 30 minutes. The cleanliness of the rental facility and bathrooms was very poor... The only directions for drop off lead you to airport and they are about 2 miles away from airport. Very confusing and took us a lot of extra time and stress to actually find their facility. Turns out because they are called "advantage" and "Ez rent a car" our google maps can't handle such confusion
2.0 Mediocre
Sep 20 2016
Insurance was a not helpful at all!
Cons: After only having the car for 3 hours, I returned it and the worker claimed a "significant" dent in the passenger door. It was in no realm significant, and I don't even believe they will actually get any work done. While I was not there for the incident, it was probably just a door hit. However, I purchased insurance off of Kayak and thought I was covered. The EZ Rent-A-Car worker then informed me that they do not work with 3rd party insurers and that they would be sending me the bill and I would have to file the claim. This is ridiculous! Also, they did an absolutely horrible job recording my correct billing address. Severely horrible experience. If Kayak does business with other car rentals they should only offer the businesses insurance so that the renter doesn't have to get the runaround when damage occurs.
7.6 Good
Oct 3 2016
They charged for a second driver?? Who does that?
Pros: Asked for drivers license and then charged for second driver. My wife does not drive unless she has to. $50 for giving them her drivers license to look at.
2.0 Mediocre
Jan 17 2017
Ocercharged
Pros: I brought my car back 2 hours before contract time and went straight to airport. I was charged $30.00 for additional time
6.4 Good
Jan 30 2017
Pros: Great upgrade!
Cons: Terrible customer service at the drop off and was misinformed at the pick up.
6.4 Good
Feb 7 2017
Pros: Car was brand new and very nice.
Cons: They "overbooked" the large SUV that I reserved and so they upgraded me to a smaller luxury SUV which was nice but it was cramped since it was smaller. They also seem to nickel and dime you from the initial quote you get online such as charging per driver and things like that. Also when I signed for the car they showed me standard sales taxes for the car but when I got my final bill it had the true "rental car tax" which was almost triple the amount. It would have been fine if they explained it upfront but seemed a bit deceiving to add it at the very final bill which they email you after you already leave the location.
10.0 Excellent
Feb 22 2017
Local DL-sky high rates
Pros: The staff was really helpful and very nice to us even tho we didn't rent from them. No cancelation charge.
Cons: I didn't know that if you have a DL issued to the same state that your picking up from EZ Rentacar only gives you so many miles before they start charging .55 cents per mile. I don't think this fee is charged to those with out of state drivers license, which I thought was quite strange, but either way I couldn't rent from this company my 5 day trip would have costed over 600.00. Yikes! I ended up renting with Thrifty who offered unlimited miles no matter what state your DL came from
Ace
Car rental reviews:
Excellent (8.7, 18 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Ace
Locations in Salt Lake City
Near Airport w/Free Shuttle
+1 801 977 9111
  • 8.7
  • 8.7
  • 9.1
  • 8.0
  • 8.9
Recent reviews
7.2 Good
Nov 16 2016
Good car but weird drop off
Pros: Gave us a free upgrade to a Cherokee. Great customer at their office!
Cons: Pick up was fine (a bit far from the airport but free shuttle and great customer service), but because they close at 6pm (which we didnt realize), we had to drop off the car at another location, and follow these very specific steps to make sure the car was returned properly.
10.0 Excellent
Nov 28 2016
Great Service
Pros: The agents were friendly, and helpful. The vehicle was perfect for our needs. It was clean and in great condition. We returned our vehicle after hours and it all went very smoothly because of clear instructions we were given.
9.6 Excellent
Feb 7 2017
Pros: Excellent car. Entire staff was very courteous.
Cons: Should have had a number to call on the confirmation form to arrange for airport pick-up.
2.0 Mediocre
Apr 3 2017
Cons: You shows pictures in the web when I got to pickup the car it's totally different and the prices it's ridiculous
10.0 Excellent
Apr 28 2017
Pros: Nice staff - good service.
10.0 Excellent
May 18 2017
Grand Cherokee Rental
Pros: Great SUV at a great price. Shuttle service to and from airport was very good with friendly drives.
Cons: Having the rental agency outside of airport, but it was a small inconvenience, since there was not too much wait for shuttle van.
10.0 Excellent
May 30 2017
Pros: Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
7.6 Good
Jun 4 2017
Good price
Pros: Price was right for full size SUV. Relatively clean.
Cons: Tires we bald and brakes needed to be replaced. Made us a little uneasy driving on mountain roads.
10.0 Excellent
Jun 27 2017
Awesome Staff!!!
Pros: I will rent from here every chance I get! The staff was awesome and treated me like family. Totally different renting experience!
9.2 Excellent
Aug 23 2017
Good value
Pros: The staff was friendly and didn't try to sell me additional insurance.
Cons: You have to call to be picked up at the airport.
Firefly
firefly
Car rental reviews:
Mediocre (2.0, 11 reviews)
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Firefly
Locations in Salt Lake City
775 N Terminal Dr
+1 888 296 9135
  • 2.0
  • 2.0
  • 2.0
  • 2.0
  • 2.0
Recent reviews
2.0 Mediocre
Mar 31 2016
FIREFLY CLOSED EARLY
Pros: We were not given a chance to use them.
Cons: Our flight arrived at 1:15AM and Firefly's hours were until 2:00 AM. They decided to close early and left many families stranded at the airport. We ended up using Budget and paying more because we did not have a reservation. When we called Firefly, the number did not lead to the SLC location and the person kept telling us on the phone that they should be there and that they were on a break. We waited more than 10 minutes. Budget told us they left for the day/eve. Bad service. Don't use them unless you're sure they will be open.
Affordable
affordable
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
2 locations
Affordable
Locations in Salt Lake City
1974 W North Temple
+1 801 288 2277
4000 South State Street
+1 801 266 7368
Airport Van
airportvanre
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Airport Van
Locations in Salt Lake City
1659 West Temple
Eagle Rent A Car
eaglerac
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
3 locations
Eagle Rent A Car
Locations in Salt Lake City
1360 S Redwood Road
2476 West California Ave
Salt Lake City airport
Europcar
europcar
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Europcar
Locations in Salt Lake City
Please Go To The Advantage Counter
+1 801 322 6090
National
national
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
National
Locations in Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Int'l Airport
+1 801 575 2277
Rugged
rugged
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
3 locations
Rugged
Locations in Salt Lake City
2740 California Ave
+1 801 977 9111
2740 W California Ave
+1 801 977 9111
Salt Lake City Int'l Airport
+1 801 977 9111
Sunnycars
sunnycars
Car rental locations in Salt Lake City:
1 location
Sunnycars
Locations in Salt Lake City
606 North 3800 West
835 travelers who rented a car in Salt Lake City gave the car agency they used an average rating of 6.2

Car Rental Locations in Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City