Book Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City

Tue 4/30
Tue 5/7
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customise your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Salt Lake City

Economy$30/day
Compact$30/day
Intermediate$32/day
Standard$35/day
Full-size$35/day
Minivan$47/day
Full-size SUV$68/day
Premium$41/day
Luxury$48/day
Premium SUV$72/day
Supplier choice$29/day
Intermediate SUV$38/day
Standard SUV$48/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Salt Lake City

Overall Rating6.7 OkayBased on 217 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
26
18
3
3
1
0
45
2.0
They ran out of vehicles. They don't know how to hold a reservation. It was worst than Seinfeld.Reviewed Mar 22 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
Drop off was perfect. The franchise was out of the specific car I had stipulated but provided a larger one. Because I was headed to a mountain ski resort, I needed all wheel or four wheel drive. Apparently, I got the last one. In parts of the country where a lot of visitors will be headed into snow, I would think a rental car company would have plenty all or four wheel drive vehicles available.Reviewed Feb 27 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
I waited at least 25 minutes before the agent acknowledged I was waiting in line. At the time I was the only other customer in line. Another agent just walked past. The rate was different, I couldn't get a printed receipt, overall it took me 1 hour and 25 minutes to get a car. Cars should be backed in to parking spaces. this would help with getting out. Also, as soon as I got in the car the check engine light came on with a request for oil and filter maintenance. I shouldn't have to worry at 9pm if the car I just got is going to run or not.Reviewed Feb 21 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I would never rent from Avis in Salt Lake City again. They did not have my car available and told me I had to wait. (This is after waiting in line for 30 minutes to reach the counter) After waiting 20 additional minutes I saw another person come through the line and be given the same model car I had ordered without having to wait. When I mentioned this they promptly told me oh yes now your car is ready. When I got to the car there was already a family sitting in it having been told it was their car. 2 of the counter agents I could see were doing their best on a chaotic night but the guy who ‘helped’ me seemed surly, untrained, and uninterested in even appearing to be trying to do his job. In addition, once my vehicle was finally sorted (not what I had ordered) it was an additional 30 minute wait with 20 plus angry Avis customers trying to exit out one gate with each ‘transaction’ with the exiting gate keeper appear to take 5 -10 minutes.Reviewed Jan 17 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Great service! The two women at the airport were so nice, quick, and caringReviewed Jan 13 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
Excellent- fast, efficient easy!Reviewed Dec 6 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
It was fineReviewed Oct 21 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Up-soldReviewed May 27 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Roadside service after car issues and now I'm getting charged ba no show fee by Avis when I infact did pick up the vehicle. And they say it's because I booked through Expedia but i booked through Kayak.Reviewed May 13 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Staff at SLC was very friendly and helpful.Cons:The wait (+/-30 minutes) to sort out my short notice (2+ hours) booking.Reviewed May 2 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The vehicle was in pretty bad shape. Also, not cleaned well at all. Pretty disappointedReviewed Apr 12 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:The car had not been cleanedReviewed Apr 6 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City?

Address

255 South West Temple

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 801 359 2177

Address

3921 West Terminal Drive

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00
Tuesday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00
Wednesday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00
Saturday00:00 - 02:0005:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:5900:00 - 02:00

Phone

+1 801 258 5238

Good to know

Most popular location

3921 West Terminal Drive

Most popular car type

Supplier choice

Average price

$110/day

Good deal

$72/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Salt Lake City

  • There are a few types of vehicles that are convenient for Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City. Salt Lake City experiences all four seasons, including snowy winters. If you are visiting during the winter months, you might want to consider an all-wheel-drive or 4-wheel-drive vehicle, especially if you plan on driving in the mountains where snow and ice are common. If you plan on exploring the nearby national parks, ski resorts, or other outdoor attractions, an SUV or a car with good ground clearance might be a suitable choice. These vehicles can handle rough roads and provide a more comfortable ride in mountainous terrain.
  • Those who book Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City can join the company’s rewards program called Avis Preferred. By joining Avis Preferred, you can enjoya few things, such as premium customer service, access to special offers, and the ability to earn rewards points for every qualifying rental. Members of Avis Preferred can bypass the rental counter and go straight to their reserved car, making the rental process faster and more convenient. Additionally, members can earn points for every dollar spent on rentals and optional products like GPS devices and child safety seats. These points can be redeemed for free rental days, upgrades, and other benefits.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City, you may want to add the company’s Extended Roadside Assistance plan to your reservation. Avis Extended Roadside Assistance is a service provided by Avis to enhance the assistance and support available to customers in case of unexpected issues with their rental vehicles. If you accidentally lock the keys inside the rental car, Avis can help you gain access to the vehicle. If you run out of fuel, Avis can provide a limited supply of fuel to help you reach the nearest open service station.
  • You can typically drive an Avis rental car from Utah to Canada, but there are certain terms and conditions that you need to be aware of. Renters interested in taking a rental car from the United States to Canada often need to inform the rental company in advance and obtain authorization. You might need to purchase additional insurance coverage for driving in Canada, as insurance regulations can differ between the two countries.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Salt Lake City for $72 or less.
  • Supplier choice rental cars from Avis in Salt Lake City are around 68% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Salt Lake City

  • Where is/are the best pickup location(s) for Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City?

    There are a few Avis pick-up locations to choose from in Salt Lake City. There is the center at 255 South West Temple, which is located right in the heart of the city. There is also the pick-up location at 3921 West Terminal Drive, which can be found just northwest of the city’s downtown area.

  • What are the different car rental benefits or amenities offered by Avis in Salt Lake City?

    When you rent a car from Avis, you can usually choose a car class, such as economy, compact, midsize, full-size, SUV, etc., but you typically cannot select a specific make or model of vehicle. Avis, like most car rental companies, operates on a system where you reserve a car from a specific category, and you are guaranteed a car within that category or a similar one. The availability of specific makes and models can vary based on the location, demand, and other factors.

  • Where are the best places to park Avis car rentals in Salt Lake City?

    Finding parking in Salt Lake City can vary based on your specific location and the time of day. Salt Lake City has numerous public parking lots and garages. Downtown areas and popular attractions usually have well-maintained parking facilities. There is street parking available in many areas of Salt Lake City. Be mindful of parking signs and meters, as regulations and fees can vary. Some areas may offer free street parking during specific hours, especially in residential neighborhoods.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in Salt Lake City?

    On average a rental car from Avis in Salt Lake City costs $110 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Salt Lake City?

    Supplier choice (Class Special Car or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Salt Lake City.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Salt Lake City?

    Avis has 2 rental locations in Salt Lake City. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Salt Lake City airport (SLC)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Salt Lake City airport (SLC)?

    Yes